We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip, even without the steam engine”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cockle Train

Cockle Train
Ranked #3 of 10 Tours in Goolwa
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Koondrook, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great trip, even without the steam engine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We traveled from Victor Harbor to Goolwa and return on the Cockle train. We were hoping that as the weather had turned cooler that the train would be towed by their steam engine, but not to be. The country around the track was still very dry in spite of the rain so the risk of starting a fire was too great. The restored 1960 model diesel rail motor towed the restored carriages and it was still a fantastic trip along the coast and back again. The Goolwa market runs on Sundays and it is right adjacent to the station where you get dropped off. We wandered up the main street of Goolwa and found that the Goolwa Hotel has a $12 two course roast for lunch. Excellent value especially in light of the fact that you can serve yourself to vegetables or salad as well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    44
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great nostalgic trip.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

A great steam train ride for the steam enthusiast, along the old line to Goolwa via the coast and return. Take a look around Goolwa and take the later ride back to Victor Harbour. Takes you back in time, and a great piece of history has been restored to a magnificent sight. Good to see the people waving as you go steaming by. All manned by very friendly volunteers with an excellent commentary. A must if you visit Victor Harbour and the Duke of Edinburgh is running. Facilities available at the station.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 772darleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great family trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We went on the victor harbor to goolwa and return trip. Got the might duke of Edinburgh steam loco. Great trip. Make sure you get on the beach side of the rail cars to enjoy the view which is pretty speccy along the beaches. Kids loved it! Will go again next time we are down.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Honu_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolwa, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Romantic steam train with river & sea views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

A romantic train trip that takes you back in time & puffs it's way along the beautiful south coast on the Fleurieu Peninsula

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mooreb60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowden, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Australia's first passenger train line”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Steamranger Cockle Train follws the south coast of the Fleurieu Peninsula approximately 65 kilometers (40 miles) south of Adelaide. We were fortunate to catch it on a school vacation period in Spring meaning we were treated with the Steam Engine rather than the diesel engine which adds to the experience. We too were fortunate to see some whales around Bashams Beach as this is the end of the whale season before they head to antarctic waters for summer. The historic old carriages show the charm another era of train travel, unairconditioned but with the ability to open windows and hear the engine puffing away. The predominantly volunteer staff are enthusiastic and very kid friendly. If it could always be the steam engine (which I realise is not possible during summer for wildfire risk) it would easily be a 5 star attraction but do yourself a favour and take a ride back in time

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Barossa-Epicure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockle Train also viewed

 
Goolwa, South Australia
Goolwa, South Australia
 

Been to Cockle Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing