We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good, nice setting”
Review of Chapel Hill Winery

Chapel Hill Winery
Ranked #13 of 52 things to do in McLaren Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good, nice setting”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

i didn't love the wine. this used to be one of the top places in McLaren Vale. people were nice. the clients had a bit of that stuck up winery feel.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PENNsational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    31
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What great cellar door staff”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Tottered off to Chapel Hill winery the other week. Having stayed there once thought might be worth another visit. (BTW what a fab accomm venue).

Anyway, the cellar door staff at Chapel Hill are really excellent, almost hard to beat.... they are personable, informative, really good at reading the group. With no pressure to buy (you know that feeling of obligation) we bought quite a few bottles just because it was a good experience.

The building is a little enclosed and could do with some warmth/ life.

The wines are great, they have some reasonably priced and great drinking white.

Without a doubt do yourself a favour and have a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We were so pleased we made time to visit this unique winery. Tessa knew her wines and we felt confident in making various purchases. The Tawny called The Devil was especially good as was the Grenache and the Blended White.
The atmosphere and character of the place lent itself to a very relaxing morning.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ForbesAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great reds.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This cellar door is situated in an old Chapel so full of character. We only tried a few of the heavier reds; it had been a long day already!
Most notable were the Shiraz and the surprise of the day was their Cabernet Sauvignon - strong but refined tannic structure, good fruit/acid balance. I could think of nothing else but rare T-bone steak when I tasted this wine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaundiced_Eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“How do they cope!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We visited on a Sunday and it was packed but the staff managed to get around everyone with cheerfulness and attention to each individual. Chapel Hill wines have had a great reputation for years but, unfortunately, are not readily available in the big liquor barns. For these you will need to go cellar door or to the independent bottle shop so definitely put the cellar door on the list.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Davo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapel Hill Winery also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Chapel Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing