We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful accommodation, warm and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful accommodation, warm and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in Eco-Villa number 1 ("Hakea") which is a two-bedroom villa with direct views to Rawnsley Bluff. The villa is very spacious with lots of light and high cathedral ceilings. Each bedroom has its own ensuite bathroom with a separate shower and large bath. Both bedrooms feature a skylight with an electronic retractable blind. The kitchen is well appointed with a large fridge, dishwasher, microwave oven and four-burner stove top. There is no oven. Outside, on the long, wrap-around sheltered veranda is a gas BBQ. Broadband Internet (with decent speed) is available at a cost of $10 for two hours. We found the staff at the resort to be uniformly helpful and friendly and we loved the food and service at the resort's restaurant (the chef is French).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaffable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for a great review for everyone at Rawnsley Park Station. I have to tell you that Jean-Pierre is Swiss-French (there is a difference to French, as he will tell you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    109
    17
    2
    0
See reviews for
70
240
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
663 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Rawnsley Park station is located in a remote spot off the main Hawker - Wilpena road, probably 30 or so Km from Hawker.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for two nights to enjoy the Flinders Ranges, in one of its Eco-Villas. Although these villas are located quite a way from the centre of the station and the restaurant, their siting gives wonderful views of the surrounding landscape from the veranda on two of the sides, or through the large sliding doors and windows which open onto the veranda from the Villa. The Villa itself is beautifully appointed with wooden floors, master double bedroom, separate bathroom with shower, bath and Bain, separate WC, and a separate laundry room equipped with washing machine, tumble dryer, and a plentiful supply of washing powder, and a fully equipped kitchen area complete with a pre-stocked fridge, etc. Coffee, Teas, milk, are provided, as are croissants, bread, eggs cereals etc for you to prepare your breakfast. There was even a complimentary bottle of wine and cheese and crackers! A luxury haven of peace and quiet with wonderful views.
There is a restaurant on-site which serves basic food and provides some take-always early in the evening, and a general store selling limited food supplies, etc., and petrol. All roads on the station are gravel unmade and rough in parts. There are a range of self controlled excursions available as well as escorted 4WD tours of the area, and scenic flights of varying duration over he surrounding countryside. We took the full day Flinders Explorer which was a great tour through the Flinders Ranges via gorges up to the Prairie Hotel at Parachilna and the old mining town of Blinman, and back to Rawnsley - we saw Red and Euro Kangaroos, Wallabies, Eagles, Lizards, even some Dingos, all up really close. Amazing! We also thoroughly enjoyed a short scenic flight the following day with a great pilot giving interesting commentary as we traversed the mountains and gorges. If you have the funds it's probably the only way to appreciate the scale of the Wilpena pound and see where the 4WD tour had taken us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rvwr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
It sounds like you have a wonderful day trip and flight. It is not often that you will see dingoes in the Flinders Ranges. Also, thanks to Spen McCourt and John Badman the road into Rawnsley has been recently graded so that it now resembles a speedway track.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location right next to the pound, very good customer service. Rooms are fully equiped and very clean. We were 9 of us and only stayed for 1 night and we all loved it. There are also a lot of outdoors bbq area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins facing Rawnsley Bluff about 2 minutes walk from The Woolshed restaurant.The eco units are on a different part of what is quite a large site which also has a caravan site.These areas are not visible one to another due to the terrain and scrub vegitation.
The cabins are set in small terraces with covered parking bays between,a bit motel like.There were a couple of BBQ's a short distance away if required.
Inside our cabin was adequate,if simply furnished.There was an "L" shaped area with double bed at one end with a good fitted wardrobe and a 2 seat settee and dining table and chairs at the opposite end.The short part of the L was a simple kitchen.Off this main area was a bathroom with basin, toilet and walk-in shower which worked effectively.
As with most of the outback areas water is precious.Drinking water is as normal filtered rainwater and the rest I am not sure if its borehole or what.
There was an aircon unit facing out from the kitchen.The general quality is basic but clean showing some signs of wear and tear.The bed was comfortable and the linen fine.
As a base for touring they were good.We ate in The Woolshed and were out all day so we used the cabin to sleep in only and for that it was fine.

Room Tip: Get one close to the restaurant facing the Bluff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7AENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed in an Eco-Villa which was wonderful. Situated to give panoramic views without being overlooked from anywhere. The Villa was equipped with everything one could need (including new laid eggs!!), large spacious lounge with a very comfortable bedroom with of all things, a roof that opens so that the stars can be seen at night. Each Villa is equipped with full laundry facilities (at no cost) very useful when touring for several weeks. We even had our own private Zoo right outside our window, as we sat on the patio having a "Sundowner" we were entertained by Kangaroos, Rabbits and wonderful bright green Parrots, a pleasant way to end a busy day exploring the Outback. I must report that during our stay we had the misfortune to suffer a front wheel blowout in our Hire Vehicle, it happend during the heaviest rain seen for many months. While I was struggling in the downpour to change the wheel, Tim from Rawnsley Park Station drew up behind me and immediately came to my rescue, he helped me change the wheel and did not drive off until he was sure we were OK. I asked him to meet up in the Woolshed (bar on site) so that I could repay his kindness but he would not hear of it. A True Knight of the Road. Many thanks Tim.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony458, Owner at Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We will have to start calling our head tourguide Tim Tyler "Sir Tim".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
437 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in a holiday unit. It looks like on trip advisor you can only rate either the Eco villas or the caravan park itself, not the holiday units, maybe this is why their overall rating is high!

Firstly this was our first experience of the Aussie Outbacks, which we thoroughly enjoyed. It was quite and peaceful with fabulous views out over the Chase Ranges and Wilpena Bluff from many parts of the Rawnsley Park Station.

Our unit was tight and fairly basic, but adequate. We had unit 29 which is one of three units joined together that has a double bed and a single bed in it. We didn't need the single bed although we found it useful to spread our travel things out on. The configuration of other units just with a single bed seemed to be better than our one in that we did not have a sofa or lounging chairs to rest in the evenings or during the day. The only places to sit in the unit was either on dinning room chairs or on the double bed.

We thought they could have had more tables and chairs to sit out outside, to enjoy the views. I think there was only 2 or 3 BBQ tables to sit at which seems very inadequate for 29 units.

We were also disappointed that our fridge/freezer was not turned on when we arrived, as we came with lots of food. The fridge was quite noisy and we had to turn it off at night, to get a good night's sleep.

Everything is reasonably closely, the woodshed restaurant is only a 5 minute walk away, the reception area is only a 5 minute walk and it' a few minutes drive to the caravan park that has a small shop for provisions plus petrol.

Our unit was only "serviced" every 2 days, and this did not involve cleaning the bathroom vanity or toilet. We had to do this ourselves, and sweep/mop the floors which get quite dusty because the driveways are dirt roads with metal on top.

A few things people need to be prepared for before coming here.

Room Tip: Don't get units 27-29 as they face west and get a lot of sun and are very hot in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skin197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just had a memorable break at Rawnsley Park in an Eco Villa... The Villas are all angled to have a private view of the amazing landscape. We were very lucky to overlook the iconic Wilpena Pound.
We had a very spacious 2 bedroom Villa,the kitchen was well stocked with everything you would need, but don't always get. The utensils all looked new and the kitchen & cupboards were immaculately clean.
The bedrooms have a lovely sky light over the bed to enable you to gaze at the skies,but it was half the size of the one you see in the photos on the website, so a little bit of a disappointment.
The bathrooms are really luxurious with fabulously thick & large fluffy towels.
The welcome gift of wine, cheese & biscuits was much appreciated.
We had a barbecue pack supplied for our first night (included in their special end of season offer) which was really welcome after our long drive.
The check in/check out was quick & the receptionist very helpful with recommendations of what to do in the area, supplying maps & details. We popped into the station shop for a few supplies & took Petes advice to drive the 10 mins to Pugilist Hill to watch the incredible sunset...we took some fabulous photos & made some great memories.
On the 2nd night we ate in The Wool Shed restaurant on the station, the portions were very large & were of a very good 'home style' standard, served by very friendly staff including the bush pilot in his uniform!
It was so lovely to return to the luxury of the Eco Villa to wash off all the dirt & dust of the days adventures in this beautiful part of SA.
I would highly recommend Rawnsley Park Station & going for the more expensive villa option was well with it.

Room Tip: Splash the cash & treat yourself to the luxury of the EcoVillas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyB_59_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Ranges National Park
8.3 mi away
Wilpena Pound Resort
Wilpena Pound Resort
#1 of 1 in Flinders Ranges National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
6.9 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Windana Cottages
Windana Cottages
#1 of 3 in Hawker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arkaroola Wilderness Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas

Property: Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Address: Wilpena Road | via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 430-kilometres north of Adelaide (approximately five hours drive), Rawnsley Park Station is a multi-award winning property that adjoins the Flinders Ranges National Park and overlooks the southern side of Wilpena Pound. The Flinders Ranges is one of Australia's 'National Landscapes' characterized by rugged mountain ranges, spectacular gorges, sheltered creeks lined with River Red Gums and abundant wildlife. This area is world-renowned for its geological history, Aboriginal rock art sites and impressive fossil remains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas Hotel Flinders Ranges National Park
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas Flinders Ranges National Park, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing