We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skytrek & Willow Springs Station” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Skytrek & Willow Springs Station

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawker
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skytrek & Willow Springs Station
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Skytrek & Willow Springs Station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We took our relatives to drive this track as they had not done it before. We had done it 4 times and enjoyed every minute of it. The track recently had a part changed and we thought it would have taken away from the original track. How wrong we were. The new track added more excitment and suspense. It is now in our opinion much better that the original track. The scenery is spectacular and now we think also doing the new part is a lot more fun.You do have to have a 4WD to get onto the track or do it with a tour company as an ordinary car would not be able to cope with the tack. Congratulations have to go to Brendan and Carmel owners of Willow Springs Station and the Skytrek for the track and allowing people onto their property to experience this great 4WD track and for making the new track so much better than the original was. Can't wait to return and do it all over again. .

Room Tip: There is a camping ground there on the Willow Springs property and also a farm house with facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This sheep and cattle station is situated 7 km up a dirt road off the main road, through dry river beds and over small hills. We had booked the jackaroo's cottage but apparently there were workmen there, so were put into the main farmhouse, which we had all to ourselves, with its 4 bedrooms, very comfortable sitting and dining rooms and full kitchen. It was delightful, and our hosts gave us lots of useful tips. We cooked for ourselves and ate outside at several sitting/dining areas. We would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawnturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
246 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

5 families made good use of the Shearer's Quarters in our recent visit to Willow Springs. A very well set up facility with all the necessary amenities. A couple of large fridge-freezers, modern oven, gas & wood BBQ's and clean shared bathrooms (with shampoo & soap supplied!). Out the back are great views of the nearby hills from a verandah/deck area - top spot for al fresco dining! Of course, glamping would not be glamping without a good fire: we enjoyed our time sipping wine in front of the flames of our campfire using the top quality wood supplied and replaced daily as part of the tarriff. We stayed 3 nights and used Willow Springs as a base for trips to Parachilna, Blinman, a picnic in Brachina Gorge and a climb of St Mary Peak to burn off some of the calories! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DickyKnees63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Flinders ranges are stunning. Staying at Willow springs surrounded by the Ranges is magnificent. Comfortable accomodation,excellent hosts, beautiful surroundings. Stayed at the Homestead. all comforts provided including wood for the fire inside and wood for the camp fire outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fabulous week here in April 2012 at Grass Wren Campsite. Entire campsite to ourselves, short drive to the homestead for the odd shower. Pity the previous campers had filled the long drop with their rubbish! All tourist attractions within easy reach, sunset at Stokes Hill an absolute must.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
333 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

travelled the Skytrek 4WD track on 09AUG'12 initially through a beautiful river gorge. An instruction sheet pointed out springs, aboriginal carvings, fauna and the operation and history of Willow Springs Station. Followed the drive along the Bunkers to the new section of Skytrek. The new 4WD track was very good and has great potential once it is broken in. Good scenic views, lots of wallabies and emus. A very enjoyable day. Very friendly and helpful folks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great location not far north of Wilpena Pound on the Blinman Road and three kms along the dirt driveway. The management of Willow Springs Station have done a wonderful job of making holidaymakers feel welcomed and valued. We stayed for a few days in the Jackaroo Cottage, small, clean, tidy, with everything you would need and more. All we had to do was provide our own sheets and towels. Everything else was there. A whole barrowful of wood was delivered for the cute fire each day. It was a wonderful starting point, and relaxing in the evenings, for the drives through the gorges and mountains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LeslieFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawker
15.4 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
23.4 mi away
Wilpena Pound Resort
Wilpena Pound Resort
#1 of 1 in Flinders Ranges National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
9.0 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
4.5 mi away
Windana Cottages
Windana Cottages
#1 of 3 in Hawker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skytrek & Willow Springs Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skytrek & Willow Springs Station

Property: Skytrek & Willow Springs Station
Address: Willow Springs Rd | Flinders Ranges National Park, Hawker, South Australia 5434, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Hawker
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Hawker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the experience of a lifetime on your Flinders Ranges adventure come and see Skytrek Willow Springs Station situated 21km north east of Wilpena Pound and right next to Flinders Ranges National Park. We offer accommodation for small or large groups, bush campsites and marked walking trails. We also offer a self guided 4WD track, Skytrek, which is a full day 4WD experience that takes you to the highest accessible point by vehicle in the Flinders Ranges, offering 360 degree panoramic views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skytrek & Willow Springs Station Hawker, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing