We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely and relaxing place to stay and unwind in the Adelaide Hills.”
Review of Amble at Hahndorf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amble at Hahndorf
Ranked #1 of 4 Hahndorf B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely and relaxing place to stay and unwind in the Adelaide Hills.”
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Amble Wren, a delightful cottage with serene views and atmosphere. Kitchen is fully stocked withprovisions for breakfast from local providers and was very tasty. Di and Roger take extra care in your stay to ensure everything is to your expectations, as well as providing advice as Rio where to eat and what to see. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rimmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    36
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
39
203
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

What a great place to stay while visiting Hahndorf, and what a great base from which to explore the Barossa, the adelaide Hills, McLaren Vale or even Adelaide itself.The accommodation is small but very well laid out and comfortable. And the hosts provided everything you could possibly want for breakfast in your room. We've travelled the world but never found a better B& B and never felt so much at home. Very highly recommended for couples.

Room Tip: Have a look on the website - it gives you a good idea of the layout. Or call the owners, Roger and D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Family and friends (9 adults) stayed at number 8 and 10 Hereford Av Hahndorf and had a truly wonderful holiday. Very comfortable accommodation with all our needs met! Room for family dinners at home and great places to eat out as well. Lovely surroundings- birds, horses and colourful tree-lined streets! All this a 2 min walk from the main street-no need to drive.

The birdlife was really quite varied. There was a feeder in the front yeard and we could see correllas, cockatoos, honeyeaters, silvereyes, wrens and lorikeets without leaving the house.

The kitchen was very well equipped and we like to cook so we used it all! We didn't even need to shop straight away as the kitchen was stocked with eggs and bacon and milk and bread. Also dried fruit and nuts and chocolates and special coffee and teas. It just went on and on!
Great spot!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Family and friends (9 adults) stayed at number 8 and 10 Herrefors Av Hahndorf and had a truly wonderful holiday. Very comfortable accommodation with all our needs met! Room for family dinners at home and great places to eat out as well. Lovely surroundings- beautiful birds, horses and colourful tree-lined streets!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flenady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked for 4 people & paid in December 2012. Arrived in April to find no one in reception. Rang the number on the door, received a call back approx 15 minutes later to be told there was no accommodation as it had been double booked. Then waited about 3/4 of an hour till they rang back with alternate accommodation outside Hahndorf, not what we wanted. Ended up making our own alternate arrangements. Did not see any hosts, and person we spoke to on the phone became a bit hostile when we wouldn't accept his alternate accommodation.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble_at_Hahndorf, Manager at Amble at Hahndorf, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you Lyn W for your feedback.

Your criticism is noted and we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience you experienced recently as a result of conflicting booking details. Please trust we have taken steps to investigate the problem, try to understand what the issues/causes were and rectify it so it doesn’t occur again.

Please indulge us; to clarify your comment about booking and ‘paying’ in December 2012 – we understand this is your perception. We certainly had NOT received any payment and were not aware of any booking made on your behalf. The supplier you used does not transfer any ‘money or funds’ to providers at the time of booking and their policy is to hold the money/funds until the provider invoices AFTER the guest has stayed. That invoice is NOT paid until a ‘set date’ in the following month which could be anywhere between 3-5 weeks after your stay.

As a smaller operator we are unable to offer 24 hour check in. This is why we have specific information about our check-in arrangements included on OUR booking confirmation documentation. It is our expectation, when a guest arrives at our Reception they SHOULD have been advised of our check-in arrangements. Our confirmation email specifically requests guests contact us 12-24 hours BEFORE arrival to get information about how to gain access to their venue even if/when Reception is unattended. We accept it is inevitable and at times unavoidable there will be occasions we cannot be on-site to meet & greet our guests.

Therefore we provide alternative contact telephone numbers at our Reception area for guests who arrive without having read their booking confirmation. This is in place to deal with unexpected situations and it works very well.

Bookings on our own website, automatically generates correspondence to confirm and alert our guests of our check-in arrangements and we request our suppliers to forward the same details when bookings are made through their sites.

The following is the information sent:-

Please READ CAREFULLY…

Please Note: Guests are requested to contact Di or Roger 12 - 24 hours prior to arrival for information about check-in arrangements. Contact us if you are running late for advised check-in or require further information.
International: +61 408 105 610 (Di Mobile)
International: +61 414 447 134 (Roger Mobile)
Local: 0408 105 610 (Di Mobile)
Local: 0414 447 134 (Roger Mobile)
Local: (08) 8388 1467 (Reception, please leave a message)
Reminder email or Text message to your Mobile Phone will be sent 2 days prior to your arrival.
If you DON'T have a mobile phone when you arrive, please contact us via email for these details on the morning of arrival. Reception may be closed at certain times during the day.
Please quote the following:
Name of Venue:
Booking Reference Number:
Check any time after 3:00 pm on the day of Arrival
Check out is before 11.00 am on the day of Departure
Please do not hesitate to contact us if you require further information and we look forward to having you come and stay.
Your Hosts
Di and Roger

In instances such as this the supplier would expect the provider to find suitable accommodation of equal or greater value and at no additional cost to the guest above the initial booking payment if the venue is found to be double booked which according to our details it was not.

Even though we did not feel it was our responsibility or obligation to do so we did try to assist by finding alternative accommodation. This had been sourced at two venues to accommodate the group of 4 ‘singles’ at ‘equivalent’ status and value in the local area just outside Hahndorf and was done within ¾ hour. The solution was offered and vehemently rejected. In the meantime the supplier had been alerted of the issue.

As a result of this incident we have reviewed booking systems, modified our associations accordingly and can only hope this situation doesn’t arise again.

So to summarise, guests that stay with Amble at Hahndorf B&B, if you haven’t received a confirmation email with details of your booking showing check-in details, please contact us to send through new details.

Amble at Hahndorf B&B Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were visiting Australia from the UK for the first time. With relatives in Stirling, Hahndorf seemed the ideal location for our short stay. Our daughter, with whom we were staying in Melbourne, found Amble and booked it for us all. We were in Amble Fern and everything was just as we expected (and more!). Attention to detail was so obvious - high quality bedlinen and such comfortable beds. The provisions (all sourced locally) were excellent quality and delicious. Wouldn't hesitate to return if we visit the area again (which we hope we will!) A bonus for us was being able to watch the galahs and other wildlife as we enjoyed our BBQ breakfasts. Hahndorf in itself is a facinating historical place to visit. We hope next time to be able to enjoy some of the restaurants (one we particularly spotted wasn't open on Sundays and Mondays and we unfortunately discovered it too late) as we weren't able to this time - also to visit some of the more local vineyards! Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Thank you for a lovely weekend. This is the second time we have stayed with you. We really enjoy how relaxed, clean and comfortable. The first time we stayed we were in the Amble Over room and on this occassion we decided to try the Wren Cotttage. Both were lovely and offered different views. We will be staying again!! Thanks! Pam & Yared

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaYaredG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahndorf
6.1 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Manna of Hahndorf
The Manna of Hahndorf
#1 of 5 in Hahndorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Adelaide Hills Country Cottages
0.4 mi away
Hahndorf Motor Lodge
Hahndorf Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Hahndorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hahndorf Oak Tree Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amble at Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amble at Hahndorf

Property: Amble at Hahndorf
Address: 10 Hereford Ave, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hahndorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amble at Hahndorf 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amble at Hahndorf bed and breakfast just 150m from Hahndorf’s Main Street, and only 25 km east of Adelaide CBD. Nestled in the Adelaide Hills region of South Australia‘Amble at Hahndorf’ Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located for an enjoyable and peaceful escape.Set in lovely gardens, ‘Amble at Hahndorf’ offers tranquility, romance and seclusion.This beautiful Hahndorf accommodation is offered in either ‘Amble Wren’, ‘Amble Fern’ and ‘Amble Over’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Amble at Hahndorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amble At Hahndorf South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing