We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic German”
Review of The Hahndorf Inn

The Hahndorf Inn
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Hahndorf
Price range: $4 - $28
Cuisines: German, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestled in the picturesque Adelaide Hill's village of Hahndorf the Hahndorf Inn Hotel has a rich combination of history & hospitality.Built in 1863, the hotel has retained many of its original features in "picture postcard" style.Open 7 days and serving breakfast 8:30am to 10am and meals from 11am through to 9pm, The Hahndorf Inn is a great meeting place for friends.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic German”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We always try to get to Hahndorf at least twice a year, usually just before Christmas to see all the gorgeous decorations (trying to forget the 40degree heat!) and usually sometime in the autumn or winter.
We always try and eat at the Hahndorf Inn. It is always busy but considering that the service is always really good. We have our favourites in terms of food, but I am always amazed at the huge servings! They are a favourite amongst the many tourists as well, with the Japanese often sharing a plate amongst two of them. The prices are no more expensive than any pub. The beer is wonderful, even for a non beer drinker.
As I said, it is always busy, and therefore a little crowded. This would be my only criticism. A play room for the kids is a bonus. Try and go in the cooler months as they have a beautiful wood fire in one half of the restaurant. Outside dining is also an option.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gessf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    311
    107
    49
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“My German mates enjoyed this German place!”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

As the title says, I visited Hahndorf Inn with my friends from Berlin and Leipzig. We had dinner and some beers there, particlarly the three mini-glass beer samples for $15. Of course we also had the Hofbrauhaus beers, sorry about the spelling. I had the porterhouse steak which was great and one of my friends had a meal but the potatoes were under-cooked, she asked for the meal to be redone, which they did. I don't know if they did it because she is a legit German or if it's part of their service, I dunno. But the fact they would redo the meal was a big bonus for us. It was nice for them to drink some genuine German stuff instead of the usual XXXX or Coronas us cheap university students drink. All in all, a good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Feeling like some hearty German food, I decided to visit the Hahndorf Inn for the first time in a few years and shared an enormous plate of food with kaessler chop, pork knuckle, sausages, potato and sauerkraut.
The food was prepared in good time on what was a very busy night. Service was a little slow, but nothing unreasonable. Staff were friendly.
The food was ok. There was a bit of a sameness to the flavours when I would have preferred a little more variety of flavour. The meal overall was also quite salty. Whilst the dishes served generally need a good dose of salt, I felt that the level of saltiness could have been managed better.

Still, whilst this is not at the very top of my list of places to eat in Hahndorf, the food was good value and decent enough. Other people may not share my salt preferences and I certainly wouldn't recommend avoiding the Hahndorf Inn by any means! The atmosphere is good and the serves are huge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CearaCRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great coffee stop”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stopped here for coffee and cakes. Wonderful selection. Super atmosphere, pleasant surroundings. Highly recommend. Must be great in the evening, just wish we'd had longer to spend there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Brook, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interesting German food”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My family and I had lunch here. The serves were huge. Good food, many different German sausages. Prices were high for a country pub, especially for the beer.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hahndorf Inn also viewed

Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 
Hahndorf, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to The Hahndorf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing