We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding experience”
Review of Woodstock Coterie

Woodstock Coterie
Ranked #24 of 56 Restaurants in McLaren Vale
Price range: $22 - $66
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Woodstock Coterie, built in 1988, was designed to nestle among the towering century old gum trees. The design took into consideration the location of each of these amazing native trees. Not one significant tree was cut down to accommodate building the restaurant. Hence, the Coterie's unique semicircle shape. Rammed earth walls encase the dining area, providing a warm feel and at the same time complementing The Coterie's unique quintessentially Australian landscape. Glass doors and windows frame the lush native gardens creating an atrium feel for the discerning patron. Upstairs there is a mezzanine level available for private tastings, conferences and functions.The name 'Coterie' was chosen for the word's meaning; the gathering of a group of people, or rather a circle of friends, for a specific purpose... that for us includes great food, good company and finest wines at Woodstock
1 review
“An outstanding experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It's a memorable experience when a restaurant ticks all the boxes...cuisine, service and setting. Today was just such an occasion . Thank you to everyone at Woodstock for making our fathers 60th birthday celebration one to remember. Your attention to detail and personal touch were second to none. Every meal and all of our wines were superb. We'll be back very soon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory L, Manager at Woodstock Coterie, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that your father enjoyed his 60th Birthday celebrations with us.
We look forward to seeing you again at Woodstock Coterie very soon.
Kind regards,
Rory Lundin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    28
    25
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“$16 a glass Shiraz is underpriced!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Smashing food smashing naked Chardonnay delightful but about to be sold out.

Try the black pudding and vegi soufflé.

Magnifique!!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory L, Manager at Woodstock Coterie, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi,
Just a quick note to say thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. We still have a small amount of the 2008 Naked Chardonnay you enjoyed. The 2010 Woodstock 'Stocks' Shiraz will be moving on to 2012 vintage later this week.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Rory Lundin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best degustation ever!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

As part of the annual sea and vines festival in Mclaren Vale we decided to travel from melbourne and do the Woodstock degustation. Let me say that it was worth every penny of the very reasonable $100 per head. the incredible quality wine was equally matched by the amazing food that was delivered to our table by the friendly staff. A truly wonderful night. We were all so full that we couldnt possibly have fit any more in. congratulations to the chef and to woodstock wines owner for a magnificent degustaion!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaShir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory L, Manager at Woodstock Coterie, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for recognising our efforts that went into the Sea & Vines Degustation dinner we held on the 8th June. I appreciate your recognition for the value for money we offered, it was a fantastic night had by all with compliments still rolling in.
We look forward to hosting you again in the very near future when you next visit our much loved Woodstock Winery in McLaren Vale.
Kind regards,
Rory Lundin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
“A great family day out!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Queens Birthday long weekend late Monday afternoon, we had the regional platter with the 2011 Woodstock 'Pilot's View' Shiraz which I must say is exceptional! The kids had a bowl of chips and hot chocolates with no complaints there. What made Woodstock a stand out day for us day was Rory the restaurant manager who went out of his way for us making us feel welcome, while topping up our very delicious wine he offered the kids a chance to go and meet the resident wallabys and kangaroos they were beyond excited. Also credit to the cellar door staff were also fun, friendly while extremely busy people! Thanks for a great afternoon Woodstock we look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory L, Manager at Woodstock Coterie, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hi,
I am pleased to read you enjoyed your visit to Woodstock. The children always enjoy meeting our joeys and kangaroos in our Wildlife Sanctuary.We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Rory Lundin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallett Cove
Level Contributor
398 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Light Lunch Alternative”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The ploughmans Lunch comprises of local smallgoods, cheeses olives and salad pieces, and is an excellent alternative to the usual heavier luncheon fare available in hotels and restaurants, etc..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JONHallettCove J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rory L, Manager at Woodstock Coterie, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi, thanks for dropping into Woodstock Coterie. We are so fortunate to have such wonderful produce in McLaren Vale. Our Regional Platter is a nice way to 'graze' on some of these delights - smoked meats, local olives, housemade pate and chutneys, matched with our Woodstock Wines. Appreciate you taking the time to write a few words on Trip Advisor. We look forward to seeing you again at Woodstock McLaren Vale in the very near future.
Cheers,
Rory
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodstock Coterie also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Woodstock Coterie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing