We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, clean, quiet, great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Elliot Beach House YHA
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“beautiful, clean, quiet, great views”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a lovely guest house perched on the edge of a cliff at the end of a quiet street. It's clean, quiet, has good amenities, great views over Horseshoe Bay, friendly reception/managerial staff.. even down to the vases of fresh flowers on the tables in the dining area, this place is more like a gorgeous home than a hostel/guest house. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacky A, Manager at Port Elliot Beach House YHA, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hi Jess
How lovely to read such a beautiful review and it is nice that even the fresh flowers have been noticed. We do pick them up during our morning walk along the cliffs while watching the whales, they are here form June until early October each year.
It is our aim to make our guests feel at home at our hostel and we hope to see you back at some point, perhaps you could experience our amazing summer.
Kind regards Jacky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
21
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

if you dislike sight of drunk fools and late night noise but love peace and cosy night's sleep then Port Elliot yha is for you. host Jacki is simply the best, always looking after guests, she organised a movie night and even made popcorn for us guests, what more could you ask for? I often witnessed Jacki sitting among guests socialising as though she was one of the guests herself, not something i have seen hostel hosts do, how nice!

Hostel itself is 2 hrs south of Adelaide on bus (but quicker if you drive as bus takes forever). the view from the hostel balcony were awesome and whales can be spotted, but it's often better to go to Freeman's lookout (2 mins walk outside hostel) or Bashams beach for a closer view of the whales. the dining room was big with lots of tables and chairs and a fire going on cold nights. the kitchen was fine (see comment below), tv room had nice sofas and large window with coastal views. the bed in dorm room was super cosy, slept well each and every night. there is washing machine and dryer and clothes line outside.

only thing i disliked was walking up to kitchen sink and finding cutlery left there (obviously not cleaned) by other guests who seemed to think it was a cool thing to do.

Room Tip: go there to enjoy peace and meet host Jacki, you won't regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I can't rave enough about this place! I run an adult ballroom dancing school in Adelaide and I recently organised a Winter Weekend away in the beautiful town of Port Elliot.
We hired the whole Beach House as a group and spent the weekend visiting wineries, dancing at the local hotel and whale watching.
The hostel is clean, modern, spacious, comfortable and well run. I am now trying to think up an excuse to go there again.
Thank you Jacqui for making our stay so comfortable and so much fun, the students all say hello!
Michelle

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wow! What a wonderful place to stay! I cannot fault this wonderful place, old world charm,directly across from amazing sea views in horeshoe bay, , communal area was wonderful,nice&cosy, warm blankets scattered in lounge&balcony area, all decor is modern&brand new, freshly painted throughout, rooms kept nice warm&cosy by modern heaters, , Excellent cooking facilities....the list goes on!! Jackie the manager here..is absolutely wonderful&has thought of everything to make this beautiful kid friendly accommodation, a relaxing get back to nature&the simple things in life experience. ..plenty of nice pubs&cafe's within walking distance to spoil yourself at before returning to beach house..by lovely warm fireplace. ..10/10

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breakx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a great place in an old building that had allways been a guesthouse. The new arrangements are great, comfortable and nicely arranged for a family.
We enjoyed the whale watching close by and the walks along the coast and beaches. Plan a visit to Granite Island from there. Well worth it.
A.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The best YHA ever - managed by a lovely lady who makes you feel so welcome and at home! Great facilities in a heritage building that has stylish character and beautiful surrounds - clean and very friendly its a fabulous place!! Views from the front room allow you to watch the whales in comfort!! Great kitchen, herb garden, common room and outdoor area to relax. Plenty to do and see in the area dont just stay a day!! Thanks so much Jacquie

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family arrived at the Port Elliot Beach house with great expectations given the consistently great reviews and we were not disappointed. We were immediately struck with the contemporary styling, cleanliness and general feel of the hostel. The location of course is fabulous and the balcony offers a wonderful place to sit and take in the amazing sea views. We loved the hostel so much we ended up staying an extra night and will definitely be back. This review however would not be complete without a special mention about the current manager. Her passion for the hostel was evident and she was warm, accommodating, had great local knowledge and really seemed to capture the soul of the place. The staff should be very proud of how they continue to honour the building and the experience for the travellers who stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elliot
3.5 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
323 reviews
21.3 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
330 reviews
2.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Bluff Resort Apartments
The Bluff Resort Apartments
#1 of 2 in Encounter Bay
149 reviews
3.6 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
262 reviews
4.3 mi away
Victor Harbor Beachfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Elliot Beach House YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Elliot Beach House YHA

Property: Port Elliot Beach House YHA
Address: 13 The Strand, Port Elliot, South Australia 5212, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Elliot
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Port Elliot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Elliot Beach House YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elliot Beachhouse YHA Hostel is a stunning historic building on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula, renovated into a breezy beach house with 270 degree views to be enjoyed year round. Offering quality budget accommodation, with shared dorms, double and family rooms - something for everyone. A fantastic self-catering kitchen and spacious lounge and dining area give you plenty of options for unwinding and breathing in the sea air, with the beach just a stroll across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Port Elliot Beach House YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Elliot Beach House YHA South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing