We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A BEACH HOUSE/HOSTEL WITH A VIEW OF HORSESHOE BAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Elliot Beach House YHA

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Port Elliot Beach House YHA
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A BEACH HOUSE/HOSTEL WITH A VIEW OF HORSESHOE BAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This YHA Beach House is a beautiful, clean and friendly place to relax. I stayed three nights and enjoyed the walks to the various beaches for sunrise and sunset and long walks. It's only 5k to Victor Harbor for a nice hike around Granite Island. Try some great snacks or meals at the Port Elliot Bakery, Cockles or Hotel Elliot (make sure to get the YHA coupon for the specials).

Late May and during the week was a great time to explore the area, as there were few people around. Make sure to book ahead during the summer and on the weekends as they can be sold out.

I highly recommend this beautiful Lodge on the cliffs overlooking Horseshoe Bay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EXPLORETHEWORLD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
21
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

As hostels go, this place is in a different league. The rooms and facilities are above average for a hostel, the couple who run it were really nice and helpful (especially given we turned up late after getting lost en route, but without complaint from them), but the best thing is the location, with gorgeous views over the bay and walking distance to the nice little town centre, which for such a small town was actually quite buzzing. As a couple we wouldn't normally stay in hostels as we can usually get our own room with full facilities including ensuite for the same price if not cheaper, so a double room here didn't feel such good value for us personally, but for what it is (a hostel not a hotel), I can see why people love it so much and I would highly recommend to friends travelling or solo travellers.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is such a beautiful building in the best location in Pt Elliot.
I'm from Adelaide and have stayed a here few times now. Gorgeous views from the balcony, clean, nicely renovated and friendly staff.
I really think it's the best place to stay on the Fleurieu.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katiem127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

this was the first stop on our Great Ocean Road, road trip and the reception and level of service we received was better than some hotels i have stayed in!

From the welcome we got when we first arrived to the the personal touch of being shown to our room i was blown away! Rooms are on the small side but then this is a hostel and you get what you pay for, so don't go in expecting the Ritz! Saying that, though, they were clean, modern, fresh, cool when hot and warm when cold, and everything you could need was provided!

The public spaces were large, well appointed and had a great amount of games to play as well, which was a nice touch! kitchen was well stocked and the cubby holes for the food were the largest I have seen in a hostel for many years!

I especially liked the little touch of offering us an umbrella when we left for a walk, even though it wasn't raining then the little touches like that really made it feel like a place that was caring and in to be honest, fun!

Once again the local knowledge and friendliness was great, pointing out where we could eat and where the local supermarkets were to buy food, which turned out to be great as we were able to stock up for road trip snacks! they also helped provide us with where to go and visit before we hit the main Ocean Road, something we had struggled to know with the guidebooks!


Highlights and Plus points:

Amazing service
Great rooms
Clean and tidy
Huge array of games
Great Kitchen
Big storage spaces for food
Local knowledge first rate
Umbrellas
Free parking
Close to restaurants and supermarkets

Negative points

N/A

Just one pointer, we moved on to Kingston S E afterwards, but while for the locals this may be just round the corner, for us Poms its a 4 hour drive lol!

If your doing the Great Ocean Road you would be a fool to miss out on this place! Book it now!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view! Trust me its great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This place in a little hidden gem and would make a perfect stop if your are travelling the area between Melbourne and Adelaide or are on your way to Kangaroo Island!
The owners (and their dog) are standing by, taking care of you and everything else for that matter with a smile and even though everything is well sorted, clean and their are thought of every little detail, they still make sure that the relaxed holdiday mood is key here! For one who have travel a lot, this was a really nice suprise and I would almost say a perfect stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

A really lovely hostel in a beautiful location. It is extremely well run and looked after. It has the best kitchen I can ever remember in a hostel.
Rooms are smallish but the common areas are large and the views from the front balcony are magically - don't miss moonrise (or sunrise if you are up that early).
Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Firstly, I'd like to say that I don't often stay in hostels, because, as everyone is aware, there are some really awful establishments out there, and I now feel that I'm too old (just) and easily agitated to risk losing a full night's sleep. Even if it is on top of 3 bottles of wine... anyway, to the review:
Myself and 3 friends stayed at the Port Elliot YHA for one night back in September. Because there was 4 of us we were given our own 4 bed dorm. The place was fairly quiet so we had the facilities pretty much to ourselves, but I'm sure that there is plenty of space in the really well kept communal areas even when it's busy. I asked where to go for dinner and, although the choices in Port Elliot are a bit limited midweek in September, we were given heaps of information by the super-friendly lady working on the desk (manager maybe?).
We also hired bikes the following morning from a place up the road, which the same lady organised for us- and I'm pretty sure we got a discount on the usual rate.
Better than most hotel concierge services at a hostel!
We were all really impressed and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I'd recommend it to anyone.. so long as they promised to respect this wonderful hostel so it's still equally lovely if I'm ever fortunate enough to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrL228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elliot
3.5 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
6.1 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 2 in Goolwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Bluff Resort Apartments
The Bluff Resort Apartments
#1 of 2 in Encounter Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.5 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
1.1 mi away
Authenticity Sanctuary Retreat and Transformational Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Elliot Beach House YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Elliot Beach House YHA

Property: Port Elliot Beach House YHA
Address: 13 The Strand, Port Elliot, South Australia 5212, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Elliot
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Port Elliot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Elliot Beach House YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elliot Beachhouse YHA Hostel is a stunning historic building on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula, renovated into a breezy beach house with 270 degree views to be enjoyed year round. Offering quality budget accommodation, with shared dorms, double and family rooms - something for everyone. A fantastic self-catering kitchen and spacious lounge and dining area give you plenty of options for unwinding and breathing in the sea air, with the beach just a stroll across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Port Elliot Beach House YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Elliot Beach House YHA South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing