We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love a good outdoor venue”

Red Poles Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 57 Restaurants in McLaren Vale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the middle of a vineyard and on the tourist drive Red Poles is the ideal location to spend a casual lunch, a lazy afternoon or a short holiday. Red Poles café/restaurant/gallery/B&B – perfect wedding/function venue in McLaren Vale - “the fine mix of food, wine and art”.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love a good outdoor venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Our first impression was ruined a bit by disorganised staff and to be honest we almost walked out due to lack of service. It did get better and it was worth the wait for the food, if was delicious and a great use of different ingredients.

The singer was excellent but he was from Victoria. Why can't we support our local talent instead?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Expectsgoodservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melina A, Manager at Red Poles Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
On behalf of my team and I, apologies for the not so smooth start. Delighted the food was worth the wait and service panned out well in the end. Sunday Funday's sure can get hectic!
We appreciate the feed back and will be addressing said situation as mentioned. First impressions do last so as to ensure all guests on arrival, are greeted / welcomed promptly and of course friendly, a host shall be nominated @ the beginning of shift.
In regards to our musicians, most of our regular musicians are local, our man from Melbourne whom played on Sunday, Nigel Wearne, was a special treat if you will as he has wanted to play at our venue for a while. So we had a spare slot an popped him in. We are always open / happy for any new musicians to drop in a demo or email a link. Once again thank you for the feedback and hope to see you another time. We have live Music every Sunday from 12:30 onwards.

Kind regards

Melina Anderson
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    43
    17
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vegan-friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Rang ahead to arrange vegan meals for my husband and me. Delighted with a really interesting plate with a great combination of textures and flavours including amazing lavender caviar. Very pleasant setting, good service and felt it was good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Astra-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great spot to catch up with friends, enjoy the outdoor garden in any season, listen to live music and sample fabulous food and wine. Always a special day

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

No better atmosphere than being outside on a nice day in this beautiful natural setting drinking McLaren Vale wines.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travels2010C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Relaxed atmosphere with professional service and top class wines.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

A wonderful relaxing setting, fabulous wine menu, professional friendly staff..... I always enjoy my day at red poles.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraTimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Poles Restaurant also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Red Poles Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing