We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love this little cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLaren Vale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peppermint Farm Cottage
Ranked #5 of 17 McLaren Vale B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 17, 2014

have been looking for an opportunity to return to Peppermint Farm Cottage since our visit in 2011/12 - lovely hospitality, very comfortable beds, cosy fire, really well serviced and stocked - peaceful surrounds and an offer of a lift to and from lunch.
I will always highly recommend this gorgeous workman's cottage for a great experience in the McLarenvale region

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hopper58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Peppermint Farm Cottage
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was our second visit to Peppermint Farm Cottage, we were very impressed once again with the kind attention by our host Paul. The fire warming the rooms for our late arrival was very much appreciated. We also enjoyed the complimentary wine with our cheese, before hitting the sack. The beds are very comfy, as are all the little touches that made our stay very pleasurable. A great stock of breakkie provisions in the fridge and a top up of firewood, for the next night. The location is perfect, we are so impressed with the quality of the fare on offer in the MacLaren Vale region. We will be back, thankyou.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at Peppermint Farm for two nights, mid March. From the moment we arrived I knew we had made the right decision to stay here for our wedding. The cottage has been beautifully restored with appropriate interior decor and antique furniture for it's era. It is clean, comfortable and warm and provisions are well stocked. We were delighted to see not only a great selection for breakfast and it was very well stocked but also chocolates and wine! What a beautiful place to wake up to in the morning, gorgeous sunrise, magpies and of course we made an incredible breakfast. Clean, bright and airy. I cannot recommend Paul enough to deal with, very easy. We will stay here next time we are in Mac Vale and will certainly be recommending PF to anyone we speak with.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at Peppermint Farm Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Thank you so much for your review Sally. We were just happy that your big day was a success and that your accommodation was one less thing to worry about. We hope you are able to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were impressed . The cottage is bordered by a bush creek , grapevines and a huge pepper tree which all help give the perception of isolation. The cottage facilities were 1st class and there were all the cooking, cleaning, washing,and ironing equipment that may be required. The dishwasher was an unexpected luxury . The breakfast provisions were extensive and much appreciated. Paul has provided a table of information brochures and discount vouchers to help inform you of what is in the area. There are many wineries, restaurants , boutique brewery's , and local produce outlets within 5 minute drive. Mclaren Vale has a large Coles supermarket and there are several banks and ATM's. On weekends there are local farmer markets in McLaren Vale and Willunga.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights in late November and loved our stay!

The cottage is beautifully restored and as you can see from the photos on their website is surrounded by vineyards and bush. Being an old restored cottage if you are tall you may need to duck through the doorways, but it is well worth it to enjoy the cottage charm.

The pin code entry was excellent as we arrived late at night after a long day at a friends wedding and didn't have to worry about a key.

My wife and I enjoyed the sausages, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and hash browns for breakfast both mornings, with plenty of pans to cook it all with and an excellent gas stove top to do so on or there is also a BBQ out the back if you prefer.

The bed was very comfy and there were plenty of pillows. We loved the cupboard in the room and the sideboard next to the stove in the kitchen and felt they were a perfect fit for the cottage.

We enjoyed a glass of the complementary wine while reading at the table and chairs out the back overlooking the creek and the bush, before heading in to the comfy lounge as the wind picked up.

Couldn't think of a better place to stay in McLaren Vale if B&B Cottages are your thing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

So impressed by Peppermint Farm Cottage. We were met by Paul and his wife who gave us a run down of the cottage's history and what to do and see while we were there.
The cottage is decorated with antiqe furniture and housewares and it is very spacious. The bathroom is very modern.
The kitchen was VERY well stocked with breakfast items (bacon, eggs, sausages, bread, cereal, milk, juice, tea/coffee, tomatoes and mushrooms), and all the appliances and kitchen wares we could have needed.
There is a little back area with a table setting and bbq which was perfect for breakfast in the sun!
Great selection of information about all the wineries to visit and Paul gave us some personal tips about where to go.
Also in a great postition close to a number of cellar doors and places to eat.
If anything, the place could have used a quick vaccuum but otherwise we couldn't have asked for a better weekends accommodation- absolutely perfect for a weekend away!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent three nights at Peppermint Farm Cottage with another couple and had a very enjoyable stay. The cottage has been renovated in the country style which appears appropriate for its heritage. Paul gave us a very warm welcome and thoughtfully checked once during the weekend whether we needed anything to assist our stay and offered to change our towels, which was a very nice touch for a self-contained property.

The breakfast provisions were very generous.

I was curious about the review I read that was written in May and the comments about a few bugs. I think the reviewer was unfair. McClaren Vale is the countryside and beautiful, especially in the springtime. Forget about the odd little slow moving creature and just enjoy the quiet countryside, singing birds and the surrounding vines. Go for a walk or run along the nearby Shiraz Trail that passes between the vines, or just enjoy a drive to the various vineyards and restaurants in the area.

We all had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgsnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W, Owner at Peppermint Farm Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. We greatly appreciate you taking time to share your experience so that others can make informed decisions about where to stay.

I must admit that every time we receive a review alert, I hold my breath hoping that we have not overlooked something that has spoiled a guest experience. We do try very hard to anticipate our guests needs and we encourage everyone to contact us straight away if there is any sort of problem rather than waiting to post it on Tripadvisor.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLaren Vale
1.4 mi away
Serafino McLaren Vale
Serafino McLaren Vale
#2 of 2 in McLaren Vale
192 reviews
7.5 mi away
COAST Motel and Apartments
COAST Motel and Apartments
#1 of 1 in Port Noarlunga
84 reviews
3.6 mi away
Karawatha Cottages
Karawatha Cottages
#3 of 17 in McLaren Vale
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments
3.3 mi away
The Vintage
The Vintage
#9 of 17 in McLaren Vale
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppermint Farm Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermint Farm Cottage

Address: 148 Strout Rd, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > McLaren Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in McLaren Vale
Price Range: $191 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Peppermint Farm Cottage self contained bed and breakfast accommodation in McLaren Vale for two to four guests. Children are most welcome. Sorry, no pets. Peppermint Farm Cottage is a local heritage listed pug building. The original mud walls were built in 1853. This historic building was lovingly restored in 2009 and now combines rustic charm with modern luxury. Located just 3 km from the McLaren Vale township, the Cottage is within a few kilometres of some of the regions best wineries and restaurants. Enjoy a romantic experience surrounded by vineyards and overlooking the Turra Parri Creek. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing