We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where emus and sheep wander past your cabin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Where emus and sheep wander past your cabin”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed for two nights as part our trip to the Flinders Ranges.

The cabin units are very well fitted and are neat and clean even if they are a little dated. They aren’t the last word in luxury, but they don’t pretend to be. They certainly have everything you could want, including cooking facilities and a large fridge-freezer (unless you come out to the outback to watch 100 TV channels, in which case you’d be better off at home).

The aircon is elderly - it's effective, but too noisy to leave on at night, which might be a problem when the weather gets really hot. The undercover parking is a simple but nice touch - it's good to have a relatively cool car to get into in the morning.

Staff are knowledgeable and very helpful about the local area and made sure that we got the most out of our short stay. The shop stocks a good range of stuff, especially if you intend to cook for yourself, but we couldn’t find any fresh fruit - probably hoping for too much in this remote location.

The most annoying feature of our unit was that there’s no mirror to use when using the fixed hairdryer in the bathroom. It only needs a small mirror on the wall, or better still simply hang the mirrored door on the bathroom cabinet to open the opposite way. Do owners never try staying in their own accommodation?

Woolshed Restaurant is run as a separate operation by a charming, talented and funny couple, who also have a winery of their own. Food and drink far better than you’d expect in such a remote location. The menu is short but they cater for nearly everyone, and from our experience everything is good. My wife has an extremely restricted diet, and on our second night they offered her a portion of the vegetarian dish that they'd cooked for their own dinner!

I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants to look around the Wilpena Pound area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purbeck_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    116
    18
    2
    0
See reviews for
73
246
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
347 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I recently had the fortune of staying at the cabins as opposed to the Eco-Villas at Rawnsley Park. The standard of accommodation was excellent and while there was only two of us, the space and roominess of the cabins was just right. With external gas fired barbeques and all the necessities inside, it was a home away from home. Just remember to take the little things with you as the Cravan Park store has a lot of "missed" items but not those little things you may want from home, like the espresso coffee pot! The wildlife abounds. I can also recommend an early flight over Wilpena Pound. It is only from teh air that you can get a sense of the majesty of the place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

I've been returning to Rawnsley Park Station now for many years, usually staying at the cabins. Over the years this destination has been upgraded extensively & now offers a lot of different experiences. I have recently had a two-night stay at one of the Eco Villas (Mallee) & it was a great experience. The one-bed villa was well equipped & the night views of the stars from your bed (via the retractable ceiling) are simply stunning. There is one small issue - no kitchen cupboards to store your provisions & there isn't really sufficient kitchen tops for food preparation - this could be helped by providing an island bench or extending the kitchen. The vegetation has grown to an extent that kangaroos, emus & the occasional hare or rabbit (!!) nibble the tempting greening right in front of your balcony. Wonderful to watch while having breakfast ont he balcony. The birdlife too is plentiful with lots of different species providing hours of watching enjoyment! The birdsong is fabulous too. There are great walks & the Station organises a number of morning walks, four wheel drives & scenic flights. We had enjoyed these on previous occasions. I would highly recommend the villas for that special occasion. In terms of the cabins, they are currently being upgraded with tiled floors & some new furniture. I last stayed in a cabin two years ago with a group of friends from overseas - three double cabins between us. It worked out well & they thought the cabins were of a much higher quality than they had expected. The cabins are just that - cabins on an outback station - but they do still provide a good level of comfort & the kitchens - combined with BBQ facilities - are more than adequate. More basic cabins & a caravan/camp site are also available - & all attractive.
In summary, a stunning location, lots of different accommodation options to choose from & very friendly staff.

Room Tip: If staying at the eco-villas & if views of Rawnsley Bluff are important then be aware that only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zumba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed for a week in the eco villas (Cypress). Loved every minute of it. Total comfort and peace and quiet. Quality appliances and crockery etc,even ground coffee and herbal teas provided, and serviced daily. The weather was chilly when we were there but the a/c heating + the double glazed windows and doors made it very, very cosy. The view from the deck was superb, as was being able to have a BBQ out there. The bathroom is luxurious and all around the villa were nice finishing touches. The other villas are far enough away to not even know they are there, it is a very well thought out establishment. As someone else mentioned, do stock up on food/drinks before getting to the Flinders Ranges as shopping is limited (and expensive). As others have said, the villas aren't cheap, but it's well worth the splurge in such a beautiful location.

Room Tip: If travelling in the later half of the year, a room facing "the bluff" will give you spect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Many of the reviews pertain only to the Eco villas with very few for the cabins so I just want to
try and give a balanced review for those not wanting to splash out on the villas. This is without
doubt a stunning location which definitely made the trip worthwhile however the cost of the Eco
villas and with the minimal amount of time we would actually be in the villa we made the
decision to book a cabin. Our cabin was a 2 bed cabin, just the 2 of us and to be honest with 4
adults it would have been a squeeze. The bedrooms are small but good hanging space
however in terms of seating we had just one very old sofa which was so worn the cushions
collapsed making it very uncomfortable. There was a table and 4 chairs but right outside the
bathroom door, certainly not somewhere you would want to sit for any length of time.

The kitchen was old however it did have a new fridge and cooker and a microwave that it
placed on top of the fridge making it quite dangerous if removing anything hot. The cabin was
clean enough but had a general old smell. Interestingly some of the comments I have made were also noted in the visitors book but nothing has been done. The staff we met were very pleasant and we had a warm and genuine welcome so I am hoping my comments will be taken as constructive feedback.

We booked our sightseeing flight through rawnsley on the recommendation of our tour guide based in Hawker, at $150 for half an hour it's well worth it to get a really good over view of the pound.

We stayed 2 nights, Wilpena Pound is a stunning place and Rawnsley is a great spot but my advice would be to treat yourself to the villas or accept you will be paying over the odds for
average accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AucklandShelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We stayed at the eco villas, which are comfortable. This is one level down from Arkaba Station in terms of cost, but a bit closer to Wilpena Pound etc, and a very nice place to stay. The glass roof area in the bedroom is terrific. The villas are clean, modern & comfortable.

And the Woolshed Restaurant on site is surprisingly good, with a charismatic proprietor. Get the lemon delicious pudding - yum. They also do take away pizzas which are pretty good.

It is a great place to stay to see the Flinders Ranges.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teachers_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights on a self drive holiday from Adelaide. After a long drive from Clare we turned right at Hawker towards Wilpena Pound, after 35km and several dead kangaroos, we turned down an unsealed road to Rawnsley Park Station. Friendly easy check in at the office and we were shown instructions to the luxury eco-villas which were a short drive away. Travellers know the word "luxury" can mean 6 star top hotel service or just a just a remote control for the TV but this was definitely luxury in an outback type of way. The villas are large, made out of straw, rendered with a very thick plaster (adobe like), beautiful wood floors, large deck with a view over the Elder Range, all the mod cons, kitchen (microwave and gas elements but no stove), large fridge, washing machine and dryer, separate toilet, bath and shower, air-con, fan. An lots of windows which lets in light including 2 skylights in the bedroom which are controlled via a remote. There are lots of activities - we did a 4 wheel drive half day tour, but you can take a scenic flight over the Wilpena Pound or a balloon flight. Lots of walking trails of different types of difficulty. Breakfast was included but you had to cook this yourself. There is a restaurant on the station called the Woolshed which we did not go to - open for lunch and dinner. The station also has holiday cabins and a caravan park, where there is a small store and a small swimming ppol, a bit far to go from the eco-villas. We drove to the do a tour (AUD25.00) of the Blinman mine - 3 tours a day and this takes you 65 metres into the actual mine - this was an amazing tour and I would strongly recommend booking this.
This is a amazing place for townies - you don't have to "rough it" and you can enjoy all the outback Australia has to offer.

Room Tip: Go on the Blinman mine tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mirroden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Ranges National Park
8.1 mi away
Wilpena Pound Resort
Wilpena Pound Resort
#1 of 1 in Flinders Ranges National Park
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
19.5 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Windana Cottages
Windana Cottages
#1 of 3 in Hawker
14 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pichi Richi Park
Pichi Richi Park
#3 of 3 in Quorn
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Edeowie Station
Edeowie Station
#7 of 9 in Hawker
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas

Property: Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Address: Wilpena Road | via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 430-kilometres north of Adelaide (approximately five hours drive), Rawnsley Park Station is a multi-award winning property that adjoins the Flinders Ranges National Park and overlooks the southern side of Wilpena Pound. The Flinders Ranges is one of Australia's 'National Landscapes' characterized by rugged mountain ranges, spectacular gorges, sheltered creeks lined with River Red Gums and abundant wildlife. This area is world-renowned for its geological history, Aboriginal rock art sites and impressive fossil remains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas Hotel Flinders Ranges National Park
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas Flinders Ranges National Park, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing