We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodation in town centre, near the river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Balcony On Sixth Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Murray Bridge
Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Balcony on Sixth Lodge is probably one of the nicer accommodations in the town of Murray Bridge. We overnighted here as we had a dinner cruise on the Captain Proud and the Lodge was nearest accommodation to the river and the cruise paddle boat. The Lodge is in a building built early 1900’s, so creaking floor boards in the hallway and stairs, old fashioned sash windows and thick stone walls gave it real charm. Although on entry, one could wonder if the accommodation was going to be as nice as hoped. The entry on ground level is fairly unwelcoming and drab with just a stairway going up to the next floor and reception further along a narrow hallway and up another few steps.

Our room was an Upper Deck Superior Suite at A$139 for the night, which was a good size with 2 long single beds pushed together to make a king size bed. Nicely decorated in neutral colours with original artwork hanging on the walls. As usual for hotels, the bed was firmer than I prefer. Also in the room was a small arm chair and a small table and chair setting for two. Bedside tables with lamps each side and clock radio, which is always handy. A flat screen tv, cable tv box and dvd player hung precariously off the wall. The room is described as having a kitchenette, but with only a kettle, bar fridge, crockery and cutlery, I’m not sure it that’s a correct description. The kettle needed filling from the bathroom.

Large bathroom and double shower behind a large glass door. Nicely decorated with individual complementaries of shower gel, body lotion, shampoo and conditioner, let down only by the single ply caravan park style toilet paper. Only one face cloth was provided which is a minor oversight as also is the lack of milk or creamer when tea and coffee sachets are provided.

The sash window looked out on the long, wide verandah style balcony with wicker table and chair settings out front the window of each room.

The Lodge fronts a one way street, with access only from the main Adelaide road. We parked opposite side of the road to the Lodge as next door on the same side is a pub, that being Friday night, we weren’t sure who may stumble out of later in the night and fall over the nearest parked car. There was some commotion in the street during the early hours, I guess from people leaving the pub, but all went quiet quickly and next morning, no evidence anything had happened.

All in all, I’d be happy to stay, should I ever need to overnight in Murray Bridge again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthAussieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Traveler_1970, Owner at Balcony On Sixth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We certainly appreciate the time you have taken to review our accommodation.

Our management and staff read all the reviews and take on board any comments you make (good or bad).

The Balcony On Sixth Lodge is a family owned business and has been in our family for more than 22 years. We have built the business on a reputation of proving Comfort, Quality and Consistency to all our valued guests. The Balcony On Sixth Lodge is one of South Australia's fastest growing regional motels.

We love the hospitality industry and we love proving our services to guests such as yourself.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit to Murray Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 177 of 177 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

room was lovely and clean the big verandah added to the atmosphere owners very nice only drawback for me was shared bathroom and the stairs were very steep and a lot of them

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sascha62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Traveler_1970, Owner at Balcony On Sixth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We certainly appreciate the time you have taken to review our accommodation.

Our management and staff read all the reviews and take on board any comments you make (good or bad).

The Balcony On Sixth Lodge is a family owned business and has been in our family for more than 22 years. We have built the business on a reputation of proving Comfort, Quality and Consistency to all our valued guests. The Balcony On Sixth Lodge is one of South Australia's fastest growing regional motels.

We love the hospitality industry and we love proving our services to guests such as yourself.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit to Murray Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

The hotel is situated very conveniently in Murray Bridge with access to a large shopping mall only 3 minutes walk away and a cafe and bakery just across the road. ATM right outside. We had no problems parking outside. We booked an upper deck superior suite when we needed accommodation to attend a family wedding. There are quite a few stairs to climb. No lift, but the building is full of character. We loved our room. It was absolutely charming with a very large and comfortable bed with beautiful white linen. The room was tastefully decorated with a large wardrobe, iron and ironing board. We had the room on the corner so we had access to a very large section of the balcony with a table and chairs provided. This was a really nice place to be able to sit out and enjoy the evening. The roll down verandah blinds proved very useful when we had a violent storm! The bathroom is beautifully appointed with a nice selection of complimentary toiletries. It is not cheap to stay in this accommodation so I feel that it is fair to mention the few slight disappointments. From the description that we read on the internet we expected a small kitchenette so we were surprised that there were no basic cooking facilities - just a kettle. The cupboards are well stocked with plenty of crockery and the delightful owner said that if we just left the dirty pots they would take them away and wash them, which they did. There is an area down the corridor with a microwave which you can use. The cleaner was a rather surly lady. She knocked on the door when we were quite clearly still in the room getting ready for the wedding, saying that she had come to service the room. We had to tell her to leave it that day - we were happy to make the bed ourselves. The following day she obviously came in and made the bed but had not cleaned the shower in the bathroom nor changed the towels. We had access to wireless internet at times but the owners kept switching it off as they have limited usage and they said that someone had been using the internet heavily and they had to switch it off to preserve what was left of this month's allowance. This was a bit of a nuisance. These are minor points, I know, but they need looking at. The owners are friendly and helpful and they obviously care very deeply about their hotel. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room. This is really lovely as it has a dual aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottydenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Traveler_1970, Owner at Balcony On Sixth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We certainly appreciate the time you have taken to review our accommodation.

Our management and staff read all the reviews and take on board any comments you make (good or bad).

The Balcony On Sixth Lodge is a family owned business and has been in our family for more than 22 years. We have built the business on a reputation of proving Comfort, Quality and Consistency to all our valued guests. The Balcony On Sixth Lodge is one of South Australia's fastest growing regional motels.

We love the hospitality industry and we love proving our services to guests such as yourself.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit to Murray Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Balcony on Sixth was recommended to me by the organiser of an event I was participating in so I followed their advice and booked there for convenience. When I arrived, I was delighted by what I found:
The rooms are charming, warm and inviting, cosy, with very tasteful decor and comfortably fitted out.
I was a little surprised to find that there were not individual ensuites to each room, but I found the shared facilities to be quite acceptable and I think overall it added to the homely atmosphere. Certainly for the price, I couldn't recommend it more highly - in fact, no matter what your budget is I'm sure you'll be delighted with it.

Room Tip: You might be better with a room up near reception, because at night it goes quiet there and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy_Traveler_1970, Owner at Balcony On Sixth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We certainly appreciate the time you have taken to review our accommodation.

Our management and staff read all the reviews and take on board any comments you make (good or bad).

The Balcony On Sixth Lodge is a family owned business and has been in our family for more than 22 years. We have built the business on a reputation of proving Comfort, Quality and Consistency to all our valued guests. The Balcony On Sixth Lodge is one of South Australia's fastest growing regional motels.

We love the hospitality industry and we love proving our services to guests such as yourself.

Thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit to Murray Bridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Katherina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Panzerwaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Murray Bridge
1.9 mi away
Adelaide Road Motor Lodge
Adelaide Road Motor Lodge
#1 of 5 in Murray Bridge
98 reviews
14.4 mi away
Pretoria Hotel
Pretoria Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mannum
30 reviews
14.7 mi away
Mannum Motel
Mannum Motel
#2 of 2 in Mannum
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Murray Bridge Oval Motel
Murray Bridge Oval Motel
#2 of 5 in Murray Bridge
64 reviews
2.9 mi away
Murray Bridge Motor Inn
Murray Bridge Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Murray Bridge
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklane Motel Murray Bridge
Parklane Motel Murray Bridge
#3 of 6 in Murray Bridge
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balcony On Sixth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balcony On Sixth Lodge

Address: 6 Sixth St, Murray Bridge, South Australia 5253, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Murray Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Murray Bridge
Price Range: $71 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balcony On Sixth Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Balcony On Sixth Lodge takes pride of place and is conveniently located in the heart of Murray Bridge. Our 1918, heritage listed building houses the delightful accommodation facility the locals affectionately know today as 'The Balcony'. Our staff will offer you and your guest's personal attention, at a price to suit all budgets. The Balcony boasts an array of accommodation options, which are being constantly upgraded for your comfort. If you require one of our self contained, Murray Bridge Executive Apartments or simply a Queen Premium Room for the night - please talk to one of our guest services staff or simply book here online for the best value, up to the minute rates. Take a leisurely stroll to the river, relax in our local parklands or jump in your car and explore the many tourist spots and wineries dotted around the Murraylands. Why not let the Balcony On Sixth Lodge, Guest Services Team make your next visit to our beautiful region, an enjoyable and memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA and Orbitz so you can book your Balcony On Sixth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing