We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous friendly cellar door!”

Hugh Hamilton Wines
Book In Advance
More Info
$126.98*
and up
McLaren Vale Winery Small Group Tour from Adelaide Including Wine Tasting and...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hugh Hamilton Wines is a 'must see' winery in McLaren Vale. Set on a ridge line it provides nearly 360 degree 'stunning' views of the McLaren Vale wine region. The wines are all estate grown and include the main stream varietals such as Chardonnay, Shiraz, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Merlot plus the unusual varieties including White Frontignan, Viognier, Pinot Grigio, Sangiovese, Petit Verdot, Tempranillo and Saperavi. All wines have fun names and include The Trickster, The Scallywag, The Loose Cannon, The Rascal, The Villain, The Ratbag, The Mongrel, The Scoundrel, The Nutter, The Floozie, The Strumpet, The Oddball, and The Madam. Visitors from overseas are all welcome.
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
469 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Fabulous friendly cellar door!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is a terrific winery to visit, the wines are great, the marketing is very clever and the views are gorgeous. Make sure you read the detailed tasting notes on the wines, they are entertaining and informative. Great service by the cellar door staff. It's hard to decide who to visit with so many cellar doors, but this one is a winner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6372, Owner at Hugh Hamilton Wines, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Kerry,

Many thanks for visiting us from Bunbury. With so many options available we're delighted you landed here, and also took the time to write a review. We're very proud of our staff who are great at customer service. We also make sure they really understand wine so are able to professionally answer most wine questions. I have said on a number of occasions that we're all here to have fun but we're also very serious about our vineyards and our wines. I'm really pleased you enjoyed yourself here. I hope you can visit again fairly soon.

Cheers

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    31
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best moscato I have ever had, the goldilocks is amazing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Pam Hamilton is a gorgeous host who only offers the finest wines available. Her beautiful nature makes the winery a treat to visit. The wines are truly amazing. I reside in adelaide and often make the trip up purely to purchase there wines.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cheesman_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6372, Owner at Hugh Hamilton Wines, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Greetings Cheesman_321,

My wife Mistress Pamela is getting a big head and a great smile over your review of her performance! It's justified, however, as Pam really sets the tone of our approach to customer service and education to all our staff here so she does a great job. I'm delighted you noticed and wrote the review. 'Goldilocks' is a great Moscato as you note. I like to say that "Goldilocks rocks". We're not far away so call in again soon.

Cheers

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
415 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“The black sheep turned good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Called after the so called black sheep of a family, Hugh Hamilton did well with his winery! This is one of the ones worth calling in to. It is beautifully situated with amazing views and is an attractive modern building. We were very well looked after by a staff member from Germany whose knowledge of wines was impressive. Tasting is free as it should be but is not in all wineries. The wine is good too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DaoHaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6372, Owner at Hugh Hamilton Wines, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi daOScotland,

Thanks for visiting us here with your overseas guests. Our goal is to make everybody who visits feel especially welcome so they walk away with a great feeling about our McLaren Vale wine region and us. The wine is also a big part of this and we'll invest to make sure we have the best wines we can possibly produce. You are welcome back anytime.

Cheers

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendliness Plus”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great location overlooking McLaren Vale vineyards. Staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. Black Sheep Club is fantastic - dinners, tastings and surprise mail outs for members. A great experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarleneWL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6372, Owner at Hugh Hamilton Wines, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Darlene, you're 'gold'! Many thanks for your review.

Cheers

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Black Sheep, Hamilton wine-Nice Cellar Door”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Black Sheep, Hamilton wine

-It was a lovely place the Cellar Door is unique-go to see- and what an approach

enjoy

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank heydd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6372, Owner at Hugh Hamilton Wines, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hey heydd55,

It's a long journey to McLaren Vale from where you live. Thanks for landing on us. I'm pleased you had a fun time. Next time Down-under.......???

Cheers

Hugh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hugh Hamilton Wines also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Hugh Hamilton Wines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing