We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable, fun weekend's golfing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barmera Country Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barmera
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“An enjoyable, fun weekend's golfing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here on the 26/27th April with about 40 other guys from our golf club for our annual "away trip".

Rooms were clean and tidy and the view over the course is lovely. The shower was great, and the room had everything we needed. Both breakfast's and Sundays lunch were good.

It's also only about a 5-10 minute walk to the local pub.

As far as the golf course itself, it was a pleasure to play on, spongey fairwaiys, true greens, nicely manicured, a credit to the greens staff. I wish the fairway's on our home course were this good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie_750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    31
    2
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
27
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clare, South Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We too have returned from a Conference at the Country Club. What wonderfully caring and congenial hosts who couldn't do enough for us. Loved the setting and the views from each room. The refurbishment is on the way and that will be a positive. Excellent meals. Go and stay folks...enjoy the South Australian Riverland!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trenny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Have just arrived back in Qld after attending a 4 day Conference at Barmera Country Club. Can't say enough for the quality of Service and the meals provided throughout my stay. Yes, rooms are a little dated and tired - but were clean, and well serviced. The bed was comfortable, and the outlook from each room straight onto the golf course was a treat.
It is a rural environment with the odd insect, but what would youexpect from a rural site?
And ALL the meals were delicious - well presented, and very moreish!
Well done new managers, and good luck for future plans to upgrade and bring back to its former glory. I shall look forward the our next Conference in SA in future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have read the previous reviews and whilst we agree that the hotel is tired we had a great stay with excellent customer service.
Both the owners could not do enough for us and it is clear they have great plans to restore the hotel to its former glory.
The rooms were comfortable and we had loads of space. A great outlook onto the golf course. The air conditioning worked well and we had no problems with the bath or shower. We are looking forward to returning in 2014 when the renovations have been completed.
Bryan and Judy

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the first hole have a great outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRYAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

After a three hour trip from Adelaide for a two day stay we arrived at 1.00pm and checked out at 1.15pm! The private courtyard and barbecue area shared by four other units was littered with cigarette butts around the eating area, even although an ashtray was provided. The barbecue plate was filthy and needs replacing. The inside of the room was dilapidated and tired, the fridge was an oversized bar fridge. The toilet had been used but not flushed. Another room was offered but declined. Room cost was waived. This is certainly no country club and a bad reflection on hoteliers in the Riverland. We travelled back to Adelaide the same day. In future we will stick to the Yorke Peninsula where guests are valued.

Room Tip: Give it a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at this establishment last month whilst visiting family in the area. Very conveniently located, the position is lovely overlooking the golf course. The rooms are tired definitely and need an overhaul; however, everything was clean and tidy. I met the female manager, who was lovely. She advised that her and her husband had recently taken over managing the place and that it was under new ownership as well. The new owners plan to invest in renovations throughout the rooms and facilities etc, so I look forward to seeing the result when I visit next year. Thanks for your very pleasant hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Arrived on a forty degree day and had to bargain for the mgr to sell us a beer! Dining room not avail that evening due to a private function....no compendium provided in the room, no breakfast menu in room. No milk in the room. Air conditioner not working properly. Removed the dead earwig from the sheets prior to getting into bed. As for the TV, and the shower, what a joke. My advice, do not stay there, move on to berri or remark.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarmeraCountryClub, Manager at Barmera Country Club, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your review - we appreciate feedback good or bad. You may not be aware that the Barmera Country Club has new owners and new managers. We all possess a passion to restore the country club to its "former glory". Refurbishment is due to start early next year and guests will experience a huge improvement in the standard of accommodation and facilites provided.
Please don't "write us off " just yet. We welcome your return into next year and would value your review then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barmera
8.1 mi away
Berri Hotel
Berri Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
16.8 mi away
Renmark Hotel
Renmark Hotel
#2 of 5 in Renmark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barmera Lake Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Renmark Resort
Renmark Resort
#1 of 5 in Renmark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Discovery Parks - Lake Bonney
7.1 mi away
Big River Motor Inn
Big River Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Berri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barmera Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barmera Country Club

Property: Barmera Country Club
Address: Hawdon Street, Barmera, South Australia 5345, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Barmera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Barmera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barmera Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest, Play, Relax.Surrounded by the picturesque 18 hole Barmera Golf Course, the Barmera Country Club features 29 spacious, well appointed rooms. Ranging from a standard motel suite to a Deluxe 2 bedroom spa apartment. Many units have recently been renovated to a very high standard. Family friendly facilities include swimming pool, tennis court, playground, a licensed eating area and BBQ's. Great rooms for families & golfing, tennis & bowls groups. Lake Bonney is ideal for wind surfing, jet boating, or water skiing. Enjoy the outdoors with 5 Riverland golf courses all within easy reach. Reduced green fees for in house guests at the Barmera Golf course and access to electric golf buggies. Visit Monash playground, Banrock Station, Lake Bonney, The Lavender Farm & much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barmera Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Barmera
Barmera Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing