We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but pricey & not worthwhile ”

Hahndorf Hill Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.25*
and up
Historic Small-Group Hahndorf Day Tour from Adelaide
More Info
$860.50*
and up
Private Tour: Barossa Valley Indulgence Day Trip from Adelaide Including Make...
Ranked #3 of 33 things to do in Hahndorf
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

A nice winery in a beautiful setting looking over the valley. However lovely the staff are, they are extremely stingy with their tastings!! I have been to a lot of wineries world over and have never been offered such small tastes, which let's face it hardly let's you experience the wine at all.

We also sat down to do the ChocoVino experience which showcased some interesting wine parings with different styles of boutique chocolate. However, $20 for a single glass of wine and six tiny squares of chocolate is pushing it a bit too far!!

All in all, although the wine is nice it certainly isn't nice enough to warrant their rather arrogant service and exuberant prices.

Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee W, Manager at Hahndorf Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Michael, thank you for visiting our cellar door and admiring our views, but I was sorry to read that you were disappointed by the size of our wine tasting servings and the price of ChocoVino. With regard to the size of the wine tasting servings, we adhere to SA government regulations which require us to pour a specific amount as part of our responsible service of alcohol guidelines and our duty of care to customers. The $20 cost of ChocoVino is actually very good value, because you receive the equivalent of a glass of wine, a bottle of the world's purest water as your palate cleanser, and a selection of world-class gourmet chocolate. Our chocolate is imported from the top chocolate houses of France, Italy, Belgium and Madagascar, and this type of quality product is priced differently to supermarket chocolate. Best wishes, Dee Wright, Cellar Door Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 185 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Visited in early December when the cellardoor was very full with customers. Had to wait for our turn to taste. Was offered water and tasting notes while we waited, which never materialised.

A slightly uncomfortable experience, felt we were rushed through the tasting and the server seemed hostile until we had finished tasting. We intended on purchasing wine, however felt pressured into it by the words that the server used. Although we enjoyed some of the wines, afterwards we wished that we had bought less from there and saved our money for other cellar doors in the area with better wines and better experiences.

Thank Elle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee W, Manager at Hahndorf Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Henry, our cellar door can get extremely busy so I do apologise that this impacted on your tasting experience. I sincerely regret that your visit to us was not fully rewarding. Kind regards Dee Wright, Cellar Door Manager, Hahndorf Hill Winery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We enjoyed a platter of their chocolates and tastings of their great wine both on a cold day sitting inside by a log fire or in Summer sitting on the deck overlooking the vineyards and rolling hills of Hahndorf. Both times we had Overseas guests with us who commented on the unique charm and ambience of the place. The wines are from a more German/South African vine type and appreciated for this difference from some of the more available wines of our region. I would thoroughly recommend a visit to this Winery, pleasant hosts, wine and chocolates, great views !

Thank Clythe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee W, Manager at Hahndorf Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your kind words, it is lovely to know when you have important guests staying with you that you think of Hahndorf Hill Winery to bring them to spend a couple of hours relaxing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My partner and I did the ChocoVino experience - chocolate and wine tasting - in their viewtube room overlooking the vineyards and it was awesome. I wouldn't think to mix chocolate and wine but the blend of chocolate and wine in the mouth was lovely. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable.

Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dee W, Manager at Hahndorf Hill Winery, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for visiting us for our ChocoVino experience, we really enjoy hearing how surprised people are by the wine and chocolates matches. It is great to think outside the square. Now you can try your own matches and be adventurous in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

a lovely place to nibble on food and taste wine. All the good view tables were booked when we arrived so we had to settle for the inside tables. The wines were described by an eloquent and enthusiastic server who explained the variety and its origin with some interesting Austrian varietals. I went for the Chocolate and Wine tasting plate, a very pleasant and different experience.

1  Thank Poonopolous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hahndorf Hill Winery also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Woodside, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to Hahndorf Hill Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing