We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Happy - large clean room, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serafino McLaren Vale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Serafino McLaren Vale
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in McLaren Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Happy - large clean room, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was hesitant to book having read some previous reviews regarding the rooms, however it suited our location and price. Upon arrival checkin was quick and easy, and we were surprised at how large the rooms were. We couldn't fault the cleanliness, and the bed was huge and comfortable. The restaurant was delicious, and the breakfast hamper hit the spot. The property is serene, with the lake, huge ducks, and lots of trees, and its easy walking distance to Oxenberry Farm who do wonderful tasting platters and grapple cider (grape and apple!). Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    29
    5
    1
See reviews for
22
94
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Enjoyed a great three days in July 2012. Ideal location right in the heart of McLaren Vale just right for visiting the wineries. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the facilities were first class. The staff in the Serafino cellar door were so friendly we bought twice as much wine as we planned - oh well, it was worth it. Can thoroughly recommend it for anyone who wants a lost weekend with peace and quiet with excellent food and wine.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelaideWallaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spa rooms are very spacious with upgraded bathroom of excellent standard. Kingsize bed was very comfortable and room featured a second exit ( an overlooked safety feature in most motels ) Room was fitted with basic amenities only ( electric jug 2 glasses, 2 cups/saucers 2 wineglasses only) but surprisingly no toaster was available even from reception. Furnishings were in good condition considering their age. paintwork just OK Cleanliness seemed OK but bed not properly made each day and no detergent to wash cups etc. Very quiet at night but could perhaps be noisy in summer with proximity to the pool. Our pleasant stay was added to by the excellent restaurant meal-- see separate review.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greenjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

Whilst we had a very nice stay serafino's is not quite 4star. The restaurant
& breakfast very good and the staff very friendly but, overall, is in need of more TLC !!
The rooms are nice and big but the walls and doors are in bad need of a clean
And paint and cobwebs a plenty. Most disappointing was the bathroom, mould,
Previous guests hair and in need of a good clean. The location and grounds are
Lovely but the rooms let it down !

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Large rooms and very quiet.
The breakfast is delivered by golf cart to your room in the morning and is big enough to feed far more than are staying in the room.

Beware that reception is not open on a Sunday evening and make sure that you have phoned ahead to arrange a place to pick up your room key.
There are very few signs to direct you around the property which is set in very large gardens and this is a particular problem if you arrive in the dark.

Serafino's is good value and a great base for touring around McLaren Vale and Willunga.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4_Aussie_Tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very disappointed with the rooms. There was no facility to have your own breakfast, no normal glasses for just water and sure there was a kettle and coffee but no milk in the fridge. Grounds are lovely and the food was fantastic. Stayed for my nephews wedding which was lovely but even the bridal suite was basic. Can stay in the city for the same price and have a lovely room. Wouldn't recommend to anyone to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Not a very friendly welcome when we arrived. The rooms were basic, no room service we were aware of, and no mini bar, breakfast was disappointing. Grounds were great. If it wasn't for the first class dining experience I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gunnadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLaren Vale
6.1 mi away
COAST Motel and Apartments
COAST Motel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Port Noarlunga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
1.7 mi away
McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
3 Divas B & B
3 Divas B & B
#3 of 17 in McLaren Vale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bellevue Bed & Breakfast McLaren Vale
1.4 mi away
Southern Vales Bed & Breakfast
Southern Vales Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 17 in McLaren Vale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serafino McLaren Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serafino McLaren Vale

Property: Serafino McLaren Vale
Address: Motel 39 Kangarilla Rd | PO Box 623, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171, Australia (Formerly McLarens On The Lake)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > McLaren Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in McLaren Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Serafino McLaren Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Serafino McLaren Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing