We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service”

Ekhidna Wines McLaren Vale Cellar Door
Ranked #12 of 56 Restaurants in McLaren Vale
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Ekhidna Wines Restaurant offers one of the most picturesque dining experiences on the Fleurieu Peninsula. Conceived by Chef Cameron Clarke the Ekhidna Wines Restaurant menu showcases the best of locally-sourced produce and imported international ingredients.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Dropped into busy place, yet were offered table and quick snack menu. Warm service, great food, even better wine. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tompiotrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    76
    20
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Level Contributor
123 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The staff make it”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The entire experience here was excellent. From making a reservation to paying was done well. The staff make this place, they couldn't be more accommodating and friendly.
Asking us where we wanted to be seated, saving a table outside when one became available.
We did a tasting first, the staff knew all about the wines and what foods they went with.
Then completed a beer tasting before lunch.
We ordered a few different dishes to share at lunch, this wasn't a problem.
The food all came out quickly, perfectly spaced and was excellent.
Most def go back .... up there with the other better restaurants around the region.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whatithink2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had lunch here and will definitely return the next time we visit South Australia. The staff were genuine, relaxed and friendly. It has a fun and unpretentious atmosphere and the food was wonderful, as was the wine. I love the logo and how the name came to be - it's on their T-shirts :0)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HellsBells747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Another fabulous meal at this friendly, happy atmospheric restaurant among the vineyards of McLaren Vale”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We came with friends to celebrate our birthdays and Xmas. A new menu plus daily kitchen specials menu were a wonderful upgrade to the menu from last visit, and there were also more vegetarian options that sounded very tasty. They were very busy as always, but service was brilliant and our entrees of smoked salmon avocado and tomato salad, feta tomato and grilled zucchini tart and dips were served without delay. Entrees were all tasty and absolutely delicious.
Mains arrived after a little wait as we had another serve of pita bread to finish off the dips. However the wait was worth it as three of us thoroughly enjoyed the baked flathead salad which was stunning. The other main, the steak was not so good, served cool and slightly tough. A side of potatoes were delicious as usual. We decided to try the desserts after seeing the menu, and as this has never been an Ekhidna strong point, we were keen to try the new desserts. Both were a real hit and a wonderful end to the meal.
Once again a pure taste delight and we highly recommend it for lunch or dinner.
Well done Nathan, Matt and Sweetie (Ali).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Davwend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Incredibly accommodating, great food as always”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I decided to return to the Ekhidna Kitchen, this time taking my family (visiting from NZ) as we were visiting McLaren Vale. I had mentioned to my family (and TripAdvisor!) how much I enjoyed the food and the beer so I was ever so pleased that the Ekhidna kitchen and its staff came through once again!

The service was warm and friendly, the food was excellent and the beer was, as ever, marvellous. I love the smooth flavours of the dark, the light zinginess of the 50/50 (wheat/ginger), and the deceptive strength of the IPA.

Ekhidna kitchen was also very accommodating of the two very small children we brought along, providing high chairsat the table and extra space around us for the stroller, bags, capsules etc. that comes with travelling with kids!

The daily specials were just that, and the marinated olives, fantastic.

I can't recommend this place highly enough. And best of all it's just down the road from Maximus wines and Foggo wines both also worth a visit. Oh, and so is the Samuel's Gorge vineyard, Awesome views, great wine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StevenandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ekhidna Wines McLaren Vale Cellar Door also viewed

McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
McLaren Vale, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Ekhidna Wines McLaren Vale Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing