We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility amongst the Vineyards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amande Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 17 McLaren Vale B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Found this charming Bed & Breakfast, nestled in the heart of the McLaren Vale vineyards, just by chance. What a wonderful find! Despite my wife falling sick and just wanting to lie around for a couple of days, the new pool provided a wonderful diversion. The hosts are charming and the fresh bread delivery by one if their young children each morning is just sweat. Breakfast supplies, for self-preparation in you own kitchenette, was frankly overwhelming in its generosity, especially with a wife just nibbling at her food! Just two, independent rooms, make this a quiet and restful place to stop. The wine on all sides make this area a gourmands delight.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdbermorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 48 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

We loved our weekend at Amande. Mike and Donna are lovely people and we felt very welcome. Their recommendations were spot on, and this part of South Australia is just wonderful: try Coriole, Woodstock, and D'Arenberg wineries - only a few of the many gorgeous cellar doors in the area.
We stayed in Lavender which was very peaceful. The room was very nice with pretty furnishings and it had everything we needed. The breakfast provisions were generous and of high quality. Unlike other B&B's that are part of family properties, Amande has its own guest carport away from the main house so we never felt we were bothering anyone. Though we didn't use the tennis court and swimming pool available on the property, these looked very attractive! When our car broke down and we couldn't get a cab back after dinner, Mike even got out of bed to give us a lift and couldn't have been nicer about it.
We can't speak more highly of Amande. Thanks again Mike and Donna, hope you have a great summer season in beautiful McLaren Vale. Wish I were coming back already.

Room Tip: Both cottages are very nice, but the hens like to hang out outside Lavender just in case you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay and visit the vineyards of McLaren Vale!
We stayed for 3 nights in 'Absinthe' cottage. Everything is done to a very high standard...the furnishings, very comfortable bed and plenty of breakfast provisions...sausages, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms etc and a freshly baked loaf every morning!! Even a little patio to sit on and look at the vineyards, whilst you eat. Donna and Mike are lovely people and very helpful with suggestions on where to eat and which vineyards to visit. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

From first contact via phone with helpful hints on the unique one way freeway to the wave goodbye from a family who made everything easy, comfortable and non-intrusive..we enjoyed! The drive in via the vineyards set a peaceful scene and the only stress was deciding who cooked the offerings in the well stocked fridge and who poured the glass of port on the verhanda. Although the adjoining cottage was also booked we weren't really aware of our neighbours and Lavendar cottage certainly seemed private. Cosy, clean...thoughtful. Lots to do, or you can just sit and think. Need a car. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank changling61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maddogadelaide, Owner at Amande Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thanks so much for your kind words. We loved meeting you and having you share our wonderful part of the world. We are so happy that you enjoyed our recommendations. We look forward to seeing you again especially once the pool in complete. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

After looking at every bed and breakfast in the area we crossed our fingers and booked this one. We were so happy we did! We enjoyed perfect service from the time we booked until the we reluctantly departed. We booked both cottages to stay with another couple when we attended a wedding nearby and they were both equally charming. The furnishings were lovely and the beds were so comfortable, we slept like logs! Upon arrival, Donna was extremely helpful with suggestions for places nearby to have a quick lunch before the wedding. We returned from our wedding to find a lovely bottle of port and chocolates and a fridge full of provisions for breakfast, including freshly baked bread. We rose the next morning and barbequed our breakfast in the gardens and ate in the beautiful courtyard with our companions. I would definitely recommend booking at Amande, you won't be dissappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We arrived really late and found everything prepared for us by the owners. Our room was very cosy and clean, and I've immediately checked out the fridge to find it full of goodies for our breakfast next day! The only minor disturbance was the fact that there was no door between the room and the bathroom.
In the morning we had time to explore small but beautiful garden, while our bacon and eggs were sizzling in the pan. We had breakfast on the little patio under the vines, and it was a total bliss (sausages are absolutely a must)! We had to leave soon after, and really regretted that we can't spend more time in this peaceful and relaxing place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

As a fairly frequent visitor to the McLaren Vale region I've stayed in a number of the local B&B's now, and am happy to say that Amande is the pick of the bunch to date.

I stayed here for one night while in the region for work and really can't criticize anything.

I was met by the lovely and cheery owner Donna and given a quick run down of the unit I was staying in. While I had no cause to call upon her help, I have no doubt that nothing would have been too much trouble

The B&B is a little way out of town, and nestled right in the middle of acres and acres of vineyards, which quite frankly I loved.

Breakfast provisions were plentiful and fresh baked bread on my doorstep at dawn a really nice touch

I'm already planning a return visit with my partner in the not-too-distant future

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozvpm_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLaren Vale hotels
2.1 mi away
Serafino McLaren Vale
Serafino McLaren Vale
#2 of 2 in McLaren Vale
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Vintage
The Vintage
#10 of 17 in McLaren Vale
46 reviews
4.8 mi away
Karawatha Cottages
Karawatha Cottages
#3 of 17 in McLaren Vale
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Vales Bed & Breakfast
Southern Vales Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 17 in McLaren Vale
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amande Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amande Bed & Breakfast

Address: 293 California Rd, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > McLaren Vale
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in McLaren Vale
Price Range: $121 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amande Bed & Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Amande Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing