We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Otto's Bakery

Otto's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Hahndorf
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
adelaide, australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband won numerous gold medals in national competitions for his baked goods when we owned a bakery and I think that Otto's beats all of his stuff without question. It is a terrible thing when you want to buy one of everything and so leave feeling slightly disappointed that you believe that you've missed out on something that you know would be great (we still always buy stuff to take home, but there's only so much you can take with you). We go to Otto's every single time we're even slightly in the area but the first time we've reviewed, forget that local people need to review local places! Look forward to our next time there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cassandnigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    74
    24
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Sitting under the oak tree on Ottos Verandah, whilst munching on a delicious Chunky beef pie, or Cornish Pastie, or even a yummy baguette is one of those great pleasures in life not to be missed. Coffee is great too! The girls do a great job and there is always a smile and warm welcome.
I treat myself whenever I visit Hahndorf and never tire of the experience.
Why not try it? Not to be missed!!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ziggieAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A good solid lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

The four of us had lunch at Otto's and sampled pasties, pies, donuts and quiche plus a range of the ubiquitous coffees and tea. Reasonably good value for money when one considers you are in Handoff and everything is at a premium. My only complaint, if you wish to refer to it as such, was that the main food served was only luke warm - not really good enough.

We think that Otto's may be getting to a point, where - like many successful enterprises - they rely on the name. We tried Millie's down the road the next day and found it to be better with more inclusive and personal service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank acmee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing pies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Loved the chunky beef pies- lots of delicious looking pies, cakes and pastries available for choice and from the constant stream of people walking in, it was clearly the choice for a good breakfast or tea. Also tried the vanilla slice but the icing was a little too sweet for my liking. Highly recommend the chunky beef cheese and bacon pie.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZippyBubblenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great coffee & great pies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Came to Hahndorf 2 yrs ago for the day promised to come back, first stop was Otto's cafe for a coffee & pie big pieces of chunky steak mushrooms great pastry. Nice place to sit outside but not next to the front door because it is so popular the door is none stop banging, but plenty of other areas to sit.... I would highly recommend the cafe. Cakes looked great but tummy full post pie ;-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alsfal1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto's Bakery also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to Otto's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing