We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Loved It!- perfect for large groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Elliot Beach House YHA
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I can't rave enough about this place! I run an adult ballroom dancing school in Adelaide and I recently organised a Winter Weekend away in the beautiful town of Port Elliot.
We hired the whole Beach House as a group and spent the weekend visiting wineries, dancing at the local hotel and whale watching.
The hostel is clean, modern, spacious, comfortable and well run. I am now trying to think up an excuse to go there again.
Thank you Jacqui for making our stay so comfortable and so much fun, the students all say hello!
Michelle

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 84 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

Wow! What a wonderful place to stay! I cannot fault this wonderful place, old world charm,directly across from amazing sea views in horeshoe bay, , communal area was wonderful,nice&cosy, warm blankets scattered in lounge&balcony area, all decor is modern&brand new, freshly painted throughout, rooms kept nice warm&cosy by modern heaters, , Excellent cooking facilities....the list goes on!! Jackie the manager here..is absolutely wonderful&has thought of everything to make this beautiful kid friendly accommodation, a relaxing get back to nature&the simple things in life experience. ..plenty of nice pubs&cafe's within walking distance to spoil yourself at before returning to beach house..by lovely warm fireplace. ..10/10

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breakx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a great place in an old building that had allways been a guesthouse. The new arrangements are great, comfortable and nicely arranged for a family.
We enjoyed the whale watching close by and the walks along the coast and beaches. Plan a visit to Granite Island from there. Well worth it.
A.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The best YHA ever - managed by a lovely lady who makes you feel so welcome and at home! Great facilities in a heritage building that has stylish character and beautiful surrounds - clean and very friendly its a fabulous place!! Views from the front room allow you to watch the whales in comfort!! Great kitchen, herb garden, common room and outdoor area to relax. Plenty to do and see in the area dont just stay a day!! Thanks so much Jacquie

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our family arrived at the Port Elliot Beach house with great expectations given the consistently great reviews and we were not disappointed. We were immediately struck with the contemporary styling, cleanliness and general feel of the hostel. The location of course is fabulous and the balcony offers a wonderful place to sit and take in the amazing sea views. We loved the hostel so much we ended up staying an extra night and will definitely be back. This review however would not be complete without a special mention about the current manager. Her passion for the hostel was evident and she was warm, accommodating, had great local knowledge and really seemed to capture the soul of the place. The staff should be very proud of how they continue to honour the building and the experience for the travellers who stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our bike group stayed for 2 nights at the Beach House we are mature aged group and found the hostel staff very friendly and welcoming. The hostel is very clean and the kitchen extremely well equipped, plenty of glasses for happy hour after our rides. The rooms were clean and tidy, we had storage for our bikes which was lockable. The position allowed us to walk into the main street for a meal at the local hotel The Royal Family Hotel as well as breakfast at Cockles in the main street. We all had a great time and want to repeat it next year! Thanks to the staff for making it a great stay for our group.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This impressive colonial building is located on top of the hill with a stunningly beautiful view over the bay and the nature reserves with pine trees. It is just perfect to wake up and to see the sea and whales from the balcony! The hostel is very clean. The rooms are well-isolated, so it is quiet. The hostel has a comfortable and safe atmosphere with cosy common rooms, including a fireplace and television. You can watch a wide range of movies for free. There are a lot of books, magazines and games as well. So the hostel is perfect for everyone, even for families with young children. The kitchen is fully epuipped. You even have labels to put on your food in the fridge, so everybody knows from who it is and when this person is leaving. The showers are very hot, which is fantastic. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The best thing to do in Port Elliot is following the walking trails around the bay through the nature reserve/dunes while keeping an eye on the ocean to spot whales and seals/sea lions as well as seeing the local craft shops of the village. Don't forget to try the famous fish and chips at the Flying Fish Cafe on the beach! Or take the SteamRanger Heritage Railway to Victor Harbour (to see the South Australian Whale Centre and to take the horsedrawn tram to Granite Island with a lot of little penguins) or Goolwa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NathalieBeersma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Elliot
3.5 mi away
The Anchorage Hotel
The Anchorage Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
350 reviews
6.1 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 3 in Goolwa
36 reviews
21.3 mi away
Links Lady Bay Resort
Links Lady Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Normanville
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ocean Crest Motel
Ocean Crest Motel
#5 of 11 in Victor Harbor
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites
4.3 mi away
NRMA Victor Harbor Beachfront Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Elliot Beach House YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Elliot Beach House YHA

Address: 13 The Strand, Port Elliot, South Australia 5212, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Port Elliot
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Port Elliot
Price Range: $50 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Port Elliot Beach House YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elliot Beachhouse YHA Hostel is a stunning historic building on South Australia's Fleurieu Peninsula, renovated into a breezy beach house with 270 degree views to be enjoyed year round. Offering quality budget accommodation, with shared dorms, double and family rooms - something for everyone. A fantastic self-catering kitchen and spacious lounge and dining area give you plenty of options for unwinding and breathing in the sea air, with the beach just a stroll across the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Port Elliot Beach House YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Elliot Beach House YHA South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing