We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Wilpena Pound
from $1,080.98
More Info
Reviews (433)
Filter reviews
433 results
Traveler rating
292
100
28
9
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
100
28
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flinders ranges walking trails south australia bucket list camping area great location camping ground spectacular views national park light plane powered site shuttle bus information centre rawnsley bluff worth the effort scenic flight brachina gorge
Filter
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 433 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wilpena Pound is the starting place for some nine or so walks in the Pound including the famous St Mary Peak. As a location, the Pound has something for everyone. Other walks and sights in the Flinders Ranges are easily accessible by car from Wilpena Pound (as a location base).

My husband did the challenging St Mark Peak while I pottered along and did the Bridle Gap hike. Both are half day walks and we each thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. He prefers the challenge of something physical and I like to peacefully navigate the landscape and observe the wildlife.

I've been to quite a few national parks in my life and Wilpena Pound has an absolute abundance of wildlife that can easily be observed the course of day to day activities. We saw emus, kangaroos, wallabys, many, many birds, goats (yes the feral kind), lizards and a few snakes (well it is coming into the warm season). The Mawson Trail was terrific to mountain bike ride as well.

Of course, when walking or hiking (along with hot weather preparation) please remember to wear walking boots - some places are a little rocky.

Date of experience: November 2013
2  Thank Ish113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Great situation in the Flinders Ranges. We had a wonderful 3 days staying in a room at the resort, taking advantage of a package that included breakfasts, a flight around the Wilpena Pound and a couple of tours. Its prices are rather high for the standard of amenities and dining but not unreasonable considering the remote location. The ambiance was nice and the staff were generally friendly and helpful. In these and many other ways, the resort reminded me of the Chisos Mountains and lodge in the Big Bend NP in Texas.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Rivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I recently stayed at Wilpena Pound as part of a tour group from Truely Tribal.
The area has amazing scenery with contrasting colours of red soil, ochre outcrops, grey saltbush and vivid blue skies. A walk to the homestead from Wilpena Pound Resort and up to the lookout was worthwhile for a greater appreciation of the 'Pound'. This took about 2 hours return but be prepared for a steep climb if you wish to climb to the lookout. The information displays at the homestead provided a very interesting overview of the history of the family that lived at the homestead. Others in our tour group, took a flight over the Pound and were not disappointed.
Keep your eyes open for emus, euros and yellow-footed rock wallabies wherever you travel in this area. Chambers Gorge is a short drive from here and worth a visit for the aboriginal rock art still clearly visible on several rock faces. It is a pleasant walk along the pebbly creek bed to the end of the gorge. We stayed at the Wilpena Pound Resort for two nights in a 'motel' room. It was perfectly comfortable. For anyone who wants to learn more about our beautiful Australian environment, I'd recommend Truely Tribal. It was an amazing and unique experience and a highlight of my travels.

Date of experience: October 2013
3  Thank Rosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Camped in a unpowered site, lots of nice shade even on busy October long weekend. Toilet facilities clean and easily accessible from most sites. If going unpowered the sites towards the back of the park give you a bit more separation from others cramming to be near the toilets. Flys were bad in October so pack the fly nets, although the shop was well stocked with them. Some of the staff could have been a bit more helpful but they could have been having an off day - did not spoil our stay.

Date of experience: October 2013
1  Thank LSW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just returned from our week long stay at the Flinders Ranges resort of Wiplena Pound. Upon arrival we booked in and were confronted with the rudest receptionist I have ever met. However park facilities were good, toilets clean and over all a pleasant stay, until we went for dine at the restaurant. We were a booking of 75 people and had come to a deal with our meals, free desserts. Not much considering the money our group spent there. When ordering our meals the manager of the leased restaurant bluntly told us that quote" its not happening". That was the first blow. when our quite expensive meals came out they were cold and totally tasteless. I'm by now means a complainer but others need to be made aware of such ignorant treatment of guests.

Date of experience: October 2013
3  Thank molz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews