We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
Ranked #1 of 5 Goolwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Wonderfully renovated and beautifully appointed a perfect getaway to unwind from the rat race and relax! We skipped town to enjoy our first wedding anniversary and wanted to enjoy some peace and quiet, and just chill. The garden retreat provided that opportunity and more the gardens were delightful, the birdlife stunning and the pool was so refreshing. The house itselff was just breathtaking we were extremely pleased and couldn't have asked for more from the goodie basket on arrival, to the stocked fridge, to the lovely toiletries and little touches throughout the house it was just perfect. Thanks to Wendy and Phil for their hospitality and friendliness and without hesitation we will be back when the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    5
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
115
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in 42 degree heat and were delighted to find the air conditioner on, chilled jazz on the radio and chilled water and wine in the fridge which was also stocked with breakfast goodies. The River Retreat was the perfect place to relax by the pool, and also a great base to explore the Goolwa, Coorong, Fleurieu and Mclaren Vale regions. The measure of great customer service is in how well problems are dealt with. We had a minor incident with a hot water failure. Wendy and Phil responded immediately by arranging access to the shower facilities at the adjacent marina, and managed to arrange for the service to be restored in less than a day despite the Boxing Day holiday.
We would happily stay again and have no hesistation in recommending this accommodation.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rog S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our group of 3 mature couples from WA nad Vic stayed at Birks'Harbour for 3 nights in late October, booking the Garden Retreat and the Riverview Retreat. We were stunned by the presentation of the property on arrival after a long day travelling from Kangaroo Island. This property is a destination in itself and preferring to self cater suited our group perfectly. Thanks to Wendy and Phil for the welcome. We'll be back. Peter C

Room Tip: Garden Retreat has the bulk of space and caters for 2 couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Coming straight from the airport in the afternoon, it was a quick 1 hour drive from the cbd. Upon arrival we opened the door to Birks retreat. An inviting kitchen at ground level and music leading us upstairs to our comfortable resting place for two nights. We really enjoyed seeing more of what S.A had to offer by visiting Goolwa and Birks retreat was a great start.
Very clean, neat and well designed rooms. With all thats needed for a relaxing weekend. Breakfast provisions were great. Also lots of local extra's to try out along with a local wine.
Hope to be back one day!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Hi Nadine we are happy you enjoyed your weekend and all our local produce at the Riverview Retreat - Birks River House and Goolwa and thanks again for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again at Birks Harbour - Luxury Accommodation - Goolwa - Fleurieu Peninsula South Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forreston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

The Boathouse is such a beautiful place to stay. We keep going back every year - 6 years now and each time we enjoy it as much as the first time we stayed there. Some of our friends come to spend a day with us there - we just love the atmosphere of having lunch over a glass of wine and looking out over the river. How perfect can life be. We have only stayed 3 nights :however, on the last visit we wondered if we should stay a little longer just to enjoy the peace and beauty of the Boathouse and the quiet river with an occasional pelican swimming by . Wendy and Phil are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birksharbour, Owner at Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Anne & Max it is always a pleasure to see you come back to the Boathouse and thank you for your kind comments about our little piece of paradise which we love to share with people like yourselves!
We look forward to seeing you again so you can enjoy the peace and tranquility of the Boathouse!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have just returned from visiting our daughter and family in South Australia. While there we decided to take a family break and we were fortunate enough to find Birks Harbour. We arrived to find the most amazing property in a fabulous location. How much beter it got when we went inside to find an imaculate and totally fascinating interior that got better and more interesting the more we explored.

We stayed for just four days but how we all wish it was for longer.The property has the everything from stunning views at the front a secluded area at the rear with a wonderfull swimming pool and surrounding area with barbeques.

We were provided with luxury food and wine package when we arrived that made us feel so special. We used Birks harbour to explore the Fleurieu peninsula and had just a marvelous time Wendy recomended the Flying Fish cafe at Port Elliot which is a must for the amazing views and wonderful food.

If anyone wants to explore the area and wants total luxury ther can only be one place to stay and that is Birks harbour.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KVS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birksharbour, Owner at Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Birks River House at Goolwa. We look forward to seeing you again at Birks Harbour - Goolwa - Fleurieu Peninsula South Australia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in OZ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

We have just returned to WA from a short holiday in SA. It was a spur of the moment decision/hope that we could stay at Birks Boathouse which looked so cosy and cute. I was disappointed to find that it was not available but the ever obliging Wendy assured me that if we would like to stay in the River Retreat just across the road, she would make it a very special night for us. True to her word, it was wonderful beyond words. The whole retreat is just so luxurious with an understated, nautical kind of elegance and all set in stunning grounds and across the road from the river. We only stayed for one night and yet we felt that we had been there for ages as it feels like home from the moment you step inside. Wendy had left a gourmet welcome package along with delicious, healthy breakfast provisions. She also allowed us a late check out which was wonderful. There simply was nothing more we could possibly have asked for and we were very sad to leave this idyllic piece of Paradise. At Wendy's suggestion we thoroughly enjoyed good pub food at the Corio Hotel in the evening and the next morning we caught the Cockle train to Victor Harbour....a simply, sceninc and relaxing run with lovely, warm characters running it. Thank you Wendy for a memorable stay. Jayne and Gordon

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beentheredonethat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goolwa
1.0 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 2 in Goolwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
10.6 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
9.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goolwa Boat Haven
Goolwa Boat Haven
#1 of 5 in Goolwa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
6.6 mi away
Authenticity Sanctuary Retreat and Transformational Center
4.5 mi away
Beach Huts Middleton
Beach Huts Middleton
#1 of 3 in Middleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats

Property: Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
Address: 138 Liverpool Rd, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Goolwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Goolwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in a unique waterfront location at Birks Harbour at the River Port of Goolwa. Three self contained Retreats - Boathouse/Captain's & Riverview Retreat. Quiet and peaceful setting surrounded with acres of gardens, prolific birdlife, majestic trees, a large swimming pool, luxury furniture and fittings, maritime antiques and artwork, located at Birks Harbour Marina with classic wooden boats on their moorings. This private and special environment is a perfect holiday location with reflections & sunrises you'll never forget. Luxury self-contained riverfront retreats on the Murray River at the River Port of Goolwa. Each Retreat is private, fully self-contained and offers absolute luxury for a unique holiday adventure. Birks Harbour is an easy 1 hour drive south of Adelaide, travelling via South Australia's premier wine region of McLaren Vale to the historic River Port of Goolwa and gateway to the Coorong National Park on the Fleurieu Peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats Goolwa, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing