We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, again!”
Review of The White House

The White House
Ranked #10 of 53 Restaurants in Hahndorf
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent, again!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We attended Circa Contemporary Circus at The White House last night as part of the Fringe Festival. The circus was performed in the garden, which was the perfect setting, such a beautiful garden. The staff were friendly and attentive, and added to the relaxed atmosphere of the night. The wine and beer selection was fantastic as always (although sad there's no more Hahndorf Hills Pinot Grigio). Another great visit to The White House... we'll be back again!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kara2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant in Adelaide”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Situated in the German town of Hahdorf, I went here last night with my cousin Margie, her partner Roxie and Ruth. I had the pork belly with prawns which was delicious but a bit rich. The desert was sublime: mango cheesecake with passionfruit jelly. The service was attentive but a tad slow at times, but overall an excellent restaurant with beautiful food in this lovely part of South Australia.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PAUL F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sensational hills restaurant”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My partner and I chose The White House as our wedding venue in Jan 2013, and we couldn't have been more thrilled with everything they did for us to make our day so memorable and fun! The food was delicious (so many compliments from our guests), the staff were exceptionally attentive and helpful, the garden was beautifully arranged, and there was so much generosity of time and enthusiasm to make our day special... the White House team excelled in every way. Nothing was too much to ask, and even though some staff had been working several hours before our wedding, they were still going until the small hours of the night to ensure we had a brilliant day. To Sophie and Sid (wonderfully warm and creative owners), Annabel (attentive and supportive functions coordinator) and Chris (superstar chef), and the rest of the White House team, we love you to bits and thank you from the bottom of our hearts! xx kara and paul

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kara2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I love this place! It's so quirky and warming. The staff are very friendly and give top service! The food was also very nice! The only downfall I found was the menu is very limited.. But apart from that it is highly recommended! Tip: go check out the secret gardens!! Definitely coming back :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KyrieBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner at the White House”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had dinner recently at the White House restaurant in Hahndorf, and I have to say that I’ve never eaten a better steak. Service was prompt, professional and courteous, the atmosphere informal and charming, and the food was just great. We were entertained by an excellent jazz group playing on the front veranda. All I can say is “Do yourself a favour.”

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sean670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White House also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing