We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic way to spend an afternoon”
Review of The Lane Vineyard

The Lane Vineyard
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: ENTER THE LAND OF THE LONG LUNCH! You will find more than a priceless view when you discover The Lane Vineyard. You will see vines with their roots in an ancient landscape, hear a real story about what makes a family work, Be swept off your feet by wines that deliver style, luxury and pleasure. Unearth your wine food and wine odyssey as you linger over lunch
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to spend an afternoon”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I recently had the pleasure as a tourist [looking for something special ]Of experiencing some local fine food and wine at the Lane Vineyard in Handorf.
Our table was set in the alfresco area with extraordinary views on a stunning afternoon in the Adeliade hills.It seemed like we were in paradise .
We chose the tasting menu ,essentially a degustacion with matched wines .Apparently this was a new menu for the new season.
There were 5 courses and 5 matched wines.All were superb.The service was very friendly and efficient.Dishes rolled in ,each having intrigue,taste explosions aplomb and beautfully presented.
This was a fine dining experience with some magic.We also went for sharing some desserts which were needless to say... superb.Well done.
The magic of the kitchen and the staff and the stunning location has left me with delightful memories.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Owner at The Lane Vineyard, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Visitors like you, who find magic at The Lane, are people that make our day. Thank you for being adventurous, you have shown that you can create your own wonderful experience when you are prepared to discover more. Travel safely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    82
    21
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We visited the Lane three weeks ago with 5 adults and 2 children. Our initial impression was not good as we were shown to our table on the balcony on a day of 35 degrees. There was no air conditioning and when we complained about the heat a fan was produced for us and the other tables. The food was good, but the service was very slow and we had to ask four times for the desserts for the children. Given that it was two scoops of ice cream with a wafer the delay was inexplicable.

It is hard to understand why the wine is not priced as it is in the tasting room.

The drive in is on a very dusty road, with no shade in the car park - not the best on a hot, dusty day. We will not be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Owner at The Lane Vineyard, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
If Summer at The Lane is not to your liking there is good news, spring, autumn and winter are also beautiful times to visit The Adelaide Hills. Sincere apologies for the delay with the children's desserts, we were training new staff and not everything went according to plan. The wine at the cellar door is very favourably priced to encourage visitors to take wine home. The cost of the wine in the restaurant reflects the cost of the amenity and table service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“sublime views”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

First was the extensive wine tasting provided by a charming and knowledgeable young lady.
We only wanted a light lunch and although our salads and divine fries hit the spot we felt there wasn't a huge choice of lighter meals. The view had to be the highlight of The Lane....it is stunning. It was too hot to sit outside but our table was well positioned in the window. We couldn't help thinking what a great place to sit on the deck with a nice wine and watch the sun set over that huge view.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveler478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Owner at The Lane Vineyard, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
You are right, twilight is spectacular. So pleased you enjoyed the wine tasting, the wines do sing the song of our vineyard . Visitors wanting lighter meals often find a selection of the tastes does the trick. Next a Time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We followed a red Ferrari up the dirt track so we knew we were in for a treat! What a great place to have lunch on a hot Tuesday after traipsing about the countryside tasting gorgeous wines. The food was perfect, the service amusing, our fellow guests an eclectic bunch so lots of people watching while admiring the views!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nzmermaidnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Owner at The Lane Vineyard, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for following the intrepid Ferrari, we like adventurous and interesting visitors. Thank you for appreciating our truly Australian landscape, it changes with the seasons. Come by again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A beautiful location”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Despite it being 43 degrees, the comfort of the restaurant and the quality of the food and wine remained exceptional. It was understandably too hot to eat lunch on the verandah, but indoors was pleasant and our table was strategically place near the window to maximise the outlook which is blissful. Food is fresh with a contemporary spin and the wines match beautifully.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Serve_me_an_Ace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen E, Owner at The Lane Vineyard, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review, it was very hot however the day was made all the easier for our staff by several appreciative visitors like you. Seems the Adelaide Hills is still the place to escape to on a hot summer day.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lane Vineyard also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Lane Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing