We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, extremely spacious”
Review of Hahndorf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hahndorf Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Management now provided by another motel so no on site reception. Keys easy to collect and phone number provided if there was anything we wanted. Room was extremely spacious, with high ceilings. TV was a flat screen but on the small side. Bathroom also very spacious and the shower was great. Right in the middle of Hahndorf so walkable to everywhere. We were only there a night, but were impressed. It's a little tired, but that did not detract overall.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank parnersinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 82 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

A fantastically priced motel in a great location. All the basics and creature comforts you expect. If you're in town with your partner or a group of mates, I highly recommend this establishment. The pubs & restaurants are so conveniently located. Friendly & helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ward1981honda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

On the 8th of June we stayed at Zorros of Hahndorf. We airmed to arrive at the Motel before 5 pm. Sadly that was not possible. We advised reception in a phone conversation that we were arriving late, which was ok. We were told that the door to our room would be open and that the heating would be on, but the she (the voice presumably belonging to the receptionist) would not hang around until 5 pm. Upon arrival the room was open and a swivelling fan heater was on. It was one of these clear sky, but bitterliy cold nights. Entering the room, we thought the heater had just been turned on as there was no difference between inside and outside temperature, however, it became clear pretty soon, that the heating was either faulty or inappropriate. When turning the temperature on the display on the fan heater up to its maximum setting of 21 degrees, it would within minutes return to its default position of 16 degrees. The fan device was obviously designed for airconditioning and not heating. The next morning when I mentioned the freezing cold room to the lady in charge, my comments were brushed of with "oh if people don't tell us how are we meant to know" (not particularly helpful). How can I let anybody know about this situation if nobody is around after 4pm??? So needless to say we spent an extremely cold night in UGG boots and winter jackets in a room with an extremely dated decor and EXTREMELY thin blankets. Checking on my phone, we never had more than 14 degrees in the room. Would the room have been warm, the decor still would have been dated and the blankets still would have been thin, in short, the room might have done in summer, but it certainly was not suitable for winter accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinoGeeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Zorro's is in a great spot in the delightful town of Hahndorf; central but quiet enough as the units are back off the road. This has been a very good motel, but sadly is in need of being refreshed. We stayed in unit 4, the rearmost of the standard units. The room is ok but mattress and sofa are showing their age. The property is in need of some attention all round; nothing major but fixing a few knocks here and there.

On the other hand, the proprietor is welcoming and generous with the free wifi. The property is very central.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apteryx055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We found this place by surpise. Was a nice unti although a little maintenance would not go amiss. The room was clean and tidy comfortable bed. Not so good the sofa was uncomforatble to sit on. Spa bath was very nice. East access to all this lovely town has to offer.

Room Tip: Good Value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

It was a really pleasant suprise. The place is right in the middle of main street, once we parked the car we didn't use it all weekend! The ceilings are very tall and it gives it an amazing feeling of freedom and space. We were in room 8, and even though disappointed that we didn't have a balcony ( as it states on description) it had a lovely gas fire and a bathroom thats bigger then my bedroom!! The spa was deap and comfortable, just perfect to take the stress out of city living. It had a few things that needed fixing but nothing that impacted our stay. I would recommend it for any couple wanting a little 'us' time. We will be back! Thank you for making our weekend special.

Room Tip: Room 8 has no balcony, but you won't need it, you will spend your time in the tub :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The room itself was reasonable. The balcony was dirty and the table and chairs hadn't been cleaned for quite sometime. Also the dead potted plant was uninviting. The service was very poor, we had no bath towels so I went to the service desk which closed at 5.00 pm. There was a bell to press to get some attention after pressing it at least three times in 15 minutes I returned to the room to get my mobile to call the number displayed. I was advised that towels would be brought over straight a way. that was 5.30 pm. At 6.30pm decided to go out for a meal. As we were leaving around 6.45pm the staff brought the towels and was very rude to my wife when my wife said we didn't have towels. The lady said don't need to tell me I already know. Not a place I would recommend or stay there again. Spa bath had not been cleaned from previous say.

Room Tip: My tip to choose a good room is to book in at the Old Mill not Zorros
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clansman5052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahndorf
6.4 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Manna of Hahndorf
The Manna of Hahndorf
#2 of 5 in Hahndorf
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hahndorf Motor Lodge
Hahndorf Motor Lodge
#5 of 5 in Hahndorf
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park
0.2 mi away
Hahndorf Old Mill
Hahndorf Old Mill
#3 of 4 in Hahndorf
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amble at Hahndorf
Amble at Hahndorf
#1 of 4 in Hahndorf
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hahndorf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hahndorf Motel

Address: 60 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5251, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Price Range: $96 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hahndorf Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family oriented business and have many years in the hospitality industry. Our main focus is to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and enjoyable stay. Hahndorf Motel is a lovely rustic Accommodation property in the heart of historic Hahndorf. We have Motel Rooms and Lofts with self-catering facilities for you to choose from so that you make our Motel your little home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hahndorf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zorros Hotel Hahndorf
Hahndorf Motel South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing