We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favourite holiday spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favourite holiday spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have been holidaying at Rawnsley Park over the October long weekend since 2004 and look forward to our stay there every year. The staff are always very helpful, the accommodation (we stay in the cabins) always very clean and tidy, and the location just superb. Never tire of the views of Wilpena Pound and surrounding countryside. The provision of a couple of fire pits are most appreciated and well used by us. If you want to take the night off from cooking, the Woolshed restaurant on site is highly recommended - and is a great location for a pre-dinner drink on the deck while watching the sun set on Rawnsley Bluff. Plenty of acitivities to take part in - cycling, walking, drives to Wilpena, nearby gorges, Blinman, Parachilna, etc - or, you can just sit back and enjoy the serenity. Kids love walking over to visit the resident horses, and the opportunity to spot emus, kangaroos and lizards strolling nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments. You should try the winter in the Flinders, no dust, no flies, and beautiful sunny days 75% of the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    107
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
239
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We spent two weeks in the Flinders Ranges and for five nights of those we stayed at Rawnlsey Park. We travel with a small caravan and occupied a powered site right near the toilets. Sites are very large and would apear to accommodate all size vans. We had no problems checking-in quite early as we had only come Hawker the previous night. The store at Rawnsley is well stocked both in food and camping accessories. TV reception (only 2 channels ABC and 7) was poor but then to be able to get any TV reception is such a remote area is in fact a bonus. We had a meal at the Woolshed Restuarant one night and would certainly reccommend others do the same. The other must do activity is to take a plane flight over Wilpena Pound and the surrounding area, which we did from the Rawnsley airport. Seeing Wilpena Pound from the air is quite spectacular. The caravan park was busy but one can understand why when it is such a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Pleased to hear positive comments. I agree that a scenic flight is a must if you have not seen Wilpena from the air.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
182 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

As previous reviews have indicated, Tripadvisor is very confusing regarding Rawnsley, leading one to assume there is either a caravan park or luxury Eco villas, actually there is a third category which really needs a separate listing, namely the cabins which are certainly not luxury and not a caravan or tent. This review refers to the cabins.

After reading some previous reviews our expectations of the cabins were quite low and quite quickly dispelled once we got here. Staff were unfailingly helpful, bringing our permit to our cabin when we left it at reception, sorting our wifi connection problems immediately.

The cabins are fairly basic but they have a microwave, full oven and hob, large fridge freezer, bathroom with toiletries. The main room is sparse but has settee, table and chairs, TV and bedrooms are comfortable with electric blankets should you need them. Walks etc around the area are clearly signposted. The downside for us was the lack of soundproofing to the next cabin who were rather noisy especially very early morning before dawn. Their car parking was next to our bedrooms, having our car there would have given some level of protection against the early morning early conversations as they left.

Overall we thought this a good option for the area. We should add that we had lovely weather which made the stay so much nicer, has it rained we would have craved more luxury!

Wifi is not included here, it was available at a cost and uneven as satellite delivered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FromGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Some good comments. Will investigate a separate listing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Rawnsley Park is situated in the most stunning location. We stayed in an eco villa for two nights and revelled in the beautiful surrounds. The villa was luxurious but also quietly understated. Views from the balcony are unmatched. Just perfect!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canberragirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Wonderful response. Makes it all worthwhile for management & staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

There is a huge sign outside the "resort" so you dont miss it!

Rawnsley has several options of accommodations from camping (powered and unpowered sites), staying in a cabin or holiday unit and a touch of luxury in the Eco-Villas. We decided to stay in a cabin as we had camped at Wilpena Pound the night before and we had organised a hot air balloon ride for the next morning, we were to meet at Rawnsley park.

The staff were friendly and were happy to assist in things to do around the area.
We didnt make a reservation at the Woolshed restaurant as we didnt know we needed to and by the time we got back we werent able to make a booking via reception and couldnt call as we didnt have reception on our mobiles. This seemed to be an issues with the staff as they roster staff based on the bookings... to be honest i didnt think it would be that busy but it was fairly busy.
After the initial shock of having more people to serve the waitress was very friendly and happy to help, the dinner was amazing!

The cabins are fair big and very comfortable, they have a small kitchen and a small bathroom.

Room Tip: the cabins are nice but if you can afford it go for the Eco Villas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetlilkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Great response. Pleased that you enjoyed your meal at the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our recent visit was our ninth stay in the cabins which we find a great place to visit when we have overseas visitors. We like the open views to Rawnsley Bluff and surrounding hills and have a ritual of getting up to Alison's Saddle for sunrise. From the Rawnsley Station we enjoy the day trip through the Bunyeroo Gorge, Aroona Valley and Brachina Gorge returning via the Moralana Scenic Route, without 4- wheel drive.
We always find the cabins well prepared for our visit and the BBQ's in good condition.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BillWa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
You can expect discount on your 10th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in September 2013 and really enjoyed it. The combination of wonderful scenery and outstanding accommodation was just perfect. We loved watching the stars at night and clouds in the early morning, all from our bed! We loved the view from our verandah! The villas are close to Wilpena Pound and other attractions. They are actually not expensive when you consider where they are, the fantastic scenery and the standard of accommodation. We plan to return to Wilpena Pound and to stay at Rawnsley Park Eco Villas for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Ranges National Park
8.3 mi away
Wilpena Pound Resort
Wilpena Pound Resort
#1 of 1 in Flinders Ranges National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
19.4 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
7.0 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Windana Cottages
Windana Cottages
#1 of 3 in Hawker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arkaroola Wilderness Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas

Property: Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Address: Wilpena Road | via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 430-kilometres north of Adelaide (approximately five hours drive), Rawnsley Park Station is a multi-award winning property that adjoins the Flinders Ranges National Park and overlooks the southern side of Wilpena Pound. The Flinders Ranges is one of Australia's 'National Landscapes' characterized by rugged mountain ranges, spectacular gorges, sheltered creeks lined with River Red Gums and abundant wildlife. This area is world-renowned for its geological history, Aboriginal rock art sites and impressive fossil remains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas Hotel Flinders Ranges National Park
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas Flinders Ranges National Park, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing