We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very special and a bit of wow factor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
Ranked #1 of 5 Goolwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very special and a bit of wow factor”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We were last here 3 years ago and Birks Harbour boathouse still ticks all the boxes. It is beautifully appointed well managed and so very different to the ho hum repetitive apartments you see everywhere. The owners are so lovely and keen to ensure your stay is a memorable one. They've even put together a list of things to see / do / eat during your stay. Yep, you'll love it!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
115
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a wonderful place to connect with friends for a weekend after the hectic pre-Xmas period. The setting is well appointed yet totally relaxing. We arrived in the late afternoon and immediately felt at ease. Wonderful evening relaxing with friends. Slept for what felt like a week. Walked along the river, lunched and talked. Can thoroughly recommend this as a getaway for a weekend or longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave12481632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently stayed at Birks Harbour Boathouse for a two day break,which turned out to be not long enough.This has to be one of the most wonderful places that we have ever visited, a piece of paradise.Sitting on the deck at the waters edge with wooden boats bobbing up & down,magnificent bird life & being looked after by such generous hosts, what more could you ask for!
Lin & Daryl Smith
Hawthorn
Adelaide

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wonderfully renovated and beautifully appointed a perfect getaway to unwind from the rat race and relax! We skipped town to enjoy our first wedding anniversary and wanted to enjoy some peace and quiet, and just chill. The garden retreat provided that opportunity and more the gardens were delightful, the birdlife stunning and the pool was so refreshing. The house itselff was just breathtaking we were extremely pleased and couldn't have asked for more from the goodie basket on arrival, to the stocked fridge, to the lovely toiletries and little touches throughout the house it was just perfect. Thanks to Wendy and Phil for their hospitality and friendliness and without hesitation we will be back when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in 42 degree heat and were delighted to find the air conditioner on, chilled jazz on the radio and chilled water and wine in the fridge which was also stocked with breakfast goodies. The River Retreat was the perfect place to relax by the pool, and also a great base to explore the Goolwa, Coorong, Fleurieu and Mclaren Vale regions. The measure of great customer service is in how well problems are dealt with. We had a minor incident with a hot water failure. Wendy and Phil responded immediately by arranging access to the shower facilities at the adjacent marina, and managed to arrange for the service to be restored in less than a day despite the Boxing Day holiday.
We would happily stay again and have no hesistation in recommending this accommodation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rog S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our group of 3 mature couples from WA nad Vic stayed at Birks'Harbour for 3 nights in late October, booking the Garden Retreat and the Riverview Retreat. We were stunned by the presentation of the property on arrival after a long day travelling from Kangaroo Island. This property is a destination in itself and preferring to self cater suited our group perfectly. Thanks to Wendy and Phil for the welcome. We'll be back. Peter C

Room Tip: Garden Retreat has the bulk of space and caters for 2 couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Coming straight from the airport in the afternoon, it was a quick 1 hour drive from the cbd. Upon arrival we opened the door to Birks retreat. An inviting kitchen at ground level and music leading us upstairs to our comfortable resting place for two nights. We really enjoyed seeing more of what S.A had to offer by visiting Goolwa and Birks retreat was a great start.
Very clean, neat and well designed rooms. With all thats needed for a relaxing weekend. Breakfast provisions were great. Also lots of local extra's to try out along with a local wine.
Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi Nadine we are happy you enjoyed your weekend and all our local produce at the Riverview Retreat - Birks River House and Goolwa and thanks again for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again at Birks Harbour - Luxury Accommodation - Goolwa - Fleurieu Peninsula South Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goolwa
1.0 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 2 in Goolwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
10.6 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
9.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goolwa Boat Haven
Goolwa Boat Haven
#1 of 5 in Goolwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
6.6 mi away
Authenticity Sanctuary Retreat and Transformational Center
4.5 mi away
Beach Huts Middleton
Beach Huts Middleton
#1 of 3 in Middleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats

Property: Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
Address: 138 Liverpool Rd, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Goolwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Goolwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in a unique waterfront location at Birks Harbour at the River Port of Goolwa. Three self contained Retreats - Boathouse/Captain's & Riverview Retreat. Quiet and peaceful setting surrounded with acres of gardens, prolific birdlife, majestic trees, a large swimming pool, luxury furniture and fittings, maritime antiques and artwork, located at Birks Harbour Marina with classic wooden boats on their moorings. This private and special environment is a perfect holiday location with reflections & sunrises you'll never forget. Luxury self-contained riverfront retreats on the Murray River at the River Port of Goolwa. Each Retreat is private, fully self-contained and offers absolute luxury for a unique holiday adventure. Birks Harbour is an easy 1 hour drive south of Adelaide, travelling via South Australia's premier wine region of McLaren Vale to the historic River Port of Goolwa and gateway to the Coorong National Park on the Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats Goolwa, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing