We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serafino McLaren Vale
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in McLaren Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here in January, on a package of room and dinner in the restaurant, with breakfast to the room.

The room was very spacious, had nice decor and was in a great position, near the pool and a lovely short walk to the restaurant. To say we booked a romantic break package, it was a shame that the bed was 2 singles pushed together, with the matresses being felt under the sheet lol.

The evening meal was fantastic - excellent food,nice restaurant setting, drinks not too pricey.

To be picky - for the star rating there were a few things that weren't great. There was no water in the fridge, and we were unable to locate the pura tap in another building. The glasses didn't match and there was no travel compendium to advertise local attractions, or the restaraunt menu etc.
The pool needed a clean, and wasn't actually open in the morning, but was spacious and attractive.
Breakfast was nice, but we were asked to specify a time for delivery to our room, it was 15 minutes after this time, but when I called to check with reception, I was told that there was actually a 15 minute window, which is fine (if you know that). The milk and yoghurt were a tad warm, but the warmed croissant was yummy and it was a really good selection of items for breakfast. You have to return your basket to reception which is I assume to aviod problems with crawling insects.
I would say the staff could be more friendly, the cellar door in particular was amazing how they closed at 4.30, but at 4.26, they wouldn't let guests that had just spent time checking in taste wine in order to decide what to order at dinner! one of the less friendly cellar doors I have visited. The attitude appears more that they are doing you a favour by letting you stay in their hotel.

As I say, being quite picky, some thinkgs weren't (in my opinion) up to the star rating standard, but they were very minor things, but sometimes the little things do affect your experience, and they were all things that could be rectified for a few $$ and I probably had fairly high expectations after reading the website, the price of the stay and the fact that it was a rare romantic getaway.

I would stay at this hotel again, and would most definately eat here again.

Room Tip: Location of all rooms would be good at this resort, it is away from the road and in a horseshoe arra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rntmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for feedback. Your valid points have already been rectified since your visit due to new management. I trust you will see the small but important changes in your return, for example - a bottle of water is now in the fridge, proposed pre dinner Serafino wine tasting for guests only in our beautiful foyer and offer breakfast in the restaurant only..and thats just a few. regards New management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    58
    30
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
105
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife and I got married at Serafino last year and decided to return to celebrate our first anniversary. We opted for the Ultimate Indulgence package which included the room, a 2 course meal and a glass of sparkling each, and a continental breakfast. We wanted to upgrade to a spa room and a cooked breakfast in the restaurant and it was a bit of a disappointment that these upgrades came to almost $50. It would have been nice for Serafino to provide these upgrades as complimentary in light of the fact that we spent a 5 figure sum with them on our wedding last year, and that we were returning for our first anniversary, but alas it wasn't to be.

The rooms are of a good size but are looking a bit dated now and could certainly do with a refresh. A DVD player and/or iPod player wouldn't go amiss either.

The location is excellent, in the heart of McLaren Vale, with the accommodation in a nice countryside setting. The surroundings are very tranquil with wildlife and trees rustling in the wind the only sounds outside of the room. The back of the room opens onto a central grass square with a nice pool in the middle, whilst the front of the room opens up straight onto your parking space.

The evening meal was excellent, very tasty with good portions, and we were happy with the service provided. The breakfast could have done with including beans and sausages, but was otherwise very good.

An enjoyable stay overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0rkshire_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Matt, Thank you for returning to Serafino and celebrating your 1st Wedding anniversary with us. Please check your inbox. regards New managment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed two nights and it was so relaxing. We had a spa room and the pool at our front door. Mclaren Vale is gorgeous and so close to all the touristy stuff you need to do on holidays but you do need a car to access everything. The room was nice but basic. We ate at the restaurant our first night and the food was beautiful we had the duck and it was the best duck dish I have ever had it is pricey but worth it. The staff were lovely. We will definitely be staying again. You must visit Victor Harbor and Maslin Beach just gorgeous.

Room Tip: Spa room is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Caroline, Thank you for your kind words. We agree, the Duck dish is delicious and a popular choice. Look forward to your return visit. regards New management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The rooms were your usual fare, comfortable and with all you'd need (bar an oven.)
& the doorstep swimming pool and tranquil surrounds were very welcome (the 'Coast to Vines' bike track to Willunga right behind the Serafino is a day well spent.)

But we found the staff to be a bit stuffy, as it would appear a few other reviewers noted. We asked the receptionist to call us a cab, which was denied (not even a phone number offered.)

But not bad all-in, it wasn't overly pricey & the pool was nice. Locals said the food was way overpriced, so we decided against dining there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaninoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your feedback. We will address the issue highlighted. Look forward to your return. regards New management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been twice to Serafino's and was pleased both times I went there.
The bruschetta is delicious, its warm bread and tomato with cold buffalo mozzarella on top and the hot and cold flavour works really well.

The chicken is a must, and so is their Paella - best PaelIa I have found anywhere hands down.
It is expensive, but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winding_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for the positive feedback. The paella is delicious. Hopefully you will choose to stay with us and also enjoy the relaxing environment, Serafino cellar door wine tasting and McLaren Vale region. regards New management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Epic fail in customer service, we were charged $8 for a pot of English Breakfast tea (for 2) with 1 tea bag in the pot?? Very stingey!! The table service had to be chased down and requested. The carpet in the dining room really needs a good clean.
I mis heard the manager the previous day at check in and we arrived at the dining room at the agreed upon time for our breakfast; apparently I had ordered the complimentary hamper to come to our room which according to our friends was very nice.

I had the waitress and manager standing over me in the dining room giving me the look of a naughty school boy as I wasn't supposed to be in the dining room for breakfast.

We chose to eat with other members of our party after A Day On The Green at Leconfield Winery the before. I asked if we could move to the dining room for breakfast as we had not seen our hamper as yet at our room.

Are we not paying guests? We were told we can have our breakfast in the dining room and then were charged $18 for the bad service (tea not included in what was a complimentary breakfast) $10 because we are going to dirty the linen??

The cleaners started cleaning the floors in reception and the smell of bleach was strong in the didning room, the table service had to be sought from the kitchen - the training of the staff seems to be non-existant.

The phone rang loudly in reception until it rang out (very loudly) while we had beautiful views over the lake. The very young manager was overly officious and needed to remember that she is a hostess not a school teacher in charge of small children. A large customer service fail, I would suggest anyone eat at Bracegirdles in the main street, beautiful food, friendly service.

To be charged for an upgrade to breakfast in the diding room when it was to be complimentary was farcical...Training required, you are in the hospitality industry it is basic stuff; we left there speechless not just because of our big day out at the concert unfortunately.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Kevin, we apologise for the disappointing experience at Serafino. We are reviewing the breakfast on offer as well as investing further training in staff regarding customer service. We trust you will choose Serafino in the future. regards New management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Very close to the town of McLaren Vale, and the popular wineries. It is also very close to the beaches. The rooms are a good size, and all look out to the pool area. We didn't go to the restaurant. Lovely two-day stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmody77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam. thank you for your positive feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your return. regards New management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLaren Vale
6.1 mi away
COAST Motel and Apartments
COAST Motel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Port Noarlunga
82 reviews
1.6 mi away
McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
3 Divas B & B
3 Divas B & B
#4 of 17 in McLaren Vale
95 reviews
3.2 mi away
Karawatha Cottages
Karawatha Cottages
#3 of 17 in McLaren Vale
20 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casavino Luxury Villas
Casavino Luxury Villas
#1 of 5 in McLaren Vale
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serafino McLaren Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serafino McLaren Vale

Property: Serafino McLaren Vale
Address: Motel 39 Kangarilla Rd | PO Box 623, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171, Australia (Formerly McLarens On The Lake)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > McLaren Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in McLaren Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serafino McLaren Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Serafino McLaren Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing