We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Park, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here over the xmas break for a few days after reading other reviews and we were not disappointed. The park is at the base of the Rawnsley Bluff which walked one day. If you are thinking of doing this walk I would suggested you have a very good level of fitness as parts of the walk are extremely difficult going up and coming back down. The walk took us a good 4 1/2 hours to complete (including Wilpena Pound lookout) and we have a good level of fitness but the view when you get to the top is amazing. The camp kitchen is excellent and the pool was a godsend at the end of a days walking. We also did a drive through the ranges which I would highly recommend. At xmas time the park is very quiet but we liked that and it can get hot. Sunrise at the park is beautiful. Highly recommend this park over others in area, less commercialised.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melbourneites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 282 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very friendly,very clean caravan park.
Great facilities included a very equipped kitchen , the showers and toilets bunk are spotless and clean every morning .
Also you get a fantastic view of wilpena pound.
We preferred this place than the wilpena pound resort as it is less busy with overseas tourist .
The owner showed us around and told us the best place to go with our 4wd ,and where to go to get the best sunset views.
We did both walks to the wilpena pound summit and the loop walk to pine lookout and it was amazing.
Will come and visit again!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Cristiano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I went there as a couple at the beginning of October. The station is in an idyllic location, right under rawnsley bluff of the wilpena pound. We stopped in one of the holiday units, but there's also a tent ground, with tents ready put up, powered and unpowered sites, small bunkers and Eco villas( for the traveller with a bit of spare cash). The unit has everything you need. A good sized double bed, one single, both with fitted heated sheats (which you may need, it gets freezing night). There's air on with heating, good sized storage, a kitchenette with a microwave, oven, hobs, all fully stocked up wi cooking utensils, plates, glasses etc. there's a big fridge freezer, which is a bit noisy at night. You get free tea And coffee. The bathroom is small, with just a shower but perfectly adequate. The bed is comfy, on the hard side, we liked it, but it's a personal preference. It's all very clean and tidy. Each cabin has a seating area outside has there's a few bbqs and campfires about, so you can sit out with a bottle of wine watching the stars by the heat of the fire. There's a woolshed restaurant just down the road and a swimming pool 15 minutes away. The view from anywhere here is just amazing, and it's oly a 10 minute drive to the inside of the point itself. It's worth stopping here instead of the wilpena pounds resort. Absolute gorgeous.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great value for money. Cabins are clean, well equipped and spacious. Great to wake up and look out onto the stunning southern wall of Wipena Pound and to return, after a long day of walking, in the evening to a hot shower, comfy bed and brilliant sunset!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cl3p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in the holiday cabins (not the Eco villas and not the caravan park itself) so I'm not quite sure where to put this review. Rawnsley Park is a nice location for seeing Flinders ranges and the one-bed cabin was perfectly fine, but for the price we paid it was pretty basic and dingy. The electricity was out when we arrived and they decided to keep it off so that they could instead provide power to the (completely empty) restaurant. When we asked if we could at least use the refrigerators in the restaurants for our stuff that had been in the car all afternoon they refused. Just didn't feel very gracious or friendly. If I was going to do it again I would either want to just camp or pay more for the nicer place up the road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CA_Travelers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Great caravan park, recommended by our son's friend who worked there a season.
Beautiful views from the park towards Rawnsley Bluff.
Brand new extra abultion block just opened, extra options from the powered sites are of lots of bush camping sites with no power at $22 p/nt.
Fuel was quite a bit cheaper than Wilpena Pound.
Small shop inside the office with basic supplies plus beer & wine.
Managed to get another tap fitting we had accidently left behind when filling up.
Did the self guided 4x4 tour on their land, took about 4-5 hrs, part is for AWD's and part 4WD's with low range needed for some very steep hill climbs with amazing views. Cost $45.
Great spot to tour the Flinders from.

Room Tip: They also have cabins & eco villas plus a restaurant onsite that also does takeways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JoyMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Fantastic location. We stayed in a camper trailer. Dispite the fact that you camped on pebbles, it was fantastic. The camp kitchen was the best I have seen, with everything you need, including loads of seating a fire and lots of lounges. There are plenty of places to have your own camp fire and is a great park that encourages you to mingle with other people. The staff were fantastic and the location is just great for all the walks and drives in the flinders

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawker
0.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
436 reviews
8 mi away
Wilpena Pound Resort
Wilpena Pound Resort
#1 of 1 in Flinders Ranges National Park
562 reviews
19.8 mi away
Windana Cottages
Windana Cottages
#1 of 3 in Hawker
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Arkaba
Arkaba
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
71 reviews
0 mi away
Edeowie Station
Edeowie Station
#8 of 9 in Hawker
8 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hawker Hotel
Hawker Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hawker
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park

Address: Wilpena Rd, Hawker, South Australia 5434, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Hawker
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hawker
Price Range: $112 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a 30000 acre sheep station just below the spectacular Wilpena Pound. Rawnsley Park Caravan Park offers a unique accommodated or camping experience that will not be forgotten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park Hawker, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing