We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Natual Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wilpena Pound Resort
Adelaide South Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Magic Natual Setting”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We were in the standard room which was very clean and comfortable with a picture perfect view through the large windows.
However, we were very disappointed with the meals available in the dining room. I guess you could say they were adequate, but we felt a lot more TLC was required in the cooking and presentation. As long as you were happy with chips and salad with over cooked meat and fish you would have been happy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    194
    115
    48
    26
See reviews for
117
266
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is an outstanding resort, and the area is a must see in Australia.Very quiet and relaxing, with miles and miles of trails to hike. Staff is excellent and very helpful. Wildlife everywhere. I stayed for 3 nights, and I would have liked to have stayed additional nights, if time had allowed. The food at the restaurant was good but not excellent; unless you cook yourself, there are no other places to eat at the resort. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itravelveryoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Location. Location. Location. It's the maxim of all real estate agents and what a location this resort has - it is definitely one of the must see destinations in Australia. The resort itself can be described as having a lot of potential. It's not that there is anything wrong with it, it's just that so much could be that little bit better.
The rate is pricey but then you are in the middle of nowhere so putting that to on side - that is, just because it's a 5 star rate doesn't mean you should expect the latest and greatest - it's still a little underwhelming.
And it is the little things. The food is okay but not great - really the days of serving tinned spagetti as part of what was otherwise a pretty adequate breakfast buffet are long gone - and how you can 'cook' a carrot so that it is both rock hard, full of water and luke warm is a little beyond me!
The staff are pleasant enough but don't really go that extra mile - they don't seem to know much about the surrounding area and definitely could do with some cultural heritage training.
The bed was comfortable, the shower was excellent and the room was clean. The pool looked inviting (even if needing a little refurb there too) and the kangaroos on the grass at dusk were an added bonus.
The resort has recently been purchased by the traditional land owners and I understand there are plans to up the level of interaction and input by the local indigenous community. We were lucky enough to taste some of the bush tucker on offer during the handover celebration and all I can say is the sooner those cooks are in the kitchen the better! The lemon myrtle icecream was to die for and the kanagroo salami was fantastic. Things can only improve in the culinary department if these samples were anything to go by.
It's a great place for kids - a nice big lawned area, lots of wildlife and of course the pool. You could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cooksjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Wilpena Pound is one of the most outstanding geological and geographical features in Australia and should be one every Aussie's 'bucket list'. We spent three solid days driving to the Resort from Sydney via Broken Hill, so we wanted to make the most of the visit.

We chose a package deal that included 2 nights standard room accommodation with full buffet breakfast, a 20 minute scenic drive (which we upgraded to 30 min), a half day 4WD tour. The room was comfortable, quiet and tastefully decorated. We ate in the bistro both nights and there was a good range of dishes to suit most tastes (I was grateful to find options that didn't come with chips!).

To really appreciate the magnificence of the Pound and the nearby Ranges you really need to get in the air, and the 4WD tour afforded some fantastic sights and a wealth of information and insight into the natural and cultural history of the area.

In both the resort and surrounds you'll see lots of wildlife up close as they seem to have little fear of humans.

In our spare time we spent an hour or so wandering around the Old Wilpena Station, which was relaxing, scenic and interesting, and did the easy walk to Hills Homestead and climbed to Wangara Lookout to get a closer look inside the Pound. Sacred Canyon was also worth a visit.

While it is quite expensive you need to appreciate the remoteness of the resort and what that means for running costs. On the balance the experience made it very good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We camped at Wilpena Resort just at the beginning of low season which meant we missed the wildflowers but also the people! So we nearly had the place to ourselves. The campsite views are majestic and the shower and toilet facilities well kept and clean. We were disappointed however to find that the small film festival was on there as well as a hand over ceremony of The Pound to the local indigenous people. The Resort didn't tell us about either of these things when we checked in. Sadly we missed the ceremony but managed to get to the film festival at the last minute. So the Resort could up their communication about special events.

The shop is well stocked for provisions you might need such as bread, milk, meat, wine, beer and ice cream. All the essentials! You can also buy petrol and diesal there.

Despite the communication issue anyone who wishes to commune with an abundance of kangaroos, emus, 800 million year old landscapes and majestic sunsets and sunrises must go. We also recommend the flight over The Pound with Bushpilots. A little further to drive to Hawker but worth it as you get that little extra flight leg with lots to see.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Maffra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Wilpena Pound Resort has comfortable, reasonably equiped rooms but the rates are really expensive for what you get and don't even include a basic breakfast. Unfortunately, there aren't too many choices in this region. You really are better off camping or renting an RV. If that's not your thing then the resort is probably the next best option, just don't have very high expectations.

Room Tip: If you are so inclined, choosing a room with a kitchen can help the budget as there is a store close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyAyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A really beautiful development of lodges. The rooms have air conditioning and the bathrooms, although showing signs of heavy use, were cleaned to a high standard. Eating in the restaurant or in the bistro were good experiences and staff made a real effort with special diets. Sitting outside in the evening with a good meal, watching the kangaroos keeping the grass trimmed or the Bentley convention showing off their beautiful vintage cars was a pleasure that will stay with us for a long time. A really lovely weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Ranges National Park
8.1 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas
#1 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
405 reviews
8.0 mi away
Rawnsley Park Station Caravan Park
27.2 mi away
Arkaba Station
Arkaba Station
#2 of 4 in Flinders Ranges National Park
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Edeowie Station
Edeowie Station
#7 of 9 in Hawker
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wilpena Pound Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilpena Pound Resort

Property: Wilpena Pound Resort
Address: Wilpena Road | via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilpena Pound Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilpena Pound Resort is the only accommodation in Ikara Flinders Ranges National Park. All rooms are non-smoking. Brachina and Aroona Rooms suit individuals and couples while the Heysen and Edeowie Suites are larger and suitable for families or people needing extra space. Some rooms offer cooking facilities. All rooms are en-suite, have TV, mini fridge, air-conditioning, tea/coffee tray. On site restaurant serving hot meals, bar and bistro. Resort also offers Ikara Safari tents for a great glamping experience as well as powered and unpowered sites for camping. An on site store sells supplies and a visitors center to advise on information about the area and guided walking as well as 4WD tours. Air Wilpena at our private air strip, takes you on air safaris around Flinders ranges and Lake Eyre. RESORT RECEPTION HOURS ARE 7AM TO 6PM DAILY. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wilpena Pound Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilpena Pound Hotel
Wilpena Pound Resort Flinders Ranges National Park, Australia - South Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing