We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around McLaren Vale
from $55.00
More Info
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
54
16
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
16
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cellar door would recommend a visit high standard friendly service beautiful setting my partner cheese platter wedding annabelle winery wines host tasting list sa range counter
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 73 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed our tasting at Paxton. The lady host was very friendly and took the time to suggest wines that we'd like and explain the history of the vineyards. Loved our time here and would highly recommend a visit.

Thank traveller444444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

we had awesome experience at Paxton Wines. Host were amazing.. they guide us and explained to us about different types of wines etc. Our Easter day didn't start well as we went to different wineries and we got cold shoulders. And Paxton wines was the last to visit after which we decided to go back..
But host Annabel was a amazing lady.. I loved the way she took care of our entire families and there was Karen with family. She was off duty but she caring and took care of us.. It was like a family reunion with Karen family, Annabel and her husband and Scott. We felt like home. Now they have become our extended families.....
We would like to visit more often with our friends.
Lastly Thank you Annabel and Rory, Karen and family and Scott. Love you all.. God bless

1  Thank Bez_bugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Was there on Easter Sunday to show off some SA wineries to my sister from Melbourne. After having two not so very encouraging encounters with two wineries, we happened to drive into the Paxton winery as a last effort before we returned to the city. The staff at the counters were genuinely welcoming and took time to explain the wines and also give us information on their company and wines.
We were made to feel welcome and enjoyed the rest of our day basking in the lovely sun and munching on a selected platter. The staff were attentive, courteous and friendly without being intrusive. We walked away making some good friends.
Recommend Paxton winery for a relaxed day out with the family. Thank you Annabel and Karen! Keep up the good work.

1  Thank IceCandy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

I usually do not write TripAdvisor reviews (this is my first), but Paxton winery has done this to me! We held a hens wine tour here as our first stop, and if anyone has attempted to plan a hens wine tour, you would know how difficult it is to find any place that would accept large groups or groups for a hens in particular altogether.

These incredible guys not only allowed us to use their space free of charge (allowed us to bring our own food - I know, we're horrible), they were the kindest, sweetest, most charismatic women serving us on the day! They also gave us plates, glasses and let us borrow all kinds of stationary we were audacious enough to ask for!

I honestly feel bad that we are all lightweights and only purchased 3 bottles :(. But, this place has made a great impression on me! Will be buying your wine and dropping buy whenever I'm in McLaren Vale. We all had a wonderful time because of u and appreciate your generous hospitality. Also, love your unique biodynamic farming and what it stands for xx a true gem :) (this review is a little late but I remembered while drinking ur moscato tonight lol)

Thank wilmatran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2018

This winery is quintessential beautiful Australian scenery, architecture, hospitality and wines all in one place. A MUST for any McLaren Vale visit. Pets and kids are fine to bring along and it's a great place to chill out for a picnic as well.

Thank TravelJunky_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018

We were pleasantly impressed with the crew at Paxton's and the wines are of a high standard. Certainly they have taken the time to make your visit welcoming and pleasant. Certainly put these on your must visit Cellar Door list!

Thank SandD4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Went for a visit just with my partner, they had a wedding on and it looked amazing...

Delightful presents as soon as you walk in, lovely staff and great surroundings for a wedding or private function...

Awesome selection of white and red wine, with a hint of Spanish wine variety.

Thank Wade-Tyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

Paxton Wines kicked off our impromptu tour and what a way to start. Beautiful view and gardens set the scene. Sensual whites and vibrants reds provide a range for even the hard to satisfy palates. Welcoming chap was only too happy to please with great product knowledge and friendly service. A must go-to if visiting the area

Thank Hirdy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

We re-visited Paxton Wines recently for a very relaxing afternoon of amazing wine and cheese. Ben Paxton was very friendly and guided us through a tasting of their wines. After tasting we were able to sit out side the cellar door in the garden and enjoy a bottle with a cheese platter we were able to make up on site.

The grounds are very picturesque so don't forget your camera! The property is heritage listed so worth looking around.

Find a designated driver because these wines will have you wanting more.

1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017

The wines are super and easy drinking. The service was good and friendly. The setting of Paxton also great

Thank Wildewillsy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews