We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hawker Hotel

Hawker Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawker Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawker
Guernsey
Level Contributor
188 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The motel is the usual strip of rooms with car parking outside, but the rooms are rather dated, although adequate. Our bathroom should certainly have been upgraded some time ago! We did not attempt the bar or dining room but had brought food. Sadly the Old Ghan restaurant was closed for the evening we were there. But the place is handy if you are driving towards Wilpena. The Teague Museum is worth a visit. The roads around here are excellent, and have little traffic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawnturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    16
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

An interesting outback Flinders Ranges pub in Hawker SA. Has a dining rooom and meals are also served in the Lounge Bar. Friendly staff assist with great beer and a good wine list. The food is substantial and well presented with a very good menu selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fae E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hetauda, Nepal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Best thing about this hotel is its convenient location. We stayed here on our way to a hike at St Mary's peak at the Flinder's range. The hotel is average at best but one couldn't complain much given the fact that Hawker is the closest town from Wilpena pound thus making it an ideal stopover point and only 2-3 hotels could be found on this isolation. The hotel is just worth what one pays. Did not eat here so can not comment about food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pramod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed in what I think is the newer section of the Hawker Hotel Motel. The hotel itself is an historic typical outback style hotel, probably built 100 years ago, but the motel units are quite modern. They are spacious and with all the facilities a traveller needs. Meals in the hotel were a bit average, but considering the isolation of the town/village, one couldn't be too fussy. The managers were quite hospitable. There is Wi-fi, but it isn't free - it was part of the NomadNet set-up, which quite a few country motels seem to use. It's probably worth three and a half stars, since I really couldn't find any serious fault with it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryb35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blinman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just letting everyone know that the Hawker Hotel will be under new management from the start of September 2012. After reading reviews it needs to be pointed out that new managers have had over 26 years experience in the area and are raring to go. New menu, bar staff and an all round positive attitude will make for a great stay next time you choose to stay at the Hawker Hotel.
Hope to see you there !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the hotel for a meal but found the front bar and dining areas very busy. We were there on April 24 and were informed that there was a coach booked into the dining room and that we would be able to get a meal as soon as the coach was catered for. The owners were friendly and apologised for any delay.
We stayed for a couple of drinks and offered to come back the following night. This we did and the management remembered us. We had the most delightful meal and enjoyed a complimentary drink with it.
Perhaps the negative reviews have a lot to do with attitude?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

This is a old style hotel witha row of motel units alongside.
A bit of a mix up with our booking but this was quickly sorted out.

Our room (9) was clean and tidy with parking outside the door.
We had a bit of a chuckle over the monster 14' TV but it did work o.k.
The room was a good size with a very comfy queen bed so we were able to get a couple of good nights sleep.

We had a great pub meal in the restaurant on both nights and found the food very good and well priced.

I have read other reviews on owner/managers attitude and sensed the same attitude on the first night in restaurant but to be fair he did lighten up quickly and was no problem from then on.
In fact on the second night in the restaurant he was very friendly and chatty.

Hawker is a perfect base to explore the Flinders Ranges and we visited Wilpenna Pound, Blinmann,Parachilna,Wilson Ruins and Kanyaka Ruins during our short stay.

We would stay at Hawker hotel/motel again as it offers good basic accommodation at fair price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevorb2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawker
19.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
398 reviews
19.2 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
1.5 mi away
Windana Cottages
Windana Cottages
#1 of 3 in Hawker
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edeowie Station
Edeowie Station
#7 of 9 in Hawker
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawker Hotel

Property: Hawker Hotel
Address: 80 Elder Terrace, Hawker, South Australia 5432, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Hawker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hawker
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Hawker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawker Hotel South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing