We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good, we have already booked to return!!!!”
Review of Boat Haven Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boat Haven Studios
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our only disappointment was, we had to return home and couldn't stay longer.. So, have booked for another stay.
Beautifully appointed room, clean, lovely décor, sheets, wine glasses, and everything provided for your stay. Great kitchen facilities, best I have ever seen, no need to bring anything! A BBQ provided to cook on- outside in the lovely pergola area, easy walk into the township of Goolwa, experience the Oscar W Steamboat, Goolwa brewery, and just chill and watch the river. Bliss....
What more could anyone want., well apart from a beer and wine to enjoy it all!
The hosts live on site, which is so lovely, as if you need help they are there. But , at no point are they intrusive, they just let you relax and enjoy your holiday!
Def recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 31 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I spent the Australia day long weekend, 3 nights staying at the Goolwa Boat Haven. The location is perfect and the studios are modern, very clean and well equipped. Our studio was located right on the water with fabulous views and a very calming effect. A great place to chill out and rejuvenate! On Sunday there was a Yacht regatta, beautiful watching the yachts sail by. It is also within walking distance to the town and the many cafes and restaurants.
Highly recommended, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maree J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Goolwa Boat Haven in October for four nights. We occupied the studio closest to the water and experienced beautiful water birds and a stunning view.

Our studio was well equipped and beautifully decorated. The room was very clean and modern. We had access to bicycles and kayaks, we took full advantage of them. The proprietors ensured that our kayaks were set up and ready to use. We were also given advice about local eateries which were minutes away by bike and Goolwa's outstanding fortnightly market.

Our balcony/deck had an electric BBQ which was excellent and outdoor seating. We took full advantage and enjoyed our evening meals with the ducks, swans and pelicans! Be sure to bring bread, the bird life loves it.

We also were advised about the Coorong Cruise which is also a few minutes ride by bike to the dock. A memorable cruise with commentary and lunch. We are gluten intolerant which was accommodated. Well worth it!

I can't wait to book again in the future. What a brilliant venue to experience the beautiful Murray River. Many thanks!

Room Tip: We loved the studio closest to the water but all studios look fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieAusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had pre-booked our stay on a recommendation from a neighbour of ours and I'm afraid it just did not live up to our expectations. We stayed one night mid week and were changed $260 dollars so the rates on home page aren't exactly correct. The room was very clean and lovely attention to detail but I'm afraid we found it to be no different to a motel room as it was exactly just a room - from the pictures on the website you are led to believe there is an extensive outdoor patio area but we found our outdoor area was a tiny 3m x 2m "porch" just off the car park which was not entirely inviting to sit at. Host was very friendly and helpful but this room was definitely not worth $260 per night and would not stay there again when there is a lot more value for money in the area.

Room Tip: Perhaps request another room other than the 1st one off the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther F, Owner at Boat Haven Studios, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

It is very sad out visitors obviously didn't enjoy their stay. This does not normally happen and perhaps it was a combination of different expectations and a really windy, cold day & night. We would like to point out that our charges are correct as advertised $200 per night based on a two night minimum stay. During quiet times we can sometimes accommodate a one night stay, however there will be a small surcharge. In this case the charge was $230 for the night and not $260 as stated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We loved the look of the studios on the internet and were not disappointed on arrival. In fact, the photos don't do the studios justice. Ours was impeccably clean with an amazing view toward the bridge. All the basics were supplied, right down to the milo :o) It was secure, private and quiet but also close enough to town that we didn't feel isolated. With encouragement from Esther, we made use of the two kayaks and were amazed at how easy they were to manoeuvre. Since our weekend away we have told many people about the Boat Haven and are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macktee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

No accommodation booked we turned up here and were warmly welcomed and shown a self contained room with beautiful view up the river. The room was spotlessly clean, spacious, self contained kitchen was equipped with tea and coffee making facilities. We only stayed one night and were recommended a restaurant in the village, which was just a 10 minute walk along the river path. This is a great base to explore the surrounding area and was special to be part of the house boating community that are docked around the units. Security gated car parking. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenniveve200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This tranquil and beautifully maintained accommodation is one we will continue to frequent. Come and go as you please, but with the security of gated entrance. The rooms are self contained and well appointed with facilities for cooking if you desire. There are bikes and kayaks available to explore the area, a bbq and outdoor eating area to relax in whilst overlooking the beautiful river boats. Two of the three studio's we have stayed in were immaculately presented, beautifully decorated, extremely clean and had a bottle of wine waiting for us on arrival. Cannot recommend this accommodation enough! See you again soon...

Room Tip: There are two smaller studios over the water, which is perhaps better suited to couples and a larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HansandDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goolwa
0.9 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 3 in Goolwa
40 reviews
9.5 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
1,116 reviews
10.5 mi away
Seascape Retreat
Seascape Retreat
#4 of 11 in Victor Harbor
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
1.2 mi away
Goolwa Riverport Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boat Haven Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat Haven Studios

Address: 157 Liverpool Rd | Goolwa Boat Haven, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Goolwa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Goolwa
Price Range: $159 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Boat Haven Studios 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the idyllic banks of the Murray River, the Goolwa Boat Haven Studios offer the perfect location for a romantic getaway. The luxuriously appointed studios have been designed with your privacy and seclusion in mind and are the perfect hideaway for two.Relax and unwind, watching the sunset over the water from the serenity of your own private deck overlooking the Marina. Take advantage of the many attractions Goolwa had to offer, just a short riverside stroll away. Galleries, beaches, historic sites, shopping and fantastic dining spots are all at your fingertips. Quality accommodation and superb surroundings await you at Goolwa Boat Haven Studios.Relax, unwind, recharge...Anyway you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boat Haven Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boat Haven Studios Goolwa, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing