We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
Ranked #1 of 5 Goolwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the boathouse for my birthday, and loved it here. It was something a little different. So much reading material. Very relaxing and loved the ambience. Nice looking at the boats out of the lounge window. Lots to do in this area as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 160 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hey guys we had a great weekend at Goolwa South Australia staying at the Boathouse Birks Harbour. It is so relaxing and the ambiance is fantastic. The detail that the hosts have gone to create a memorable stay is unbelievable. Inside the Boathouse it is like you are back at the turn of the Century (19th -20th) with beautiful decorations and soft furnishings that hark back to a bygone era of paddle steamers and riverboats but with all modern conveniences. Outside you are right on the water's edge on the Birks Harbour Marina with all the wooden boats moored just metres from your bedroom and lounge. The views are to die for. And being a boatie just adds to the convenience. But if you just want a romantic break this is the place to be. You don’t have to have a boat to enjoy the experience. Thanks Wendy and Phil for the memories. We will return.

Room Tip: Have a B BQ on the deck at sunset and the views are magnificent. Sunrise brings water birds in their...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It is a pity you only get 5 stars to choose from - Could not fault anything and it exceeded our expectations. Wendy and Phil are wonderful hosts and Birks Retreat (we stayed in the garden view room this time) is a little escape from reality. Will defintely be back AGAIN!

Room Tip: Any - they all have their own character and charm
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FOOdy77_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent two nights at the Boathouse in April and highly recommend it. Its location on the river is just perfect, with its own private deck and marina to enjoy the views onto the Murray River. The boathouse itself was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Wendy is a wonderful host; she gave some interesting stories about the history of the boathouse and provided us with a lovely basket of goodies. The whole atmosphere made for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BGL_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Serenity is the best description for the Boat House.On the banks of the mighty Murray river with a private deck and wharf you go to sleep to the sound of water lapping against the piers.You awake to the sound of birds and the beauty of a magnificent sunrise.If you are looking for the ultimate in tranquility and comfort this is the place to be.This is our second visit and will not be our last.Our hosts Wendy and Phil could not have been more considerate. Gerard and Sylvia Sutton.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gerard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in the boathouse, which was absolutely perfect for a couples weekend away. The private deck over the water, the ambiance of both the house and the private marina was beautiful. The decor eclectic, pleasing and extremely comfortable. A totally relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Design22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

For those who appreciate the absolute finest! Everything about this amazing property is a delight to the senses. "SOAK IT UP"! Enter this property and you are transported to an amazing space. The Garden Retreat is the best of everything from the quality ambiance, privacy and seclusion to having the water right on your doorstep.... the glorious swimming pool at the back door and the best that Goolwa's waterways has to offer at the front door. Add to the above, the delightful botanical garden setting and like me, you will not want to leave. A special thank you also goes to our hosts, Wendy and Phil, for caring, making us feel so welcome and their warm and very generous hospitality.

Room Tip: It's all amazing !!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goolwa
1.0 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 2 in Goolwa
30 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Anchorage Hotel
The Anchorage Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boat Haven Studios
Boat Haven Studios
#1 of 4 in Goolwa
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Beach Huts Middleton
Beach Huts Middleton
#1 of 3 in Middleton
128 reviews
9.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
1,013 reviews
7.1 mi away
Trafalgar Premium Vintage Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats

Address: 138 Liverpool Road, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Goolwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Goolwa
Price Range: $242 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in a unique waterfront location at Birks Harbour at the historic River Port of Goolwa. Three self contained Retreats - Boathouse & Captain's & Riverview Retreat. Quiet and peaceful setting surrounded with acres of gardens, prolific birdlife, majestic trees, a large swimming pool, luxury furniture and fittings, maritime antiques and artwork, located at Birks Harbour Marina with classic wooden boats on their moorings. This private and special environment is a perfect holiday location with reflections & sunrises you'll never forget. Luxury self-contained riverfront retreats on the Murray River at the River Port of Goolwa. Each Retreat is private, fully self-contained and offers absolute luxury for a unique holiday adventure. Birks Harbour is an easy 1 hour drive south of Adelaide, travelling via South Australia's premier wine region of McLaren Vale to the historic River Port of Goolwa and gateway to the Coorong National Park on the Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats Goolwa, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing