We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Relax, Great Location”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goolwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goolwa Riverport Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Goolwa
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Relax, Great Location”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My sister & I got one of those website deals for 2 nights at this motel and we were pleasantly surprised at just how good it was. The Motel is in Goolwa North and is approx a 5 minute drive from Goolwa's main street. We received a very warm welcome on our arrival and check in was quick. We were advised that the bistro would only open for 4 or more people, which wasn't an issue for us as we'd planned to eat elsewhere. The room was large with a queen and single bed, bedside tables, wardrobe, table and 2 chairs, flat screen tv (which looked fairly new and had a FANTASTIC picture), fridge, toaster, kettle and lots of storage. The bathroom is large and the shower worked really well - no problems with water pressure. There was also a container with cups, saucers, tea/coffee/sugar etc. and a combined air cond/heater which we put to good use, as it got rather cold at night. We really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gorham, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

This place was a good value and the rooms were clean and serviced every day. Upon check in, they explain that they will open the restaurant if you book before 4pm, and while we haven't had dinner here we have had room service breakfast which was on time, good value, and tasted good! The rooms are a bit out dated, but for the location it is a perfectly nice and decent place to stay. TV was updated and my heater/air con worked great. Mini fridge in the room was a plus. Goolwa is a charming little town, and I would recommend this accommodation if you prefer to be outside of town but a 5 minute drive :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Male owner very very arrogant and rude.
The whole complex is so untidy, dirty and needs a lot of money spent to be worth the accomodation charge.
Accomodation charge excessive for what it is, did not eat there drove to Victor Harbor for dinner then Mt Barker next morning for breakfast.

Room Tip: Only tip is, Do Not Stay Here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2012

comfortable bed although nowhere to sit other than the bed or a rather uncomfortable dining chair. the tv was good though. owner very grumpy but the lady very pleasant. Will not return
although the views across the lagoon were lovely

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I would call this Motel a Motor Inn, as the rooms did not have cooking facilities. We were provided with a toaster, electric jug and a plastic container with cups saucers, plates knives, spoons, but NO FORKS, and tea and coffee. The bathroom was large, excellent shower. One double and one single bed. The decor is old and tired. The grounds are overgrown and the whole place needs tarting up! A pretty outlook from our room but one plastic chair for every second unit. Would love to have been able to sit outside on a table and chair. This complex is next door to a large Caravan Park. No Wifi. A Laundry available, desperatly needed cobwebs removing. Very few pegs to hang out the washing. Apparently their is arestaurant but you need to book the day before, otherwise they don't open. We did notice that the complex is for sale, hopefully new owners will give it a facelift. Has heeps of potential.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polyesterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent one very relaxing night at the Riverport Motel. Although the motel is quite dated it was extremely clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had a spa queen room and it was very roomy even with spa in main room. Toaster, kettle and plates etc in the rooms allows you to have your own breakfast. Saturday night we dined in the bistro and thoroughly enjoyed the meal which was very reasonably priced. We found the staff and management extremely helpful and friendly. We would certainly return for another visit and the distance from Adelaide makes for a great weekend away. The lakeside view and surrounding gardens all add to the ambience of the motel.

Room Tip: All rooms have pretty much the same view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at the Riverport Motel this year. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There was everything we needed in the room which was clean and tidy. ( tea coffee and utensils ) The meals were excellent and value for money. They were great size meals.
Visitor

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitor101210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goolwa
1.9 mi away
Motel Goolwa
Motel Goolwa
#1 of 2 in Goolwa
27 reviews
11.5 mi away
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
Anchorage Seafront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Victor Harbor
328 reviews
10.6 mi away
McCracken Country Club
McCracken Country Club
#1 of 1 in McCracken
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Birks Harbour - Boathouse & Birks River Retreats
7.5 mi away
Authenticity Sanctuary Retreat and Transformational Center
11.6 mi away
Victor Harbor City Inn
Victor Harbor City Inn
#1 of 6 in Victor Harbor
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goolwa Riverport Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goolwa Riverport Motel

Property: Goolwa Riverport Motel
Address: Noble Avenue, Goolwa, South Australia 5214, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Goolwa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Goolwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Goolwa Riverport Motel South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing