We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely location - basic facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wilpena Pound Resort
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“lovely location - basic facilities”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beautifully-positioned campsite with level pitches, but old and basic facilities. Shower block is very tired and rudimentary. No campers kitchen or other facilities provided. The resort is ok but nothing special and appears to be lacking in investment and upkeep, although they were renovating the bar at the time so some things are being improved, slowly.

Drive to Blinman is worth doing - takes about an hour or so through gorgeous scenery, with a great cafe (Wild Lime) in the village. Totally worth it (although there is nothing about the drive at the resort which is focussed on getting you to spend as much money as possible on site).

We took one tour - the ridiculously overpriced $55 sunset tour - here's our top tip: drive out the resort (car is fine, no 4wd needed), turn left, drive for ten minutes to the look-out, take some wine and a bit of cheese and save yourself the bucks. Added bonus is you won't have to put up with Michael - possibly the world's most self-important tour guide.

Room Tip: campsite location and surrounds are very nice but facilities are poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am really pleased you enjoyed the experience and managed to explore some of the National Park. You'll have to stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    194
    115
    48
    26
See reviews for
117
266
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A friend and I stayed at the Wilpena Pound Resport for one night on 9 March 2013. What a delightful place. Parking near the reception building you're greeted by the sight of wallabies grazing on the lawn and the amazing landscape of rocky red hills behind the accommodation buidlings. The room (we stayed in the Aroona Room) was comfortable and a good size so you avoid getting under each other's feet. After we arrived, the late afternoon walk (a gentle 2 hour-ish walk) to the Hills Homestead and the Lookout opened up whole new landscapes and an amazing amount of wildlife, especially wonderful sightings of Ring-necked Parrots and Euro. The staff are helpful and friendly. It's also worth stopping into the Visitor Centre. Darren is very knowledgeable and extremely helpful and friendly - and quite willing to answer as many questions as you've got. It would have been lovely to have been able to stay a couple more nights to really get out and about into the Pound and surrounds.Thoroughly enjoyable experience and absolutely recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your brief visit to Wilpena Pound and hope you can return one day to stay a little longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent three nights in deluxe edeowie room accomodation. Modern, clean suite but kitchenette utensils were poor, chopping board mouldy. Resort pool not functioning on arrival due to algal growth, filter struggling and no active cleaning maintenance - witnessed two guests trying to retrieve pool net from behind maintenance shed to scoop insects from surface themselves. Customer service was highly variable. Received limited advice and direction from visitor centre. Overheard a terrific guide conducting a sunset tour and was able to glean much sought after information, that visitor centre should have provided. Refurbishments are under way and this is a good sign as the environment of the flinders ranges national park is not to be missed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celsior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments are being used as part of our ongoing training to maintain service levels and cleanliness throughout the Resort. I am pleased to report that our restaurant and bar refurbishment is currently on schedule to be completed by Easter this year. We look forward to a fresh new look to the dining and bar areas.

Your comments about touring are very relevant. The Flinders Ranges is a diverse and fascinating destination with so much natural and human history. It is always worthwhile joining a guided tour during a stay in the region to gain some deeper insight into the place. Your comments have also been passed on to the team in the Visitor Centre.

I do hope we can welcome you back to Wilpena one day so that you may enjoy the quality experience we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We traveled in jan to Wilpena pound and were incredibly lucky to hit a cool patch. It had been stinking hot a week before. Because it was low season there was no one around... remarkable. Very beautiful surrounds. Standard accommodation but effort had been made and it was comfortable We didn't try the restaurant but bought some bread and cheese when driving through the Clare valley. Staff were very helpful. Morning flight over Wilpena Pound was one of the most memorable experience! This was a brilliant experience with an amazing (and once more we were alone) sunset picnic at one of the stokes lookout.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Wilpena Pound. We do always have slightly fewer guests throughout the summer months, but agree with you that it can be a wonderful time of year to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked a Heysen Suite at an "off-season" discount and found it supremely comfortable and relatively good value for money (by Australian standards). The room was spacious and well-designed and would have comfortably accomodated four people...two single beds were located in a nice niche behind the entry-way kitchenette. The rooms have huge picture windows...lovely in theory although a bit lacking in privacy when the curtains are opened given the proximity to the other four-unit "duplexes", walking paths and parking area. The surrounding area is spectacular, although we were slightly disappointed that the National Park authority designated the period we had booked as a "feral animal elimination undertaking" and thus closed off huge parts of the Park on fairly short notice. The resort duly informed us two weeks in advance, but we were unable to alter our travel itinerary by then. On a couple of overcast days we saw many many kangaroos, wallabies, euros, emus, etc...and yes a few dead goats. The Resort has a nice pool area, underused when we were there. Service varied from excellent and helpful (at reception) to downright surly (a young woman in the pub/restaurant with an unusually nasty disposition). Unfortunately, the Resort was only offering simple pub meals when we were visiting (perhaps a seasonal thing), so the food was greasy and a bit overpriced for what it was. They did have nice cold draft Cooper's and watching the euro's munch grass on the lawn with the lovely gum forest beyond was enjoyable. The Park was a highlight of our Australian visit despite the limitations.

Room Tip: The Heysen Suites are spacious and well-located, although try to face away rom the netry drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKbanker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Wilpena Pound. As part of our ongoing maintenance program, we currently have works in place to improve the public areas around the Resort. This includes planting and developing the gardens in between rooms to enhance the sense of privacy. Plus we have an extensive restaurant and bar renovation underway that will be completed by Easter this year. I do apologise for the inconsistent service issues you experienced from our F&B team and can advise that action has been taken to resolve this.

We appreciate your understanding of the pest control program in the National Park. We do try to keep guests informed prior to arrival and details are always available online at http://www.environment.sa.gov.au/parks/. Through this work the National Park is successfully restoring the population of previously endangered Yellow Footed Rock Wallabies and of course we support their efforts in doing so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The attitude of the staff was unacceptable for a tourist resort. Extremely rude, uptight young girl in the bistro, and I think management needs to do training in customer service. However, lovely guy who did the flight over the Pound.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Happysnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am very disappointed to read your comments as we do take customer service very seriously at Wilpena Pound Resort. Our team receive regular on the job training and this review is now the catalyst to do another round of training. Please accept my personal apologies for your disappointing experience while dining at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am pleased to read, however, that you did enjoy your scenic flight with Air Wilpena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We arrived at Wilpena Pound as the culmination of a long trip from Darwin travelling the length of the Stuart Highway(definitely recommended)
Booking in was a last minute decision as we wanted to extend our trip for just one extra day. Travelling with Scottish friends we wanted them to see how beautiful South Australia and in particular the Flinders Ranges are!
Arriving there on the afternoon of a very hot day we checked in with ease.
The suite was situated around bushland and had it's own parking.The room had a double bed with 2 single beds.The bathroom had a bath,shower and was very clean and tidy
The resort has lots of wallabies on the lawns and the sounds of birds resound around the complex.Apparently feral goats are a problem but we didn't see any.
The resorts' restaurant has a good menu with lots of fresh produce.The prices for a main meal range from $20 to $40.There are also bar type items that are less costly.
We booked a tour to an evening look-out ($50 a head) with a knowledgeable guide.
Snacks and wine were provided and the views were spectacular.It certainly gave you a 'taste'of the Flinders and we hope to come back here and see more!
The Flinders Ranges are spectacular and our next visit will hopefully cover Arkaroola (which I have wanted to see for years!)
PS-There's also a pool at the resort and there were lots of children there who seemed to be having a great time!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazyviewlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthologyTravel, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Wilpena Pound Resort. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience in the Flinders Ranges and look forward to welcoming you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Ranges National Park
8.1 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
405 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
27.2 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Edeowie Station
Edeowie Station
#7 of 9 in Hawker
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wilpena Pound Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilpena Pound Resort

Property: Wilpena Pound Resort
Address: Wilpena Road | via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilpena Pound Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilpena Pound Resort is the only accommodation in Ikara Flinders Ranges National Park. All rooms are non-smoking. Brachina and Aroona Rooms suit individuals and couples while the Heysen and Edeowie Suites are larger and suitable for families or people needing extra space. Some rooms offer cooking facilities. All rooms are en-suite, have TV, mini fridge, air-conditioning, tea/coffee tray. On site restaurant serving hot meals, bar and bistro. Resort also offers Ikara Safari tents for a great glamping experience as well as powered and unpowered sites for camping. An on site store sells supplies and a visitors center to advise on information about the area and guided walking as well as 4WD tours. Air Wilpena at our private air strip, takes you on air safaris around Flinders ranges and Lake Eyre. RESORT RECEPTION HOURS ARE 7AM TO 6PM DAILY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilpena Pound Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilpena Pound Hotel
Wilpena Pound Resort Flinders Ranges National Park, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing