We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious little gem ”
Review of The White House

The White House
Ranked #9 of 53 Restaurants in Hahndorf
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious little gem ”
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Having inspected on the web, we decided a personal visit to be in order.. From the friendly welcoming staff, ambience and well executed menu everything was excellent. We had the charcuterie, pesto filled ravioli and the most amazing field mushroom risotto. Not large servings but sufficient for lunch although including a couple of sides would have anyone filled and happy..

Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Warm, cozy, and delicious!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is by far my favourite Adelaide Hills restaurant. I just love the setting - a cozy old cottage with a fireplace. The food is all locally sourced and well prepared. Last time I was there I had a totally to-die-for venison dish and a bottle of Ashton Hills pinot noir - heaven! The service is always friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Great food and personal service.
Been 3 times and food was consistently good. Particular like sitting on veranda and enjoying a nice glass of local wine.
Also tried the winter menu with some great hearty meals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karl U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The fire!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were seated by the fire….so lucky! The ambience, staff and service were great. Came for brunch and the food was delicious! Coffee strong and 'did the job'. Portion size small….the only disappointment.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jebaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne Island, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Birthday Treat”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

My daughters took me to the White House for my 67th birthday and it didnt disappoint. Firstly it was a cold day in Hahndorf so the log fire was a welcome sight. The waitress who looked after us was very friendly & helpful. This a a lovely original old cottage in the main part of Hahndorf that has been turned into a restaurant. I love the way they have kept the separate rooms which makes it more intimate. The food was excellent - loved the ravioli & the duck and the desserts (cream brulee especially) were YUM! Would go there again....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirsty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White House also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing