We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Serafino McLaren Vale
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in McLaren Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The rooms were your usual fare, comfortable and with all you'd need (bar an oven.)
& the doorstep swimming pool and tranquil surrounds were very welcome (the 'Coast to Vines' bike track to Willunga right behind the Serafino is a day well spent.)

But we found the staff to be a bit stuffy, as it would appear a few other reviewers noted. We asked the receptionist to call us a cab, which was denied (not even a phone number offered.)

But not bad all-in, it wasn't overly pricey & the pool was nice. Locals said the food was way overpriced, so we decided against dining there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seaninoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for your feedback. We will address the issue highlighted. Look forward to your return. regards New management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    56
    29
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
101
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have been twice to Serafino's and was pleased both times I went there.
The bruschetta is delicious, its warm bread and tomato with cold buffalo mozzarella on top and the hot and cold flavour works really well.

The chicken is a must, and so is their Paella - best PaelIa I have found anywhere hands down.
It is expensive, but will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winding_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam, thank you for the positive feedback. The paella is delicious. Hopefully you will choose to stay with us and also enjoy the relaxing environment, Serafino cellar door wine tasting and McLaren Vale region. regards New management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Epic fail in customer service, we were charged $8 for a pot of English Breakfast tea (for 2) with 1 tea bag in the pot?? Very stingey!! The table service had to be chased down and requested. The carpet in the dining room really needs a good clean.
I mis heard the manager the previous day at check in and we arrived at the dining room at the agreed upon time for our breakfast; apparently I had ordered the complimentary hamper to come to our room which according to our friends was very nice.

I had the waitress and manager standing over me in the dining room giving me the look of a naughty school boy as I wasn't supposed to be in the dining room for breakfast.

We chose to eat with other members of our party after A Day On The Green at Leconfield Winery the before. I asked if we could move to the dining room for breakfast as we had not seen our hamper as yet at our room.

Are we not paying guests? We were told we can have our breakfast in the dining room and then were charged $18 for the bad service (tea not included in what was a complimentary breakfast) $10 because we are going to dirty the linen??

The cleaners started cleaning the floors in reception and the smell of bleach was strong in the didning room, the table service had to be sought from the kitchen - the training of the staff seems to be non-existant.

The phone rang loudly in reception until it rang out (very loudly) while we had beautiful views over the lake. The very young manager was overly officious and needed to remember that she is a hostess not a school teacher in charge of small children. A large customer service fail, I would suggest anyone eat at Bracegirdles in the main street, beautiful food, friendly service.

To be charged for an upgrade to breakfast in the diding room when it was to be complimentary was farcical...Training required, you are in the hospitality industry it is basic stuff; we left there speechless not just because of our big day out at the concert unfortunately.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Kevin, we apologise for the disappointing experience at Serafino. We are reviewing the breakfast on offer as well as investing further training in staff regarding customer service. We trust you will choose Serafino in the future. regards New management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Very close to the town of McLaren Vale, and the popular wineries. It is also very close to the beaches. The rooms are a good size, and all look out to the pool area. We didn't go to the restaurant. Lovely two-day stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schmody77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam. thank you for your positive feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to your return. regards New management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Huge lovely Spa rooms with front and back entrances. Parking in front of the room and lots of nature around this hotel. Loved watching the birds and enjoyed aussie nature while sitting out in front of my room. Very close to all the wineries which are in a radius of about 5 kms. Reception and staff are very friendly. A special thanks to Mr Edward for his very friendly attitude which made our stay very enjoyable. Just the right place to relax and chill out while visiting the wineries.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smart03, Manager at Serafino McLaren Vale, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear David, thank you for the wonderful feedback. We do get it right and 5/5 is very impressive. We invite you back to Serafino on your next trip to Australia. regards New management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lovely setting and atmosphere. Comfortable chairs and lovely table setting. Unfortunately things slid down hill from there. My husband had pork belly for entree which was tough however the apple and carrot purée was lovely. I had the haloumi which in no way resembled haloumi that I have ever had. Very firm,as in hard to cut through and resembling the consistency I imagine of an old worn out sponge. Orange pomegranate molasses dates and asparagus accompanied and were lovely on their own. Babaganoush an extra strange addition. My husbands main he describes as lackluster. Soggy skin and flush with no flavor. I had the dukkah crusted barramundi which was overcooked as were the scallops and the dukkah crust had been forgotten. When I mentioned to the waiter that the dukkah crust was missing he kindly offered us a dessert at no cost. We opted for the cheese plate as a safe bet and as we were still hungry. But alas it was also disappointing. All cheeses rested upon each other the bookends being two slabs of identical cheddar and served quickly and therefore very cold. This was served with no fresh fruit some dried fruit and a little pile of what could only be described as a crushed trail mix. Throughout the night the service provided by the waiter was lovely and professional unlike the waitress who does not enjoy her job and virtually chucked plates and cutlery sporadically down on ours and tables surrounding.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ajellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here for friends wedding. Beautiful grounds and location. Certainly a place to chill and relax. Has pool and lovely shaded places to sit and relax. If your expecting lots of night life etc not the place for you. If you want peace and quiet then its your spot. Rooms had a country feel and were generous in size.

Room Tip: All rooms are tucked away so none are really better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLaren Vale
6.1 mi away
COAST Motel and Apartments
COAST Motel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Port Noarlunga
78 reviews
9.2 mi away
St. Francis Winery
St. Francis Winery
#1 of 1 in Reynella
98 reviews
20.8 mi away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
3 Divas B & B
3 Divas B & B
#4 of 17 in McLaren Vale
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serafino McLaren Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serafino McLaren Vale

Property: Serafino McLaren Vale
Address: Motel 39 Kangarilla Rd | PO Box 623, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171, Australia (Formerly McLarens On The Lake)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > McLaren Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in McLaren Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Serafino McLaren Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Serafino McLaren Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing