We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super caravan park at the doorstep to the Flinders”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived Dec 1., 2013 at the caravan park and found the staff extremely friendly and helpful. We came off season and could choose freely which site, we found most suitable for the motorhome. The site was very big and shady. The weather was very hot, so the pool was perfect for us and our two boys. Large camp kitchen building and the amenities block was very clean.
No mobile coverage and very silent - the nature here is incredible and you really feel the greatness of this beautiful country. We did a ½ day 4WD tour in the Flinders with Tim as driver and that was the best spent money throughout our 5 week vacation. Both the park and tour are absolutely recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 277 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

Having visited the park numerous times in my youth it was great to at last be able to bring the family up for a week.
Camping on the bush site, with uninterrupted views of Rawnsleys Bluff, we had a fantastic stay, the kids were always busy exploring, bike riding or walking along the numerous trials.
Nice warms days to get out and about (central location to explore the numerous gorges and national parks) followed up by cooler nights, ensured relaxed evenings around the camp fire to help the feet recover from a days walking.
The amenities are great, nice, clean and modern. The shop is well equipped and all of the staff's knowledge of the local area and greater Flinders is amazing.
Star gazing from the airstrip at night is a must, as is a session of sheep shearing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turnouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed in a tent site for a couple of nights leading up to the holidays while we did some hiking and 4WD touring. Great spot, one of the nicest caravan parks we've been too. Amenities and camp kitchen were clean and tidy far beyond any of our expectations - we will now judge all other parks by their standard! Also had Telstra service in the camp kitchen - great bonus as the whole area is virtually a mobile phone dead zone.

The shop is very reasonably priced, don't worry about being ripped off if you forgot some essentials or need to top up on fuel.

Friendly and helpful staff, willing to recommend activities and inquire around the area if needed. Deb is lovely.

Highly recommend this park...we took a drive through several other options in the area and we didn't regret our choice.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CGangl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Had a lovely stay at Rawnsley with great facilities ... Camp Kitchen was an immaculate place to cook a meal and have a chat with other travellers. Toilet/showers again immaculately clean and wonderful hot showers - very much needed after a big day out exploring !! The shop had everything, including a tomato we needed for our toasties !! Don't miss a visit to nearby Sacred Canyon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed in a cabin on the edge of the camping park as a YHA hostal booking. I don't understand how the same cabins can booked privately or through the YHA but that seems to be how it works.
The cabin was spacious for two of us - we booked it as a double - but would have been cramped if all 6 beds had been in use as a dorm. The cabin had a kitchenette and a TV. The toilets and showers are shared with the campers but were never busy and always had hot water. There is also a large common cooking room. The cabins are set on the edge of the bush and parrots, emus and other bird life abound.

Room Tip: Some cabins (lower numbers I think) are better situated, being right on the edge of the bush.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We went to Rawnsley Park for the first night of our stay to check out the area and ended up staying 5 nights. It was a very well presented property, a little dusty but that is to be expected when you are staying in the bush. Amenities were always clean and the camp kitchen was great. The only draw back was that there was no internet or phone coverage for 4 of the 5 days we were there. The staff were helpful with tours and information, arranging for us to go to Arkaroola and do the Ridge Tour. We booked a fly over Wilpena via the office and this tour was excellent. We also did the sunset tour but were a bit disappointed in this as we did not actually get to see the sunset as it was behind a ridge. But overall a great place to base yourselves to see the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spent two nights atRawnsley Park Station caravan Park. The setting wasless formal than a normal park and in keeping with the surroundings and the facilities were very modern and clean. Most necessities were available at the caravan park store at easonable prices. view from our site to the southern wall of Wilpena Pound were stunning. This station also offers a variety of accommodation and a restaurant. Many lovely walks in the immediate region and flights over the Pound are also available. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawker
0.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
420 reviews
8.0 mi away
Wilpena Pound Resort
Wilpena Pound Resort
#1 of 1 in Flinders Ranges National Park
535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edeowie Station
Edeowie Station
#9 of 9 in Hawker
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Arkaba
Arkaba
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
69 reviews
19.8 mi away
Windana Cottages
Windana Cottages
#2 of 3 in Hawker
15 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hawker Hotel
Hawker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hawker
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park

Address: Wilpena Rd, Hawker, South Australia 5434, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Hawker
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hawker
Price Range: $117 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 30000 acre sheep station just below the spectacular Wilpena Pound. Rawnsley Park Caravan Park offers a unique accommodated or camping experience that will not be forgotten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park Hawker, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing