We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable is an understatement”
Review of Amble at Hahndorf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amble at Hahndorf
Ranked #1 of 4 Hahndorf B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Where do I begin. I could write pages on how incredible this I place is. We had the pleasure of staying at the Amble Inn log house this past weekend. Even the pictures on the site does not do this place justice. Beautifully appointed and welcoming. From the minute we walked into this place we knew it was something special. EVERything you could ever need for your stay is provided. Breakfast provisions, milk, juice, waters, bottle of port with chocolates and the list goes on and on. We have travelled a lot both in australia and overseas,, and this place is up there with the best of them. Roger popped in to see if everything was ok, even kindly gave us some fresh figs. Thank you sincerely Roger and Di for allowing us the pleasure to stay here. We didn't want to leave and I can't wait to get back there in the very near future. This place is a credit to you both and I wish you both all the success in the future.

Room Tip: Just do I yourselves a favour and stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopoholicAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 293 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and 5 1/2 month old son enjoyed our couple of days relaxing at Amble Wren. Cute and cosy cottage with lovely gardens surrounding the property. We were visited by several breeds of birds in the morning and night. Also saw several lizards. It reminded me of when I lived on a farm when I was a young child. The owners provided us with a port-a-cot that made our stay comfortable with our son. They gave us great advice on where to go out to eat which were fantastic locations and all happy to accommodate a baby :) Amble Wren was only a short stroll to the main road of Hahndorf. It was closest to our favourite pub, The German Arms. Definitely recommend Amble Wren for a lovely get away even its just a couple of days :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I stayed at the Amble Over apartment for 2 nights. Absolutely wonderful! Very clean, well equipped and beautifully furnished apartment with 2 balconies....perfect for soaking up the great views. Provisions for hot and cold breakfasts was supplied which was great. The apartment was very roomy with all the mod cons but without compromising the welcoming country atmosphere. Di and Roger encourage the bird life to the property which makes for a great show! Plenty to see and do in beautiful Hahndorf and a top spot for those that love taking photos. I would absolutely recommend the Amble accommodations to anyone and I'll be going back for sure!

Room Tip: the Amble Over apartment with the balconies allows you to take advantage of the fantastic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed in the Amble Wren cottage for 3 nights. It is a cute cottage with all the facilitaties. The owners provide you with local treats and lots of suggestions for activities and restaurants. Beautiful surrounds.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Such a lovely and beautiful place just a min walk from the main street of Hahndorf, which is a very nice town in Adelaide hills with good restaurants and nice shops. We stayed in the Wren cottage for only 2 days, but I would have loved to stay there for a week! It's a small but a beautiful comfy cottage with all the comfort you would expect from a 4/5 star hotel. Nice living/dining/kitchen room with everthing you need and the fridge filled up to make your own breakfast, so sleeping in and having your breakast at your own time!! Comfy bed and the shower/spa bath even has a stunning view over the hills of Adelaide....
Having drinks on your own veranda and see/hear all diffirent kind of birds in the beautiful garden.
The owner Roger is such a nice person and so helpful. If you would like he can drive you around and show you all the nice places in the Adelaide Hills and even knows where to find Koalas! Also he can pick you up form the airport. At the end of our stay he was so good to pick us up from our rental car in Adelaide and drive us to the Airport... which was much cheaper than taking a taxi. Overall the best place to stay in Adelaide Hills!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria-Pia_David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in 'Amble Over' initially for 3 nights, but it was that good we had to stay another! Great facilities, the views from every window are amazing, and the balconies on either end are a great perk to the accommodation. Dealt with both Roger and Di (the owners), who are both great people and very passionate about providing top quality accommodation and ensuring that you have a comfortable and well-catered for stay. Highly recommend it for a peaceful, comfortable and all round amazing experience. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Amble Over is great for couples. Quite modern, and has a comfortable and cosy feel to it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo21C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a spontaneous decision to pack our bags and get a way for a couple of nights, and we are certainly glad we chose Amble at Hahndorf. So quiet and peaceful amongst the trees and gardens, many different birds to look at and listen to. Our room was a delight, very clean and the shower wonderful, plenty of local foods in the room for us to eat, the chocolates delicious.
We only drove for 40 minutes to get there but felt like we were miles away.

Thankyou so much and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne-n-Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahndorf
0.5 mi away
The Manna of Hahndorf
The Manna of Hahndorf
#2 of 5 in Hahndorf
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park
0.3 mi away
Hahndorf Oak Tree Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
0.5 mi away
The Haus Studio Apartments
4.2 mi away
The Retreat at Stirling
The Retreat at Stirling
#3 of 4 in Stirling
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble at Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble at Hahndorf

Address: 10 Hereford Ave, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hahndorf
Price Range: $113 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble at Hahndorf 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amble at Hahndorf bed and breakfast just 150m from Hahndorf’s Main Street, and only 25 km east of Adelaide CBD. Nestled in the Adelaide Hills region of South Australia‘Amble at Hahndorf’ Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located for an enjoyable and peaceful escape.Set in lovely gardens, ‘Amble at Hahndorf’ offers tranquility, romance and seclusion.This beautiful Hahndorf accommodation is offered in either ‘Amble Wren’, ‘Amble Fern’ and ‘Amble Over’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amble at Hahndorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amble At Hahndorf South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing