We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem”

Meningie Hotel Bistro
Ranked #3 of 8 Restaurants in Meningie
Cuisines: Bar, Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We often pass through Meningie on our way to Adelaide and back to the South East. We took a chance one night and stopped at the Hotel for a meal and were very pleasantly surprised by the meet and greet, being shown to a table and seated by our friendly host. We've been popping in for nearly a year now and each time we go there the place just gets better. The food is always excellent, cooked perfectly and well presented. Not your usual stodgy pub fare. What started as a rather daggy old dining room has been transformed with simple, fresh and modern touches, not overdone like so many places. Best coffee and service in town by far. We enjoy seeing this place get better each time we visit. Well done to all of you. Wendy & Jimmy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    29
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Has potential.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

We came just after Easter and were disappointed to find many of the advertised dishes (especially desserts) unavailable. The menu is enticing and the two mullet dishes we tried were well thought out and beautifully presented. The service however was a bit disorganised.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jackaroo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meningie, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of local gourmet culinary delights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Being a local business owner we are proud to have a close affiliation with this bistro. As other reviewers have said, the pubs exterior is not the most attractive, even the local canon across street is aiming straight at the building!!
The positives are the chef's (Grant) culinary delights in the newly redesigned Wild Spices Bistro. We strongly recommend our guests at the park experience his mouth watering dishes, but leave some space for a yummy dessert!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LACP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
1 review
“What a delightful surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I found the decor refreshing as it was understated, it was more about the food. Fresh, creative, modern without being pretentious. City restaurants could learn some lessons here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zeeka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Outstanding food, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

As other reviewers have said, this is a hidden gem. Although the décor is very plain, the food was outstanding. The Coorong mullet, which everyone recommended, was cooked to perfection and the Aussie meringue dessert was the most exquisite dessert I have tasted in a very long time (and I don't usually eat desserts!) The menu is quite limited, which is clever as everything is very fresh. Combine this with excellent service and a genuine interest in the customers and it makes for a great dining experience. Full marks to Grant, the chef! This was one of the best meals we had during the two weeks we have spent in Australia so far.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meningie Hotel Bistro also viewed

 
Meningie, South Australia
Meningie, South Australia
 
Meningie, South Australia

Been to Meningie Hotel Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing