We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zen luxury in Goolwa”
Review of The Australasian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goolwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Australasian
Ranked #2 of 5 Goolwa B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zen luxury in Goolwa”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

A gorgeous place. Lovely luxurious accommodation in the little town of Goolwa. We stayed in the beautiful Island room. Our hosts Juliette and Deborah welcoming but not intrusive. Juliette's cooking divine. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
39
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Magnificent entry makes you feel like you are somewhere really special, beautifully designed and the greeting was so friendly and warm that it almost didnt go with the sleekness of the building- are you not meant to be snubbed in such a place! Brilliant service, gorgeous rooms, bath to sink into and never return from...eye for detail is evident wherever you look and a love and passion for hospitality is so obvious, food was really balanced, soon I shall return to recharge, cant wait to stay again.Oh and you really are somewhere special, private but intimate and attentive.....Goolwa Gold

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Australasian rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The hotel retains 19th Century charm with all the new millenium conveniences. Ideally located - only a stones throw from the Goolwa boats, Cockle Train, boutique brewery, bakeries and main street shopping. Exquisite dine-in cuisine and friendly service added to the adventure. Hoping to share the experience with a musical group from Adelaide later this year.

Room Tip: Rooms are individually styled - ask Juliet or Deb when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
437 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Just had two nights here, and wish we'd booked for more. This place ticks all the boxes, and compares favourably with anything we've stayed at anywhere in the world. The creative re-cycling of an 1850s building, the quality and attention to detail in the rooms, and the friendly personal service make it feel like you're staying in a gracious country manor with old friends. Breakfast was a special treat. Will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Only 5 rooms, so booking a must. We had the 'Island Room' with views over the river and Hin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My husband wanted to give me a surprise birthday for my 65th and Wow what a wonderful way to celebrate. He booked the special one night deal with room, champagne, dinner, and breakfast. It was really a wonderful and memorable night. The personal attention by the owners Deb and Juliet is achieved because it is not a commercial hotel style it is much more private, quiet and interesting. We had the Quirky room and loved it as it was quirky in layout but tasteful and stylish. After drinking our Champagne in our room we went down to the small dining room and had Dinner prepared by Juliet which was light and luscious with an Asian flavour, as is the whole place which is extremely interestingly decorated in a Zen fashion. Can’t wait to get back and try another room out. That’s the challenge.

Room Tip: I think any room would be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My wife and I recently celbrated our 10 yr wedding anniversary and we couldn't have picked a more complete and fantastic venue, from the food to the service I can't recommend the Australasian enough. A great romantic getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Have just had my second stay at the Australasian - each time gets better as you really do feel as if you are coming home. The skill required to turn accommodation into such a unique and satisfying experience is not to be underestimated...these girls have achieved this in spades. From the accommodation to the cuisine, a stay at the Australasian should be at the top of everyone's to do list. I will be back - again and again and again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah1Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goolwa
0.3 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 2 in Goolwa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
9.6 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#4 of 6 in Victor Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
5.7 mi away
Authenticity Sanctuary Retreat and Transformational Center
0.2 mi away
Vue de M Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Australasian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australasian

Property: The Australasian
Address: 1 Porter St, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Goolwa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Goolwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Australasian Circa 1858, an award-winning luxury boutique hotel, privately owned and operated, offers 5 totally unique & modern rooms, each with a stunning, spacious ensuite. Outside the multi-level decks provide expansive views over Goolwa in the Fleurieu Peninsula. The 2 night minimum stay includes in the tariff daily Chef-prepared breakfasts - delivered discreetly on a trolley to your door. The on-site restaurant, The Australasian Dining Room, serves Modern Australian cuisine and is open nightly for guests and to the public on Saturday evenings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Australasian Goolwa, South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing