We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very very comfortable”
Review of 3 Divas B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
3 Divas B & B
Ranked #4 of 17 McLaren Vale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very very very comfortable”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed in the Teresa and were very comfortable. The cottage is full of old "stuff" giving it a very homely feel.

The weather wasn't great but inside was wam and cosy. There's a bench out the front of the cottage that's perfect for watching the sunset.

Dee and Greg were great hosts, happy to help with anything. The breakfast foods Dee provided were ample for two people.

Here's nice touch - they provide good quality soft toilet paper and tissues and decent sized bath towels. That seems like a small thing, but gives the impression that Dee and Greg actually thought hard about their guests comfort.

The property's off the main street of McLaren Vale so it's quiet at night - but not too far to walk into town down a couple of well lit streets for dinner or shops.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scoobyshunnybuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    14
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed at the Marlene 2 bedroom cabin. Very clean, extremely comfortable, lovely and warm with gas fire and air-con and great view over vineyards. Walking distance to restaurants and cellar doors. Greg and Dee were delightful, helpful, knowlegable people. The wine tour was fabulous, best we've done. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LauraP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We are not 'Wine' aficionados' Like some, but we thoroughly enjoyed or stay in the Marlene.
This is a 2 story cottage with all the amenities, and we loved it. Great sunset and great sunrise from the upper deck. The spa tub was a treat. Local knowledge of wines and foods was outstanding.
Dee and Greg were very down-to-earth and most hospitable to the point of going to extra trouble to make us comfortable. Well done guys.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro33029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed in the Teresa, and I think some of the glowing reviews here are about the Dalney, which looks much classier in photos. There's nothing major wrong with the Teresa, but I was a bit underwhelmed by the accommodation.

The Teresa is a very old cottage and therefore has some drawbacks straight away - thick walls and tiny windows and no views. The kitchen is narrow, pokey and dark. There's only a curtain separating the bedroom from the bathroom - surely an actual door could be added. Ther's no heating or exhaust fan in the bathroom either.

The fridge had no shelving attached inside the door, so there was nowhere to stand up tall bottles. There was no milk provided when we arrived - luckily I had some with me for an afternoon cup of tea. The breakfast provisions were brought over later - it's better when they are already in the cottage when people arrive, I think.

The bed was comfortable and we slept well. As I said, there's nothing major wrong, but it just wasn't as nice as other places we stayed for the same cost on our holiday. It also isn't really within walking distance of restaurants - unless you like to walk a long way.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank OceanSkyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3divas, Owner at 3 Divas B & B, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay in The Teresa cottage. I am sorry that the cottage was not to your liking. Of the 17 reviews we have with Trip Advisor 6 refer very favourably to The Teresa cottage which is our oldest and smallest heritage cottage.

The Teresa is an 1850s renovated stone cottage exactly as described on our website and in our brochures. It was built by the early pioneer William Caffrey of whom the street we live in is named. Of course it will have thick stone walls and small windows - all of which add to the charm of the cottage. Our website provides ample photographs with a link to Facebook where more photos are available so anyone visiting will know exactly what to expect.

We are a five minute walk to The Barn, Oscars, El Torro Restaurant, McLaren Vale Hotel which are on the Main Road of McLaren Vale approximately 750 metres from our door, as we describe in all of our literature. I would consider this an easy walk.

The Teresa has reverse cycle airconditioning as well as a lovely open wood fire which sufficiently heats the whole of the buiding including the bathroom which is an ensuite attached to the bedroom. Our fridge has removable shelves which are easily adjusted to suit all size containers and bottles.

The views from outside across the olive groves and adjoining vineyard property are outstanding and our location - being close to all amenities is very often complimented in previous reviews.

Our small cottage was obviously not to your liking, but I would imagine that if research had been more thoroughly done that either The Dalney or The Marlene cottage would have better suited your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon in January 2011 and loved the cabin / villa which was two floor with all the amenities you could want plus a bottle of wine from the owners! Booked a tour of the wineries and everyone was very hospitable. Location is quiet and also a few km from the beach!! Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tchuliks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My partner and I went here for a holiday getaway and wine tasting and had an absolutely wonderful time. The owners were so welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the old cottage and it was darling! So quaint and comfortable, but luxurious at the same time. I don't think I've slept that hard in ages. The breakfast was delicious and the cottage was within walking distance of the little town so we could go to some of the restaurants. The pictures do not do this place justice as the view of the neighboring vineyard was gorgeous and the cottage is very romantic with its breakfast nook, garden, and fireplace. We also decided to do their private wine tour in their Mercedes-Benz town car and it was great. Jo our driver was knowledgeable about the area and delightful. We were also able to take advantage of not being with a big group and were really able to see some out of the way wineries and taste a wide variety of wines. For international travelers looking for a unique wine experience, McClaran Vale is a little gem and much less pretentious than its Californian and European counterparts. The wines are very high quality, but much less expensive and a majority of the places do not charge tasting fees.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBL93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2011

My Partner and I made our first trip to McLaren Vale and were referred to 3 Diva's by a local vineyard that we came to visit. The recommendation was spot on. The cottage we stayed in was very comfortable and well appointed. The place felt very comfortable and was within easy walking distance to local restaurants and places of interest. We also went on a wine tour with the owners and it was clear that they knew everybody that was anybody in the area which provided a unique opportunity to taste some amazing wine and local food. We got engaged during our stay and can't wait to get back to celebrate again in a 3 Diva's Cottage and with Dee and Greg.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davekrug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McLaren Vale hotels
1.4 mi away
Serafino McLaren Vale
Serafino McLaren Vale
#2 of 2 in McLaren Vale
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wine and Roses Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Karawatha Cottages
Karawatha Cottages
#3 of 17 in McLaren Vale
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Vintage
The Vintage
#9 of 17 in McLaren Vale
46 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amande Bed & Breakfast
Amande Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 17 in McLaren Vale
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Divas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Divas B & B

Property: 3 Divas B & B
Address: 42 Caffrey St, McLaren Vale, South Australia 5171, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > McLaren Vale
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in McLaren Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 3 Divas B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 luxurious and private self contained cottages in the heart of McLaren Vale within walking distance to shops, cellar doors and restaurants. Features include two person spa baths, open fires, alfresco dining, luxury bedrooms with quality linen and towels, gourmet breakfast baskets, complimentary wine, port and toiletries. The owners also operate a luxury chauffeur limousine and wine tour business for the region. Airport transfers are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your 3 Divas B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing