We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro 25 - CLOSED

Bistro 25
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Intimate,regional and rustic featuring modern Australian Cuisine and refined service
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had dinner at Bistro 25 on Saturday night and the food was superb.

Entrees of Boneless Pork Rib and "Soup of the Moment" (Sweet Potato, Carrot & Apple) were both exceptional dishes - with well balanced flavours. Main courses were similarly well constructed/conceived dishes with great flavour. We shared a desert as there was no more room!
Good wine list, but would love to see even more local Hills wines represented.
Great (local) artwork on the walls and attentive staff.

Overall, a beautiful evening in an intimate hills establishment with heavenly food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidonie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    35
    16
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McLaren Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Winter comfort & Great service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

It was a cold, wet and wintery day when we decided to venture to the Adelaide Hills for lunch. Recommended to us was Bistro 25, located in the centre of Hahndorf. We were welcomed by smiling and friendly staff. The atmosphere was cosy and warm.
I chose the slow cooked lamb on the bone, slow cooked with herbs and wine, and served with new season potatoes with mint and olive oil and a confit of red onions, tomato and pea. It was delicious and perfect to warm you on this dreary day. My husband chose the High Country Pork Loin Cutlet which was chargrilled and served with celeriac and potato purée and a pistachio, bacon and chive stuffed apple topped with a savoury cider jus. Once again the meal could not be faulted. It was a decent sized helping, delivered in a timely fashion by a competent smiling waitress. Our only regret was that we had no room for dessert. We shall definitely be recommending Bistro 25 to all our friends and hopefully visiting again soon!!! What a treat!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great night !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful night on our Hahndorf trip! Wonderful food, ambience, top notch service. Great value. Locally selected wines. Loved it and would definitely return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter24_7_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downunder
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't understand how it can be ranked second???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rude staff, poor service and below average food!!! There are far better establishments in Hahndorf deserving of your money. Avoid like the plague!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryTraveller1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Could be great with a few tweaks...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Sunday breakfast for five people. The good: Coffee, freshness of product, cosy in a winter's morning, pleasant waitresses. The "average": Bacon was 3/4 fat, limited menu if you're allergic to egg, they don't know how to poach an egg, wobbly tables (hate that!) a bit pricey, didn't particularly like eating in what was obviously a converted garage, especially since we booked ahead and the cottage section was largely empty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikelp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 25 also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing