We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend”
Review of The Australasian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goolwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Australasian
Ranked #2 of 5 Goolwa B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Trying to find the words to describe the experience is difficult. Words like stunning, exquisite, elegant, delightful, extraordinary, amazing just don't seem adequate enough to describe the experience. Gracious hosts, quality food with amazing presentation, stunning decor where nothing is left to chance. A unique experience in a historic building with an Asian influence. For that perfect weekend escape you would struggle to find anything better.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessedg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The attention to detail is extraordinary. From the heritage and character of the original building to the contemporary Asian style and decor of the interior of the hotel and the dining room is nothing short of exquisite. This is definitely a place that takes your breath away. The flavours of the food prepared by Chef Juliet is a reflection of her talent and passion for quality cuisine. The warmth and hospitality that you receive from Deb & Juliet adds to the ambiance and magic of this incredible Fleurieu region.

Room Tip: You don't need a swimming pool as there are a number of beautiful beaches near by. Easy to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goolwa, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Japanese themed hotel decor is superb and authentic, well done. The service and food provided in this establishment is without peer. If at first you are put of by the limited choice offered in the fixed menu, think again. I firmly believe that cooking a fixed menu for a large number of people allows the Chef to properly demonstrate their craft without the 'scramble' of attending to preferences. There is no kitchen 'Brigade' here and it is the sole domain of Juliet who most certainly provides a wonderful dining experience. The food is Asian influenced and is served wonderfully fresh, my wife does not eat red meat' and a pre dinner call to the hotel ensured an excellent alternative was provided. My family use the hotel on special occasions and we hope to continue to do so for many years to come. The price for the fixed Saturday night menu of $75 pp may seem steep but what excellent value !

Room Tip: The dining room is only open to non residents on a Saturday, it is very popular book a month ahead i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tjumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Absolute attention to detail (and I really am a fiend for details!) ensures that your experience here is sublime. I can't rate it highly enough. The renovation is thoughtful and tastefully executed, the fusion of traditional Australian "Hotel" and the Asian touches (antique kimono's) and silk hangings are simply exquisite - everywhere you turn there is something else to admire. With only 5 suites it is certainly boutique accommodation - with breakfast served on a trolley delivered discreetly to your room at an agreed time. We were lucky enough to be there when they were announced as the SA Tourism Gold Award winners for Best Hosted Accommodation for the second year running.
Testament to the quality of this establishment and the superb hostesses! Highly recommend you select dinner on the Saturday night or check out the beautifully curated DVD selection and have the in-room dining "platter" option.

Room Tip: We had the Garden Room - the only guest room downstairs - it is spacious and has a beautiful wooden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RION67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Everything about the Australasian is so superbly done that you almost cannot take it all in. Deb & Juliet have that rare quality to be able create an environment of such beauty and grace that you will never want to leave. Everything is in total harmony. Everything is so superbly crafted. The cuisine follows through the same promise of the environment, superbly crafted, and every mouthful in total harmony. The hosts? Gentle, gracious and discrete. Just pack your bags and go!

Room Tip: We chose the Garden room, but every room is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stewartpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We booked for dinner on a Saturday night, I'm so frustrated that we didn't book a room for the night as well. Firstly the renovations that the owners have done are simply amazing - their creative genius shines throughout and the attention to detail and quality of fixtures and fittings are divine. The staff are the perfect mix of attentive and leaving you alone. The crockery and cutlery is excellent, the wine list diverse enough to allow a safe choice or an outside the box experience. Each course was nothing beyond excellent, we started with a sweet potato soup with a serve of chilli spiced prawn, ahhhh delicious, next course was Szechuan orange baked chicken, stunning and the dessert was just wow factor. The chef is clearly devoted to her craft, the amount of effort which goes into each dish is stunning. We asked if we could see a room as we are and absolute definite to come back and want to take up the foodie package - I want to live in this place, the rooms are just beautiful, again, attention to detail and the design element are enough to take your breath away. Please make it a must do on your list - this place is an absolute gem...food 10/10...accommodation 10/10 ... Staff 10/10...the only negative we had was the coffee...it was ok, not perfect, but hey when you have an experience like we did we just didn't care. Love this place, our new raving favourite.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband & I recently spent our 22nd anniversary at the Australasian
It had everything we could have asked for-
A spacious well decorated room ( the Parlour), wonderful food , friendly and noninvasive hostesses and complete privacy
There is enough to do in Goolwa and surrounds if you can tear yourself away from the hotel!!
We had a grazing platter on the Friday evening and were delighted with the variety and amount of food-plenty for dinner for 2
Loved the raised bath in our room and lovely bathroom
We will definitely return.
Go for a special occasion or for no reason at all-you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forrests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goolwa
0.3 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 2 in Goolwa
29 reviews
9.6 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Boat Haven Studios
Boat Haven Studios
#1 of 5 in Goolwa
29 reviews
8.7 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
990 reviews
5.7 mi away
Authenticity Sanctuary Retreat and Transformational Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Australasian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australasian

Property: The Australasian
Address: 1 Porter St, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Goolwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Goolwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Australasian Circa 1858, an award-winning luxury boutique hotel, privately owned and operated, offers 5 totally unique & modern rooms, each with a stunning, spacious ensuite. Outside the multi-level decks provide expansive views over Goolwa in the Fleurieu Peninsula. The 2 night minimum stay includes in the tariff daily Chef-prepared breakfasts - delivered discreetly on a trolley to your door. The on-site restaurant, The Australasian Dining Room, serves Modern Australian cuisine and is open nightly for guests and to the public on Saturday evenings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Australasian Goolwa, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing