We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big River Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Berri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great one night stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just spent the night. Short walk through the golf course to 'The Tavern'. Good price for the room with cooked breakfast included. Very nice spread. Great hospitality with friendly staff. Will be back and will recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    36
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
45
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have stayed at the Big River Motor Inn a number of times now and it has always been good! The staff are always helpful and so friendly, the rooms are clean, bright and airy! I have just returned and upon arrival it was in the high 30c! I opened the door to the room and they had put the air conditioning on in anticipation of my arrival! it was so cool and such a treat to just leave the blazing heat and sit down in the cool! As mentioned in previous reviews the rooms all face onto the beautiful golf course and it's a great view. They do have a pool which looks great, although I have never used it myself, but I have seen many families cooling down in there late in the afternoon.
The breakfast is always good. It is nothing amazing but great value for money, tasty and has a good reange. Its usually poached eggs, bacon and grilled tomatoes and help your self to the continental buffet with the fresh fruit and all the tea and coffe you might be able to consume!!
I highly recommend this place, it's about a three hour drive from Adelaide and breaks up a long trip in a pleasant and very reasonable place to stay!
Well done Paull! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Room 230 right at the very end is away from everyone and the road. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickoSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent rooms for the price and all facing onto very green Golf Course..Great swimming pool..Meals at Golf Course Tavern very good which is only a short walk from Motel...Friendly helpful staff at Motel and Tavern.

Room Tip: All rooms face golf course and close to reception..Short walk to Tavern for Meals, Drinks. Pokies..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights recently and had a most enjoyable time. The rooms were clean and tidy and had a nice view from the sliding doors overlooking the golf course with seating outside to relax. My daughter was most impressed with the pool and although it stated it was heated it was rather cold. The brochure in the room did state that they dont heat it in winter. This didnt worry my daughter who spent several hours swimming. It was well maintained and had a nice shaded area with seating. Breakfast was served in the dinning room and was well priced with a good selection. (you can have it in your room). Dinner is available in the golf club restaurant and bar and was a short walk across the course which was lit at night for the walk back. Staff at the motel were pleasant and helpful and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GawlerAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Gambier
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Awesome views. Great rooms and service. Nice and quiet. Great place to stay. Only thing I would change would be to have elevator music in the breakfast room. Loud radio at that time of morning was a bit invasive. Otherwise all good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilsons-mtgambier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very Clean rooms that were reasonably spacious. Fantastic view overlooking the golf course. Meals at the golf course were quite good and made for a nice stroll back to the motel after the meal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farr02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
238 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We recently stayed here for a four night golfing holiday. The location was ideal with motel rooms overlooking the golf club fairways. At check-in, we were met with a friendly face and we were provided with helpful information regarding our stay, which was a pleasant introduction to our holiday. Our room was clean, comfortable and was equipped with tea and coffee making supplies, including biscuits. The bathroom was spacious, with a good size shower cubicle, and was well equipped with the usual toiletries and hairdryer.
An excellent cooked breakfast was served up in the attractive dining room and there was an extensive selection of cereals as well as fruit and yogurt available to diners. The staff servicing breakfast each morning were friendly and helpful with information, and it was a pleasure staying at the motel.
In the absence of the manager, Annie helpfully arranged for all of our golf bookings and ensured that a golf cart was provided at our motel door for the Berri golf course. What more could you ask for?
The Big River Motor Inn is a definite for future visits to the Riverland.

Room Tip: Whichever room you happen to be booked into will provide you with an attractive view of the fairways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berri
1.2 mi away
Berri Hotel
Berri Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berri
247 reviews
10.5 mi away
Renmark Hotel
Renmark Hotel
#2 of 5 in Renmark
174 reviews
6.2 mi away
Renmark Resort
Renmark Resort
#1 of 5 in Renmark
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Loxton Hotel
Loxton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Loxton
100 reviews
9.7 mi away
Renmark Motor Inn
Renmark Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Renmark
34 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glossop Motel
Glossop Motel
#1 of 1 in Glossop
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big River Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big River Motor Inn

Property: Big River Motor Inn
Address: Old Sturt Highway, Berri, South Australia 5343, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Berri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Berri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Big River Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Big River Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing