We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family fun from yesteryear!”
Review of Cockle Train

Cockle Train
Ranked #3 of 10 Tours in Goolwa
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
Attraction details
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family fun from yesteryear!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Highly recommended. Loved, loved the steam train. It was stepping back in time with conductors who take your ticket and stamp it which both my kids loved. Even the teenager. The view was stunning and we got a few very nice photos. They also allowed pets which meant we could take our two beloved pooches who also enjoyed the ride.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    44
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We went on the Cockle Train about a year and a half ago, round trip from Goolwa to Victor Harbor. Get in quick for a seat on the seaview side, and enjoy better views than some of the south coast mansions. It's a pleasant trip (though avoid school holidays), and the best tip is to see if the car with 'private booths' is attached. The standard cars are rine with their bench seating, but the 'deluxe' car (no extra cost) transports you back to days of old. Lovely. And fun!

Helpful?
Thank DinahMyDear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolwa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed this”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stopped over at Goolwa for an hour or so and then caught the return train to Victor. The train was great...although it would have been a deisel train for the first trip of the day which we would have been disappointed with.....we wanted the steam experience. The staff were all really friendly and helpful too. The commentary during both the the journeys were much too quiet to hear...which was a shame as I'm sure it would have been interesting. All ages love this...the kids with us ranged from 6-17.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MintMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun thing to do”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We took the train with 2 teenage children from Victor to Goolwa. The scenic trip was beautiful, the old school style real fun and we'd definitely recommend it. Great way to have a look along the coast without driving!

Helpful?
Thank Rebinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“great fun”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

great day out with the kids caught the train from goolwa and spent the day at victor harbor. love how all the locals wave as the train heads there and back

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockle Train also viewed

 
Goolwa, South Australia
Goolwa, South Australia
 

Been to Cockle Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing