We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poor management.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coorong Wilderness Lodge
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We spent two nights here in October. As you will gather from previous reviews this place is hit and miss. We got a miss. Booking was difficult - it took a couple of weeks of emails and phone calls via the agent (you cannot book direct) before we could even confirm that our booking had been taken. Given that it is in the middle of nowhere we requested evening meals for both nights. We arrived around 5.30. Nobody around to meet us - just a note on the restaurant door to say that the keys were in the cabin. There were no other guests. We phoned to find out when dinner would be to be told that we 'had only booked for the second night'. We opened up our cabin to find that it was (i) dirty and (ii) there was no toilet paper or shampoo/shower gel. So after a long drive the first thing we had to do was get back in the car and drive 50km back to Meningie to get some food and toiletries. Not ideal. The second night we got our dinner but only, I suspect, because they had a pre-booked coach load and it was convenient for them to serve another two portions. It was the smallest and most expensive fish and chips we have ever had. The cabins are large, well-equipped and the views from the terraces are wonderful but they are expensive so they need to be clean and supplied with basics such as toiletries. We cannot comment on the activities such as bush-tucker walks and kayaking as there was nobody around to ask. It is in a beautiful location and there is plenty for photographers and wildlife watchers but it cannot be recommended until it is managed properly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marciesingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 22 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

I booked an overnight stop with my wife in March 2012 en route between Melbourne and Adelaide. Unfortunately I had to cancel when I realised that the lodge was 4 km off the sealed highway and that my car hire insurance was therefore invalid. I couldn't take this risk so gave them over a week's notice of my cancellation. I was promised a refund of my AU$90 but, despite a procession since of emails and telephone calls, have not been reimbursed. The moral is to check that your vehicle's insurance covers you off-road and be aware that you may not get your money back if you have to cancel even with adequate notice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have just spent 2 wonderful days staying in one of the Coorong Wilderness Lodges, and are already planning to come back for a week when we can. This place is really special, with amazing birdlife and flora and scenery (especially the sunsets, sunrises and starry skies). The lodges themselves are spacious, clean and comfortable, with exceptional views. They have kitchenettes with toaster, jug, microwave and electric frypan, crockery, glasses and cutlery. The weather was a bit cool while we were there, but we found the lodge very cosy (and there is a reverse cycle airconditioner if you need it) and we really enjoyed being able to walk around the lagoons admiring the birds and plants. In warmer weather it would be fantastic to take one of the kayaks out.
We found the host to be very gracious and helpful, and were surprised to read some of the previous negative comments - can only think the non-intrusive, gentle style may have been misinterpreted by people expecting a more entrepreneurial approach.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank magicpossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

The cwl is a remarkable place to stay. i have read all previous comments and reviews and i feel that i have to say that you all need to go back!! The new managers are great, they live onsite, were very accommodating and extremely helpful. The cabin we stayed in was spotless and we could not pick a fault. The wild life and location are a must see, words and pictures just cannot describe and do this place justice. If you just want to enjoy the peace and quiet, to enjoy the wild life and its surroundings or just to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city then this is the place for that. We loved it there and will definantely will return with friends. Oh and to see an emu with its chick wandering just in front of our cabin was just priceless.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vhutchinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This place blew my mind. It is located on the most beautiful spot of the entire Coorong.
I stayed a few days, moved on south to see other parts of the Coorong
and... returned as quickly as possible to stay another week.

The view is unbeatable.
Just nature as far as the eye can see.
Sunsets are stunning.

No human noise, just the sound of the wind, animals
and the rumbling of the ocean across the dunes.

Take a walk on the beach and see footprints of emus and kangaroos and many birds.
Be lucky and see them walking around in their natural habitat.
The only human footprints I saw were... my own on the way back.

The water is shallow, safe for kids.
A swim in Coorong salt water is a joy, an effortless float.

And is one of the very few easy accessible places in Australia
that offers a true Aboriginal culture exprience.
It was amazing to learn about bush tucker,
it was like walking in a supermarket without knowing.

The Ngarrindjeri people took excellent care of me. Good food, good accommodation.
I was proud to be their guest
and will return for sure on my next visit to Australia.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henk Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We stayed for the overnight package including 3 meals, half day kayak hire and bush tucker walk. Friendly new manager and family (just took over) are now full time living on site. Fantastic location. Room was very good, modern and clean. Tim who took the bush tucker walk was fantastic 10/10. Very knowledgeable and experienced member of Ngarrindjeri nation. Food was generally average like pub fare (except dinner which had fresh Coorong mullet that was great). Espresso coffee machine in restaurant. They need to offer a boat "ferry" service to take visitors over to the ocean side when (as was our case) the wind / weather was too fierce to get across in the kayaks. Would be great experience for school groups.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for tea/coffee and milk to take to your room on arrival. Bring binoculars for wild...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank choonbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Do not go!
- no staff during evening/at night/when leaving;
- not cleaned properly inside, at the entrance, the windows;
- breakfast was very basic;
- no service when attempting to do a kayak;
- when doing the kayak - the water level was too low (see Carlinar's comments: that's us ;))
- when leaving during the morning, there was a guest who slept in this car during night as the owners could not be reached for check-in: unbelievable!
- too lazy managers.
As such: do not go there. A wilderness experience can be found elsewhere in Australia!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meningie hotels
8.2 mi away
Meningie Waterfront Motel
2.4 mi away
Coorong Cabins
Coorong Cabins
#2 of 3 in Meningie
4 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lake Albert Caravan Park, Meningie SA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Lake Albert Motel
Lake Albert Motel
#1 of 2 in Meningie
55 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Coorong Wilderness Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coorong Wilderness Lodge

Address: PO Box 294,Princess Hwy | PO Box 294, Meningie, South Australia 5264, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Meningie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Meningie
Price Range: $1 - $2 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coorong Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Coorong Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing