We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern accommodation in a heritage area.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Manna of Hahndorf
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Modern accommodation in a heritage area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

There are 3 of us who stay here while on business. Most ground floor rooms are spacious and very well appointed. Quiet air conditioning and nice flat screen TV. Upstairs units have very thin walls,stay away from these exec rooms.i feel that our corporate rate could be better.a little expensive

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B1RD1EMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi B1RD1EMelbourne,
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you thought our rooms were spacious and well appointed. The Executive Rooms are great to stay in with their huge flat-screen TV's.
All corporate rates can be negotiated with our Sales Manager Nicole: nicole.baker@kirkbee.com.au
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review for the Manna of Hahndorf and we hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    152
    64
    20
    16
See reviews for
50
203
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in an executive room as we had 2 adults and 1 child. The room was large with a king and a single bed. Not quite sure about the layout of the room / facilities with some very odd things.
There is a bench above the sink so if you lean over to fill a glass of water, you might hit your head. The bathroom door has to be opened all the way (more than 90 degrees) otherwise you have to step into the shower section to enter before closing the door.
This is a very city-like place to stay, with alot of concrete around. We had a great night sleep and the room was well priced for what we needed. We were able to walk to dinner and see all the amazing shops down the main street without having to drive anywhere once we got there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holygrail42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hello holygrail42,
Thank you for staying with us at The Manna of Hahndorf. We are glad to hear that it was exactly what you needed. Thank you for the feedback in regards to the room layout we really appreciate guests opinions so that we can tailor our products and services to a higher standard. We will certainly be addressing these with the landlord.
It is great to hear that our location suited you well to explore the Main Street. There is so much to see and do in Hahndorf and they are all at our door step.
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I am sure that, technically, this hotel meets the criteria to be considered four star but I expected more. Reception closed at 7pm so our only human interaction was the next morning when we paid the bill. The room was cold and it took several attempts to sort out the heating. The shower cubicle glass in the bathroom was almost dead centre with the door opening so great care had to be taken coming in and out to avoid walking straight into it. One of the two bedside lights was broken. The view from the floor to ceiling windows was of the driveway which meant we had to keep the curtains closed. When we checked out at 10.06am the next morning, we made it clear we were going back to the room to collect our bags but got there to discover the keys had already been made invalid so we had to traipse back to reception again to be let in - very annoying! Of the three hotels we stayed in during a visit to the vineyards around Adelaide, this was also the most expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poptastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear poptastic,
We are saddened to hear that you were disappointed with our Motel.
At the Manna of Hahndorf our main rooms are in a 'U' shape where the Superior Rooms face the car park, which some people prefer to have their car directly outside there room, and the Executive Rooms face the inside where there is a courtyard area, for those who do not like the car park outlook. We endeavor to be as flexible as possible to cater for all different needs.
For security our electronic key cards are coded to end on the check-out date at 11am in the event that someone takes the keys home there is no longer access to the room of which they stayed in. They are however sensitive to mobile phones and credit cards and the programing can be erased when too close to these objects.
As we have multiple properties in Hahndorf with multiple reception offices it is at this time un-feesable to have both our check-in counters open late. The Manna of Hahndorf is open until 8pm through summer and 7pm through winter. The Hahndorf Motor Lodge has a residence for the night manager and they can be contacted 24/7.
We sincerely apologize for the broken light globe in your room, we have since rectified this. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hoped for more but got the usual ordinary offering.The Executive ( presumably better) rooms have no windows, so only air-con.The light switches on the bathroom are outside ensuring you wake the others if you get up in the night. The usual minimal lighting so you can't read a paper and no outlook or privacy unless you close your blinds reducing the light further.Cheap soap etc. Add to this, a small block with maximum number of units, crowded, and there are better options.Further, we booked on line in advance at $170 per night only to find that when we checked in the sandwich board outside offered Executive rooms for $154. When queried, the receptionist said the the lower figure is for walk ins, so obviously no benefit in advance booking. That lost us for the next three nights, so we booked elsewhere and happy for it.

Room Tip: Check around carefully
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criticalgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Criticalgh,
We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not special only ordinary. That was certainly not our intention of your stay with us.
We have addressed with the landlord the lack of fresh air circulation in the rooms and we have approval to rectify this over the next few months. We have both Superior & Executive Rooms to suit both those who like to park outside their rooms, Superior Rooms, and for those who are after more privacy the Executive Rooms which overlook the courtyard area.
Our rates change up and down according to our occupancy levels on a daily basis so when we have cancellations are rates drop as to attract guest to replace our lost bookings. We apologize that this was not made clear to you at the time. We certainly do not penalize guests for booking in advance. I am personally going to ensure that the team have a clear picture on how to explain our rate system. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
It is sad to hear that you went else where for the remaining of your stay but we do hope you enjoyed your time away.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you are ever in the area again so that we can prove to you that the Manna of Hahndorf is more than an ordinary place to stay.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we really appreciate your feedback.
kylie.woodall@kirkbee.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

This chic little hotel has some very well kept rooms that remind you of staying in a 5 star hotel in the city which I loved! The balcony view of the courtyard/Main Street would be beautiful in the summer time, unfortunately it was slightly raining when we were there for our anniversary. My partner and I are are 20 and 26 and we loved our stay and it suited us perfectly. The Main Street has beautiful boutique shops that sell things from home made soaps and candles to unique home decor. It was lovely going in the art galleries and seeing all the local talent too. We would definitely recommend The Manna and we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasmineBlanusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Hi JasmineBlanusa - Thank you for choosing the Manna of Hahndorf to celebrate your anniversary.

The Executive Balcony Rooms are perfect through summer to enjoy a nice glass of wine (or two) whilst soaking up the sun. You will definitely need to come back and book one of these!!!

We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time and made the most of our location on the Main Street perusing all the shops.

We appreciate the time you have taken to post this review for the Manna of Hahndorf and thank you again for staying with us.

Please do come and visit us again real soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in room 44 (disabled room). Rather a dark room being situated down the lane way at the back, but it certainly could not be faulted in any way. Beds were comfy, room very clean and well stocked and serviced. Staff very helpful and friendly. Suggestions of eatery at the "Haus" across the road, only made as it is owned by the Manna. Fair enough but there are other places at a more reasonable price in the village. The hotel 3 doors down has very good food and cost is reasonable. The Haus is rather expensive and not suitable for someone with specific dietery needs. Otherwise our stay was enjoyable and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms out the back are more light filled but are smaller. Room 44 as a disabled room, met all expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hi Cheryl,

We hope you enjoyed your trip away and are settling back at home well.

It is great to hear that Room 44 could not be faulted in anyway. We have a great Housekeeping Team who do such a great job to ensure our rooms are of the highest standards - i think morning tea is on me next time! I will certainly be praising them for their efforts.

Our restaurant The Haus cafe+bar+kitchen is highly recommended but there are many other fabulous places to eat along the Main Street. We do encourage our staff to make personal recommendations and we certainly are not afraid to tell our guests about our favourite places. (I love the Mustard Seed - great Indian food)

Please come and stay again with us - we'd love to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Recently, we had an overnight in one of the spa rooms at The Manna, having prepaid through an online booking agency. The Manna is conveniently located right on the main street and makes for very easy access to shops, restaurants & cafes and other places of interest. We found the reception staff courteous. We were a little surprised that a further $50 needed to be deducted from our credit card for possible extra expenses, though we understand this will be refunded in the near future. The spa room was down the slope but high set with car parking underneath. The balcony overlooked a charming creek. We enjoyed the spa, but beware of slippery tiles if water splashes over the rim of the spa. The bed & pillows were very comfortable and the room was well-equipped with seats and breakfast utensils.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMHS-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kylie W, Front Office Manager at The Manna of Hahndorf, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Hi LMHS-01 from QLD - we hope you enjoyed your stay in one of our Spa Indulgence Suites at The Manna of Hahndorf. These are set back away from the main property for extra privacy overlooking a small creek, which makes sitting out on your balcony with a glass of Adelaide Hills Wine even more enjoyable. Upon check-in we so ask for an Imprint of $50 on a credit/debit card or alternatively in cash in cash you do have any extras as we have a great range of additional services for our guests such as mini-bar, laundry, business services, plus you can charge-back all meals from our restaurant The Haus cafe+bar+kitchen across the road to your room. Thank you for the lovely review we hope that you will come back and see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hahndorf
6.6 mi away
Mount Lofty House - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Hahndorf Motel
Hahndorf Motel
#5 of 5 in Hahndorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hahndorf Resort Tourist Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hahndorf Motor Lodge
Hahndorf Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Hahndorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amble at Hahndorf
Amble at Hahndorf
#1 of 4 in Hahndorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hahndorf Old Mill
Hahndorf Old Mill
#3 of 4 in Hahndorf
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manna of Hahndorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manna of Hahndorf

Property: The Manna of Hahndorf
Address: 25 Main Street, Hahndorf, South Australia 5245, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide Hills > Hahndorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hahndorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manna of Hahndorf 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manna of Hahndorf, 4-Star Accommodation in Hahndorf with more than 50 modern & stylish Motel rooms set back off the Main Street of historic Hahndorf, 'Life is More Interesting on the Street' The Manna of Hahndorf is the perfect place for any stay, long, short, business or pleasure, for both Conference Groups & Wedding Groups; Your stylish alternative to Adelaide CBD Accommodation. Conveniently located with all the modern facilities, in a relaxed regional setting. Perfectly located in the heart of the Adelaide Hills, a great base for your to explore the Adelaide CBD & Glenelg, plus the Barossa Valley, Fleurieu Peninsula and McLaren Vale regions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Manna of Hahndorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manna Hotel Hahndorf
The Manna Of Hahndorf South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing